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The bill requires the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) to notate on the identification 
card or driver license the applicant's status as a lifetime freshwater fishing, saltwater fishing, hunting, or 
sportsman licensee, or lifetime boater safety identification card holder issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife 
Conservation Commission (FWC). 

Upon proof of an individual's status as a lifetime licensee or card holder the following words, or an 
abbreviation, will be added to the individual's identification card or driver license: 

• "Lifetime Freshwater Fishing License" if the applicant holds a lifetime freshwater fishing license; 
• "Lifetime Saltwater Fishing" if the applicant holds a lifetime saltwater fishing license; 
• "Lifetime Hunting" if the applicant holds a lifetime hunting license; 
• "Lifetime Sportsman" if the applicant holds a lifetime sportsman license; or 
• "Lifetime Safe Boater" if the applicant holds a lifetime boater safety identification card. 

The DHSMV is authorized to collect an additional $1 fee to add the lifetime licensee or cardholder status when 
issuing an original identification card or driver license. 

An individual who surrenders and replaces his or her identification card or driver license before its expiration 
date with the sole purpose to include the individual's status as a lifetime licensee or card holder is required to 
pay a $2 fee for the card or license and the $25 replacement fee will be waived. 

According to DHSMV, the bill will have a significant negative fiscal impact to state funds. See fiscal comments. 

An effective date of July 1, 2016 is provided in the bill. 

This document does not reflect the intent or official position of the bill sponsor or House of Representatives. 
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FULL ANALYSIS 

I. SUBSTANTIVE ANALYSIS 

A. EFFECT OF PROPOSED CHANGES: 

Present Situation 

Driver License/Hunting and Fishing License Pilot Project1 

Beginning in 2014, the FWC began a pilot project which links a person's Florida driver license or 
identification card with the recreational hunting and fishing license database. FWC is actively using an 
in-house web based query function that allows staff to query the status of different permits and licenses 
issued by FWC by entering a driver license number or by swiping the license through a peripheral 
magnetic card reader. This function is available to all FWC employees using computers connected to 
the FWC Network and can also be used by Division of Law Enforcement officers in the field to 
determine all valid licenses held by an individual. 

If an FWC officer does not have access to their mobile computer they can relay the driver license 
information to a dispatcher via radio to query the database and return confirmation of valid license 
status. FWC also accepts the presentation of a license "image" via a smart phone device as a valid 
alternative. 

Recreational Lifetime Hunting and Fishing Licenses, Boater Safety Identification Cards 
The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) issues lifetime licenses to 
Florida residents for freshwater fishing, saltwater fishing, and hunting, as well as boater safety 
identification cards. 

Every person, unless exempt as provided in s. 379.353, F.S., taking game, fish, or fur-bearing animals 
within this state is required to have a hunting or fishing license, permit, or authorization number 
authorizing that activity. 2 The license, permit, or authorization number must in the personal possession 
of the person to whom it was issued while that person is taking, attempting to take, or possessing 
game, fish, or fur-bearing animals.3 

Lifetime hunting and fishing licenses are only available to Florida residents, and are valid from the date 
they are issued until the death of the individual to whom the license is issued, even if the license holder 
moves out of the state, unless revoked.4 A recreational license may be suspended for a period ranging 
from 1-3 years if the license holder is convicted of certain Level Two or Level Three offenses as 
outlined in s.379.401, F.S .. 

As of August 2015, FWC had the following "active" lifetime licenses and cards on file: 

Lifetime Freshwater Fishing Licenses 2,861 
Lifetime Saltwater Fishing Licenses 
Lifetime Hunting Licenses 
Lifetime Sportsman Licenses 
Lifetime Boater Safety ld Card 

Total: 

18,314 
1,578 

22,409 
441,000 
486,1625 

1 Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, Driver License/Hunting & Fishing License Pilot Project Update- 10/2015 (Oct. 5, 
2015) (On file with the House Highway and Waterway Safety Subcommittee). 
2 s. 379.354(1), F.S. 
3 s. 379.354(2), F.S. 
4 ss. 379.401 or 379.404, F.S. 
5 Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Agency Analysis of2016 House Bi1183, p.3 (Sept. 4, 2015) (on file with the 
House Highway and Waterway Safety Subcommittee). 
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Lifetime Freshwater or Saltwater Fishing License6 

In addition to authorizing the take or attempted take or possession of freshwater fish, a lifetime 
freshwater fishing license authorizes all activities included with a wildlife management area permit, 
except hunting. 

In addition to authorizing the take or attempted take or possession of saltwater fish, a lifetime saltwater 
fishing license authorizes all activities included with snook and spiny lobster permits. 

Lifetime fishing licenses are available to Florida residents for a fee of: 
• $125 for persons age 4 or younger; 
• $225 for persons age 5 to 12; and 
• $300 for persons age 13 or older. 

Lifetime Hunting License7 

In additional to authorizing the take or attempted take or possession of game animals, a lifetime hunting 
license authorizes all activities included with Deer, Wildlife Management Area, Archery, Muzzleloading 
Gun, Crossbow, Turkey and Florida Waterfowl permits. 

Lifetime hunting licenses are available to residents of Florida for a fee of: 
• $200 for persons age 4 or younger; 
• $350 for persons age 5 to 12; and 
• $500 for persons age 13 or older. 

Lifetime Sportsman License8 

In addition to authorizing the take or attempted take or possession of freshwater fish, saltwater fish, and 
game animals, a lifetime sportsman's license authorizes all activities included with Deer, Wildlife 
Management Area, Archery, Muzzleloading Gun, Crossbow, Turkey, Florida Waterfowl, Snook and 
Lobster permits. • 

Lifetime sportsman licenses are available to residents of Florida for a fee of: 
• $400 for persons age 4 or younger; 
• $700 for persons age 5 to 12; and 
• $1 ,000 for persons age 13 or older. 

Boater Safety Identification Carel 
Any person in Florida who was born on or after January 1, 1988, and who is operating a boat powered 
by a motor of more than 10 horsepower, must have in their possession a boater safety identification 
card, acquired from FWC for successfully completing approved boater safety education, as well as a 
valid for of photo identification. A person is exempt from this requirement if he or she: 

• Is licensed by the U.S. Coast Guard as a master of a vessel. 
• Is operating a vessel on a private lake or pond; 
• Is accompanied on the vessel by a person who is least 18 years of age, who is exempt or 

who has complied with the requirement, provided that person is attendant to and 
responsible for the safe operation of the vessel and for any violation that occurs during the 
operation of the vessel; 

• Is a nonresident who has in his or her possession proof that he or she has completed a 
boater education course or equivalency examination from another state which meets or 
exceeds Florida's requirements; 

6 s. 379.354(10), F.S. 
7 s. 379.354(11), F.S. 
8 s. 379.354(12), F.S. 
9 s. 327.395, F.S. 
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• Is operating a vessel within 90 days after the purchase of that vessel with a valid bill of 
sale; or 

• Is operating a vessel within 90 days of completing an approved boating safety course and 
has valid photo identification and a boater education course completion certificate in his or 
her possession. 

Any person, regardless of age, may complete the boater safety education course, and all who do so will 
be issued a boater safety identification card valid for life. 

Effect of Proposed Changes 

The bill amends ss. 322.14 and 322.051, F.S. requiring the Department of Highway Safety and Motor 
Vehicles (DHSMV) to notate on the identification card or driver license the applicant's status as a 
lifetime freshwater fishing, saltwater fishing, hunting, or sportsman licensee, or lifetime boater safety 
identification card holder issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC). 

Upon proof of an individual's status as a lifetime licensee or card holder the following words, or an 
abbreviation, will be added to the individual's identification card or driver license: 

• "Lifetime Freshwater Fishing License" if the applicant holds a lifetime freshwater fishing license; 
• "Lifetime Saltwater Fishing" if the applicant holds a lifetime saltwater fishing license; 
• "Lifetime Hunting" if the applicant holds a lifetime hunting license; 
• "Lifetime Sportsman" if the applicant holds a lifetime sportsman license; or 
• "Lifetime Safe Boater" if the applicant holds a lifetime boater safety identification card. 

The DHSMV is authorized to collect an additional $1 fee to add the lifetime licensee or cardholder 
status when issuing an original identification card or driver license. 

An individual who surrenders and replaces his or her identification card or driver license before its 
expiration date with the sole purpose to include the individual's status as a lifetime licensee or card 
holder is required to pay a $2 fee for the card or license and the $25 replacement fee will be waived. 

In addition, the bill makes a technical change toss. 322.051 and 322.14, F.S. to ensure the issuance of 
a replacement identification card or driver license shall, rather than may, be issued with the word 
"Veteran" without paying the $25 replacement fee. This aligns with the DHSMV's current practice. 10 

B. SECTION DIRECTORY: 

Section 1 

Section 2 

Amends s. 322.051, F.S., providing for a person's status as a lifetime freshwater fishing, 
saltwater fishing, hunting, or sportsman licensee, or boater safety identification 
cardholder, to be indicated on his or her identification card or driver license upon 
payment of an additional fee and presentation of the person's lifetime freshwater fishing, 
saltwater fishing, hunting, or sportsman's license or boater safety identification card; 
providing a waiver of the replacement fee in certain circumstances. 

Amends s. 322.14, F.S., providing for a person's status as a lifetime freshwater fishing, 
saltwater fishing, hunting, qr sportsman licensee, or boater safety identification 
cardholder, to be indicated on his or her identification card or driver license upon 
payment of an additional fee and presentation of the person's lifetime freshwater fishing, 
saltwater fishing, hunting, or sportsman's license or boater safety identification card; 
providing a waiver of the replacement fee in certain circumstances. 

10 DHSMV Agency Analysis, supra note 5. 
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Section 3 Provides an effective date of July 1, 2016. 

II. FISCAL ANALYSIS & ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

A. FISCAL IMPACT ON STATE GOVERNMENT: 

1. Revenues: 

The bill has an indeterminate fiscal impact to revenue. 

The additional $1 fee may have a positive fiscal impact to DHSMV, although it is unknown how 
many individuals may apply for the designation upon original issuance of an identification card or 
driver license. 

There may be a negative but indeterminate fiscal impact to the General Revenue Fund and the 
Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund or tax collector due to an individual being able to replace his 
or her identification card or driver license without payment of the $25 replacement fee, if the sole 
intention is to add the designation. 

The Revenue Estimating Conference has not estimated the fiscal impact of the bill at this time. 

2. Expenditures: 

The bill has a significant negative fiscal impact to state funds. 

DHSMV would be charged $150,000 by the card stock vendor to update the Morpho Trust 
Application to facilitate the printing of the new designations on identification cards and driver 
licenses. This expense could be avoided if the effort were delayed until a new card vendor is 
selected, which is expected in December 2017.11 

Additionally, DHSMV estimates 826 programming hours would be required for implementation at an 
estimated cost of $64,840 in FTE and contracted resources. 12 

The Revenue Estimating Conference has not estimated the fiscal impact of the bill at this time. 

B. FISCAL IMPACT ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS: 

1. Revenues: 

None 

2. Expenditures: 

None 

C. DIRECT ECONOMIC IMPACT ON PRIVATE SECTOR: 

Individuals can have their status as a lifetime licensee or cardholder indicated on his or her 
identification card or driver license upon payment of an additional $1 when being issued an original 
identification card or driver license. 

An individual who surrenders and replaces his or her identification card or driver license before its 
expiration date with the sole purpose to include the individual's status as a lifetime licensee or card 
holder is required to pay a $2 fee for the card or license instead of the $25 replacement fee. 

11 DHSMV Agency Analysis, supra note 5, p. 5 and 7. 
12 DHSMV Agency Analysis, supra note 5, p. 5. 
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D. FISCAL COMMENTS: 

None. 

Ill. COMMENTS 

A. CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES: 

1. Applicability of Municipality/County Mandates Provision: 

The bill does not require a municipality or county to expend funds or to take any action requiring the 
expenditure of funds. The bill does not reduce the authority that municipalities or counties have to raise 
revenues in the aggregate. The bill does not require a reduction of the percentage of state tax shared 
with municipalities or counties. 

2. Other: 

None 

B. RULE-MAKING AUTHORITY: 

None 

C. DRAFTING ISSUES OR OTHER COMMENTS: 

It is unclear how a suspension or revocation of an individual's lifetime hunting or fishing license would 
be accommodated if reflected on his or her identification card or driver license. 

Due to the limited space of the current card design, DHSMV has indicated the use of symbols to denote 
the lifetime classifications may be more accommodating. 13 

IV. AMENDMENTS/ COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE CHANGES 

13 DHSMV Agency Analysis, supra note 5, p. 7. 
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FLORIDA H 0 U S E 0 F R E P R E S E N T A T I V E S 

HB 83 2016 

1 A bill to be entitled 

2 An act relating to identification cards and driver 

3 licenses; amending ss. 322.051 and 322.14, F.S.; 

4 providing for a person's status as a lifetime 

5 freshwater fishing, saltwater fishing, hunting, or 

6 sportsman licensee, or boater safety identification 

7 cardholder, to be indicated on his or her 

8 identification card or driver license upon payment of 

9 an additional fee and presentation of the person's 

10 lifetime freshwater fishing, saltwater fishing, 

11 hunting, or sportsman's license or boater safety 

12 identification card; providing a waiver of the 

13 replacement fee in certain circumstances; providing an 

14 effective date. 

15 

16 Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida: 

17 

18 Section 1. Paragraph (b) of subsection (8) of section 

19 322.051, Florida Statutes, is amended, and paragraph (c) is 

20 added to that subsection, to read: 

21 322.051 Identification cards.-

22 ( 8) 

23 (b) The word "Veteran" shall be exhibited on the 

24 identification card of a veteran upon the payment of an 

25 additional $1 fee for the identification card and the 

26 presentation of a copy of the person's DD Form 214, issued by 
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F L 0 R D A H 0 U S E 0 F R E P R E S E N T A T V E S 

HB 83 2016 

27 the United States Department of Defense, or another acceptable 

28 form specified by the Department of Veterans' Affairs. Until a 

29 veteran's identification card is next renewed, the veteran may 

30 have the word "Veteran" added to his or her identification card 

31 upon surrender of his or her current identification card, 

32 payment of a $2 fee to be deposited into the Highway Safety 

33 Operating Trust Fund, and presentation of a copy of his or her 

34 DD Form 214 or another acceptable form specified by the 

35 Department of Veterans' Affairs. If the applicant is not 

36 conducting any other transaction affecting the identification 

37 card, a replacement identification card shall may be issued with 

38 the word "Veteran" without payment of the fee required in s. 

39 322.21(1) (f)3. 

40 (c) The department shall include the following words, or 

41 standard abbreviations for those words, on an identification 

42 card upon the payment of an additional $1 fee by an applicant 

43 who meets the requirements of subsection (1) and presents a 

44 lifetime license or card: 

45 1. If the applicant holds a lifetime freshwater fishing 

4 6 license, the words "Lifetime Freshwater Fishing." 

47 2. If the applicant holds a lifetime saltwater fishing 

48 license, the words "Lifetime Saltwater Fishing." 

49 3. If the applicant holds a lifetime hunting license, the 

50 words "Lifetime Hunting." 

51 4. If the applicant holds a lifetime sportsman's license, 

52 the words "Lifetime Sportsman." 

Page 2 of 5 

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions. 

hb0083-00 



F L 0 R D A H 0 U S E 0 F R E P R E S E N T A T V E S 

HB 83 2016 

53 5. If the applicant holds a lifetime boater safety 

54 identification card, the words "Lifetime Safe Boater." 

55 

56 A person may replace his or her identification card before its 

57 expiration date with a card that includes his or her status as a 

58 lifetime licensee or boater safety cardholder upon surrender of 

59 his or her current identification card, payment of a $2 fee to 

60 be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund, and 

61 presentation of the person's lifetime license or card. If the 

62 sole purpose of the replacement identification card is the 

63 inclusion of the applicant's status as a lifetime licensee or 

64 cardholder, the replacement identification card shall be issued 

65 without payment of the fee required ins. 322.21(1) (f)3. 

66 Section 2. Paragraph (c) of subsection (1) of section 

67 322.14, Florida Statutes, is amended, and paragraph (d) is added 

68 to that subsection, to read: 

69 322.14 Licenses issued to drivers.-

70 ( 1) 

71 (c) The word "Veteran" shall be exhibited on the driver 

72 license of a veteran upon the payment of an additional $1 fee 

73 for the license and the presentation of a copy of the person's 

74 DD Form 214, issued by the United States Department of Defense, 

75 or another acceptable form specified by the Department of 

76 Veterans' Affairs. Until a veteran's license is next renewed, 

77 the veteran may have the word "Veteran" added to his or her 

78 license upon surrender of his or her current license, payment of 
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FLORIDA H 0 U S E 0 F R E P R E S E N T A T I V E S 

HB 83 2016 

79 a $2 fee to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust 

80 Fund, and presentation of a copy of his or her DO Form 214 or 

81 another acceptable form specified by the Department of Veterans' 

82 Affairs. If the applicant is not conducting any other 

83 transaction affecting the driver license, a replacement license 

84 shall ffta-:t be issued with the word "Veteran" without payment of 

85 the fee required in s. 322.21 (1) (e). 

86 (d) The department shall include the following words, or 

87 standard abbreviations for those words, on a driver license upon 

88 the payment of an additional $1 fee by an applicant who meets 

89 the requirements of s. 322.08 and presents a lifetime license or 

90 identification card: 

91 1. If the applicant holds a lifetime freshwater fishing 

92 license, the words "Lifetime Freshwater Fishing." 

93 2. If the applicant holds a lifetime saltwater fishing 

94 license, the words "Lifetime Saltwater Fishing." 

95 3. If the applicant holds a lifetime hunting license, the 

96 words "Lifetime Hunting." 

97 4. If the applicant holds a lifetime sportsman's license, 

98 the words "Lifetime Sportsman." 

99 5. If the applicant holds a lifetime boater safety 

100 identification card, the words "Lifetime Safe Boater." 

101 

102 A person may replace his or her driver license before its 

103 expiration date with a license that includes his or her status 

104 as a lifetime licensee or boater safety cardholder upon 

Page 4 of 5 

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions. 

hb0083-00 



FLORIDA H 0 U S E 0 F R E P R E S E N T A T I V E S 

HB 83 2016 

105 surrender of his or her current driver license, payment of a $2 

106 fee to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust 

107 Fund, and presentation of the person's lifetime license or 

108 identification card. If the sole purpose of the replacement 

109 driver license is the inclusion of the applicant's status as a 

110 lifetime licensee or cardholder, the replacement driver license 

111 shall be issued without payment of the fee required in s. 

112 322.21(1)(e). 

113 Section 3. This act shall take effect July 1, 2016. 
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Amendment No.1 

COMMITTEE/SUBCOMMITTEE AMENDMENT 

Bill No. HB 83 (2016) 

COMMITTEE/SUBCOMMITTEE ACTION 

ADOPTED (Y/N) 

ADOPTED AS AMENDED 

ADOPTED W/0 OBJECTION 

FAILED TO ADOPT 

WITHDRAWN 

OTHER 

(Y/N) 

(Y/N) 

(Y/N) 

(Y/N) 

1 Committee/Subcommittee hearing bill: Highway & Waterway Safety 

2 Subcommittee 

3 Representative Santiago offered the following: 

4 

5 Amendment (with title amendment) 

6 Remove everything after the enacting clause and insert: 

7 Section 1. Paragraph (b) of subsection (8) of section 

8 322.051, Florida Statutes, is amended, and paragraph (c) is 

9 added to that subsection, to read: 

10 322.051 Identification cards.-

11 ( 8) 

12 (b) The word "Veteran" shall be exhibited on the 

13 identification card of a veteran upon the payment of an 

14 additional $1 fee for the identification card and the 

15 presentation of a copy of the person's DO Form 214, issued by 

16 the United States Department of Defense, or another acceptable 

17 form specified by the Department of Veterans' Affairs. Until a 

927999 - HB 83 - Santiago - No. l.docx 
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1111111111111111111111111111 COMMITTEE/SUBCOMMITTEE AMENDMENT 

Bill No. HB 83 (2016) 
Amendment No.1 

18 veteran's identification card is next renewed, the veteran may 

19 have the word "Veteran" added to his or her identification card 

20 upon surrender of his or her current identification card, 

21 payment of a $2 fee to be deposited into the Highway Safety 

22 Operating Trust Fund, and presentation of a copy of his or her 

23 DO Form 214 or another acceptable form specified by the 

24 Department of Veterans' Affairs. If the applicant is not 

25 conducting any other transaction affecting the identification 

26 card, a replacement identification card shall may be issued with 

27 the word "Veteran" without payment of the fee required in s. 

28 322.21(1) (f)3. 

29 (c) The department shall include symbols representing the 

30 following on an identification card upon the payment of an 

31 additional $1 fee by an applicant who meets the requirements of 

32 subsection (1) and presents his or her: 

33 

34 

35 

36 

37 

38 

1. 

2 . 

3. 

4 . 

5. 

Lifetime 

Lifetime 

Lifetime 

Lifetime 

Lifetime 

freshwater fishing license; 

saltwater fishing license; 

hunting license; 

sportsman's license; or 

boater safety identification card. 

39 A person may replace his or her identification card before its 

40 expiration date with a card that includes his or her status as a 

41 lifetime licensee or boater safety cardholder upon surrender of 

42 his or her current identification card, payment of a $2 fee to 

43 be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund, and 
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Amendment No.1 

COMMITTEE/SUBCOMMITTEE AMENDMENT 

Bill No. HB 8 3 ( 2 016) 

44 presentation of the person's lifetime license or card. If the 

45 sole purpose of the replacement identification card is the 

46 inclusion of the applicant's status as a lifetime licensee or 

47 cardholder, the replacement identification card must be issued 

48 without payment of the fee required ins. 322.21(1) (f)3. 

49 Section 2. Paragraph (c) of subsection (1) of section 

50 322.14, Florida Statutes, is amended, and paragraph (d) is added 

51 to that subsection, to read: 

52 

53 

54 

322.14 Licenses issued to drivers.­

( 1) 

(c) The word "Veteran" shall be exhibited on the driver 

55 license of a veteran upon the payment of an additional $1 fee 

56 for the license and the presentation of a copy of the person's 

57 DO Form 214, issued by the United States Department of Defense, 

58 or another acceptable form specified by the Department of 

59 Veterans' Affairs. Until a veteran's license is next renewed, 

60 the veteran may have the word "Veteran" added to his or her 

61 license upon surrender of his or her current license, payment of 

62 a $2 fee to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust 

63 Fund, and presentation of a copy of his or her DO Form 214 or 

64 another acceptable form specified by the Department of Veterans' 

65 Affairs. If the applicant is not conducting any other 

66 transaction affecting the driver license, a replacement license 

67 shall ma-y be issued with the word "Veteran" without payment of 

68 the fee required ins. 322.21(1)(e). 

69 (d) The department shall include symbols representing the 
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1111111111111111111111111111 COMMITTEE/SUBCOMMITTEE AMENDMENT 

Bill No. HB 83 (2016) 
Amendment No.1 

70 following on a driver license upon the payment of an additional 

71 $1 fee by an applicant who meets the requirements of s. 322.08 

72 and presents his or her: 

73 

74 

75 

76 

77 

78 

1. 

2 . 

3. 

4. 

5. 

Lifetime 

Lifetime 

Lifetime 

Lifetime 

Lifetime 

freshwater fishing license; 

saltwater fishing license; 

hunting license; 

sportsman's license; or 

boater safety identification card. 

79 A person may replace his or her driver license before its 

80 expiration date with a license that includes his or her status 

81 as a lifetime licensee or boater safety cardholder upon 

82 surrender of his or her current driver license, payment of a $2 

83 fee to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust 

84 Fund, and presentation of the person's lifetime license or 

85 identification card. If the sole purpose of the replacement 

86 driver license is the inclusion of the applicant's status as a 

87 lifetime licensee or cardholder, the replacement driver license 

88 must be issued without payment of the fee required in s. 

89 322.21(l)(e). 

90 Section 3. Subsection (1) of section 327.395, Florida 

91 Statutes, is amended to read: 

92 

93 

327.395 Boating safety identification cards.-

(1) A person born on or after January 1, 1988, may not 

94 operate a vessel powered by a motor of 10 horsepower or greater 

95 unless such person has in his or her possession aboard the 
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Amendment No.1 

COMMITTEE/SUBCOMMITTEE AMENDMENT 

Bill No. HB 83 (2016) 

96 vessel photographic identification and a boater safety 

97 identification card issued by the commission, or a state-issued 

98 identification card or driver license indicating possession of 

99 the boater safety identification card, which shows that he or 

100 she has: 

101 (a) Completed a commission-approved boater education 

102 course that meets the minimum 8-hour instruction requirement 

103 established by the National Association of State Boating Law 

104 Administrators; 

105 (b) Passed a course equivalency examination approved by 

106 the commission; or 

107 

108 

109 

110 

111 

112 

113 

114 

115 

116 

117 

118 

119 

120 

121 

(c) Passed a temporary certificate examination developed 

or approved by the commission. 

Section 4. Subsection (3) of section 379.354, Florida 

Statutes, is amended to read: 

379.354 Recreational licenses, permits, and authorization 

numbers; fees established.-

(3) PERSONAL POSSESSION REQUIRED.-Each recreational 

license, state-issued identification card or driver license 

indicating possession of a recreational license, permit, or 

authorization number must be in the personal possession of the 

person to whom it is issued while the 5B€h person is taking, 

attempting to take, or possessing game, freshwater or saltwater 

fish, or fur-bearing animals. Any person taking, attempting to 

take, or possessing game, freshwater or saltwater fish, or fur­

bearing animals who fails to produce a recreational license, 
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Amendment No.1 

COMMITTEE/SUBCOMMITTEE AMENDMENT 

Bill No. HB 83 (2016) 

122 state-issued identification card or driver license indicating 

123 possession of a recreational license, permit, or authorization 

124 number at the request of a commission law enforcement officer 

125 commits a violation of the law. 

126 Section 5. The amendments made by this act to ss. 322.051 

127 and 322.14, Florida Statutes, shall apply upon implementation of 

128 new designs for the driver license and identification card by 

129 the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. 

130 Section 6. This act shall take effect July 1, 2016. 

131 

132 -----------------------------------------------------

133 

134 

135 

136 

137 

138 

139 

140 

141 

142 

143 

144 

145 

146 

147 

T I T L E A M E N D M E N T 

Remove everything before the enacting clause and insert: 

A bill to be entitled 

An act relating to identification cards and driver 

licenses; amending ss. 322.051 and 322.14, F.S.; 

providing for a person's status as a lifetime 

freshwater fishing, saltwater fishing, hunting, or 

sportsman licensee, or boater safety identification 

cardholder, to be indicated on his or her 

identification card or driver license upon payment of 

an additional fee and presentation of the person's 

lifetime freshwater fishing, saltwater fishing, 

hunting, or sportsman's license, or boater safety 

identification card; providing a waiver of the 

replacement fee in certain circumstances; amending s. 
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Amendment No.1 

COMMITTEE/SUBCOMMITTEE AMENDMENT 

Bill No. HB 83 (2016) 

148 327.395, F.S.; prohibiting a person born on or after a 

149 specified date from operating a certain vessel unless 

150 such person has in his or her possession aboard the 

151 vessel photographic identification and a boater safety 

152 identification card or a state-issued identification 

153 card or driver license which meets certain 

154 requirements; amending s. 379.354, F.S.; requiring 

155 each state-issued identification card or driver 

156 license indicating possession of certain recreational 

157 licenses to be in the personal possession of the 

158 person to whom such license is issued while the person 

159 is taking, attempting to take, or possessing game, 

160 freshwater or saltwater fish, or fur-bearing animals; 

161 providing applicability; providing an effective date. 
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HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STAFF ANALYSIS 

BILL #: HB 227 Specialty License Plates/Sun Sea Smiles 
SPONSOR(S): Rogers 
TIED BILLS: IDEN./SIM. BILLS: SB 278 

REFERENCE 

1) Highway & Waterway Safety Subcommittee 

2) Transportation & Economic Development 
Appropriations Subcommittee 

3) Economic Affairs Committee 

ACTION 

SUMMARY ANALYSIS 

ANALYST 

Whittaker 
;;o;::;:) 

STAFF DIRECTOR or 

BUDGET/POLICY CHIEF 

Smith l)v\_s8 

The bill directs the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) to create a new specialty 
license plate designated as the Sun Sea Smiles license plate, with an annual use fee of $25 to be distributed 
as follows: 

• Five percent shall be distributed to the Florida Caribbean Charitable Foundation, Inc., strictly for 
marketing of the Sun Sea Smiles license plate. 

• Thirty percent shall be distributed to the Florida Caribbean Charitable Foundation, Inc. and of this 
amount, up to five percent may be used for administrative expenses, and the remainder shall be used 
as follows: 

o Sixty percent shall be used for a college scholarship program. 
o Fifteen percent shall be used to promote health and wellness among Florida residents of 

Caribbean descent. 
o Twenty-five percent shall be used to promote awareness of Caribbean culture within the state. 

• Twenty percent shall be distributed to the American Friends of Jamaica, Inc., a charitable, not for profit 
organization under s. 501 (c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code registered with the Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services and incorporated in New York, for use as grants to promote social 
and community development among Florida residents. Of this amount, up to five percent may be used 
for administrative and marketing expenses. 

• Ten percent shall be distributed to Haitian Neighborhood Center Sant La, Inc. to promote social and 
community development. Of this amount, up to five percent may be used for administrative expenses. 

• Ten percent shall be distributed to Fanm Ayisyen Nan Miyami, Inc., to promote social and community 
development. Of this amount, up to 10 percent may be used for administrative expenses. 

• Twenty percent shall be distributed to Greater Caribbean American Cultural Coalition, Inc., to promote 
awareness of Caribbean culture within the state. Of this amount, up to five percent may be used for 
administrative expenses. 

• Five percent shall be distributed to Little Haiti Optimist Foundation, Inc., to promote awareness of 
Caribbean culture and youth development within the state. Of this amount, up to five percent may be 
used for administrative expenses. 

The new plate will display the word "Florida" at the top of the plate and the words "Sun Sea Smiles" at the 
bottom of the plate. 

The bill authorizes the DHSMV to retain all annual use fees from the sale of Sun Sea Smiles specialty license 
plate until all startup costs for developing and issuing the plate have been recovered. 

According to DHSMV, the bill will have a negative but insignificant fiscal impact to state funds. See fiscal 
comments. 

An effective date of October 1, 2016 is provided in the bill. 

This document does not reflect the intent or official position of the bill sponsor or House of Representatives. 
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FULL ANALYSIS 

I. SUBSTANTIVE ANALYSIS 

A. EFFECT OF PROPOSED CHANGES: 

Present Situation 

Specialty License Plates in General 

The first Florida specialty license plates were enacted in 1986 and included the creation of the Challenger 
plate and ten Florida collegiate plates. Today, there are over 120 specialty license plates available to any 
owner or lessee of a motor vehicle who is willing to pay the additional use fee for the privilege, typically $25 
annually. 1 The collected fees are distributed by the DHSMV to statutorily designated organizations in 
support of a particular cause or charity. Vehicles registered under the International Registration Plan, a 
commercial truck required to display two license plates, or truck tractors are not eligible for specialty 
license plates2

• 

Only the Legislature may create new specialty license plates. If a specialty license plate is created by law, 
the following requirements must then be met: 

• Within 60 days, the organization must submit an art design, in a medium prescribed by DHSMV. 
• Within 120 days, DHSMV must establish a method to issue a specialty license plate voucher to 

allow for the pre-sale of the specialty plate. 
• Within 24 months after the voucher is established, the organization must obtain a minimum of 1,000 

voucher sales before manufacturing may begin. If this requirement is not met, the plate is 
deauthorized and DHSMV must discontinue development of the plate and issuance of the 
vouchers. 

DHSMV must discontinue the issuance of an approved specialty license plate if the number of valid 
specialty plate registrations falls below 1 ,000 plates for at least 12 consecutive months. A warning letter is 
mailed to the sponsoring organization following the first month in which the total number of valid specialty 
plate registrations falls below 1,000 plates (does not apply to collegiate license plates).3 

Organizations in receipt of specialty license plate revenue must adhere to certain accountability 
requirements found in statute. These requirements include an annual attestation document affirming, under 
penalty of perjury, that funds received have been spent in accordance with applicable statutes.4 

A moratorium on the issuance of specialty license plates was imposed by lawmakers in 2008, originally set 
to expire in 2011; it has been extended to July 1, 2016.5 

Effect of Proposed Changes 

Sun Sea Smiles Specialty License Plate 

1 Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Specialty License Plates Index, 
http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/specialtytags/ (last visited Sept. 15, 2015). 
2 s. 320.08056(2), F.S. 
3 s. 320.08056 (8)(a), F.S. 
4 s. 320.08062, F. S. 
5 Ch. 2008-176, Laws of Fla., as amended by Ch. 2010-223, Laws of Fla. 
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The bill directs the DHSMV to create a new specialty license plate designated as the Sun Sea Smiles 
license plate, with an annual use fee of $25 to be distributed as follows: 

• Five percent shall be distributed to the Florida Caribbean Charitable Foundation, Inc., strictly for 
marketing of the Sun Sea Smiles license plate. 

• Thirty percent shall be distributed to the Florida Caribbean Charitable Foundation, Inc. and of this 
amount, up to five percent may be used for administrative expenses, and the remainder shall be 
used as follows: 

o Sixty percent shall be used for a college scholarship program; 
o Fifteen percent shall be used to promote health and wellness among Florida residents of 

Caribbean descent; and 
o Twenty-five percent shall be used to promote awareness of Caribbean culture within the 

state. 
• Twenty percent shall be distributed to the American Friends of Jamaica, Inc .. a charitable, not for 

profit organization under s. 501 (c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code registered with the Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services and incorporated in New York, for use as grants to promote 
social and community development among Florida residents. Of this amount, up to five percent may 
be used for administrative and marketing expenses. 

• Ten percent shall be distributed to Haitian Neighborhood Center Sant La, Inc. to promote social and 
community development. Of this amount, up to five percent may be used for administrative 
expenses. 

• Ten percent shall be distributed to Fanm Ayisyen Nan Miyami, Inc., to promote social and 
community development. Of this amount, up to 10 percent may be used for administrative 
expenses. 

• Twenty percent shall be distributed to Greater Caribbean American Cultural Coalition, Inc., to 
promote awareness of Caribbean culture within the state. Of this amount, up to five percent may be 
used for administrative expenses. 

• Five percent shall be distributed to Little Haiti Optimist Foundation, Inc., to promote awareness of 
Caribbean culture and youth development within the state. Of this amount, up to five percent may 
be used for administrative expenses. 

The new plate will display the word "Florida" at the top of the plate, and the words "Sun Sea Smiles" at the 
bottom of the plate. 

The bill authorizes the DHSMV to retain all annual use fees from the sale of Sun Sea Smiles specialty 
license plate until all startup costs for developing and issuing the plate have been recovered. 

Receiving Organizations: Florida Caribbean, Haitian, and Jamaican Organizations 

The Florida Caribbean Charitable Foundation, Inc .. is a civic and social organization, located in North 
Miami Beach and established in 2007. 

American Friends of Jamaica, Inc., founded in 1982, is a non-profit organization dedicated to supporting 
Jamaican charitable organizations and social initiatives targeted at improving the lives of Jamaicans 
through systematic development in the areas of education, healthcare, and economic development.6 

The mission of Haitian Neighborhood Center Sant La, Inc., is to empower, strengthen, and stabilize South 
Florida's Haitian community, through access for free services and resources, to ensure its successful 
integration.7 

6 The American Friends of Jamaica, Our Mission & Vision, http://www.theamericanfriendsofjamaica.org/about/mission.html (last 
visited Oct. 8, 2015). 
7 Haitian Neighborhood Center Sant La, Mission and Vision, 
http:/ /santla.org/index.php?option=com _ content&view=article&id=32 :about-us&catid= 16:sant-la-articles&ltemid= 165 (last visited 
Oct. 8, 2015). 
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Fanm Ayisyen Nan Miyami, Inc., has a mission to empower Haitian women and their families socially, 
politically, and facilitate their adjustments to South Florida. The organization has provided counseling, 
outreach, education, and access to care and advocacy service to low and moderate-income families and 
children for the last 16 years.8 

The Greater Caribbean American Cultural Coalition, Inc., is an umbrella organization serving the Caribbean 
people and other members of the community, by bringing together the various Caribbean countries and 
islands, and their rich cultural heritage. The coalition's mission is to enrich the cultural environment of the 
Caribbean people and other members of the community by fostering multicultural understanding through 
an appreciation of Caribbean cultures.9 

Little Haiti Optimist Foundation, Inc., is a non-profit organization established in 2010 by a group of 
business, community and civic leaders to provide programs to the youth of Little Haiti. The mission is to 
make a difference in the lives of youth by providing education, mentorship, athletics, arts and cultural 
programming. 10 

B. SECTION DIRECTORY: 

Section 1 Amends s. 320.08056, F.S., establishing an annual use fee of $25 for the Sun Sea Smiles 
specialty license plate. 

Section 2 Amends s. 320.08058, F.S., directing the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to 
create a Sun Sea Smiles specialty license plate and provides for the distribution of the annual 
use fees collected. 

Section 3 Provides an effective date of October 1, 2016. 

II. FISCAL ANALYSIS & ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

A. FISCAL IMPACT ON STATE GOVERNMENT: 

1. Revenues: 

None 

2. Expenditures: 

DHSMV estimates 244 programming hours would be required for implementation of a new specialty 
license plate, exclusive of planning and testing time. The 244 programming hours is estimated to 
have a fiscal impact of $12,760 in FTE and contracted resources. (194 hours@ $40/hour plus 50 
hours @ $1 OO/hour). 11 

B. FISCAL IMPACT ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS: 

1. Revenues: 

8 Fanm Ayisyen nan Miyami, About, http://www.fanm.org/index.php?page=About (last visited Oct. 8, 2015). 
9 Unifest, About GCACC, http://unifestlive.com/about-gcacc/ (last visited Oct. 8, 2015). 
10 Little Haiti Optimist Club, Welcome, http://www.littlehaitioptimist.org/ (last visited Oct. 8, 2015). 
11 Department ofHighway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Agency Analysis of2016 House Bill227, p.5 (Sept. 15, 2015) (On file with the 
House Highway and Waterway Safety Subcommittee). 
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None 

2. Expenditures: 

None 

C. DIRECT ECONOMIC IMPACT ON PRIVATE SECTOR: 

Revenue generated from the sale of the Sun Sea Smiles specialty license plate would be distributed to 
the various organizations designated in statute. 

D. FISCAL COMMENTS: 

None. 

Ill. COMMENTS 

A. CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES: 

1. Applicability of Municipality/County Mandates Provision: 

The bill does not require a municipality or county to expend funds or to take any action requiring the 
expenditure of funds. The bill does not reduce the authority that municipalities or counties have to raise 
revenues in the aggregate. The bill does not require a reduction of the percentage of state tax shared 
with municipalities or counties. 

2. Other: 

None 

B. RULE-MAKING AUTHORITY: 

None 

C. DRAFTING ISSUES OR OTHER COMMENTS: 

None 

IV. AMENDMENTS/ COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE CHANGES 
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FLORIDA H 0 U S E 0 F REPRESENTATIVES 

HB 227 2016 

1 A bill to be entitled 

2 An act relating to specialty license plates; amending 

3 ss. 320.08056 and 320.08058, F.S.; directing the 

4 Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to 

5 develop a Sun Sea Smiles license plate; establishing 

6 an annual use fee for the plate; providing for 

7 distribution and use of fees collected from the sale 

8 of the plates; providing an effective date. 

9 

10 Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida: 

11 

12 Section 1. Paragraph (ffff) is added to subsection (4) of 

13 section 320.08056, Florida Statutes, to read: 

14 320.08056 Specialty license plates.-

15 (4) The following license plate annual use fees shall be 

16 collected for the appropriate specialty license plates: 

17 (ffff) Sun Sea Smiles license plate, $25. 

18 Section 2. Subsection (84) is added to section 320.08058, 

19 Florida Statutes, to read: 

20 320.08058 Specialty license plates.-

21 (84) SUN SEA SMILES LICENSE PLATES.-

22 (a) Notwithstanding s. 320.08053, the department shall 

23 develop a Sun Sea Smiles license plate as provided in this 

24 section. The plate must bear the colors and design approved by 

25 the department. The word "Florida" must appear at the top of the 

26 plate, and the words "Sun Sea Smiles" must appear at the bottom 
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F L 0 R D A H 0 U S E 0 F R E P R E S E N T A T I V E S 

HB 227 

27 of the plate. 

28 (b) The department shall retain all annual use fees from 

29 the sale of such plates until all startup costs for developing 

30 and issuing the plates have been recovered. Thereafter, the 

2016 

31 annual use fees from the sale of the plate shall be distributed 

32 as follows: 

33 1. Five percent shall be distributed to the Florida 

34 Caribbean Charitable Foundation, Inc., strictly for marketing of 

35 the Sun Sea Smiles license plate. 

36 2. Thirty percent shall be distributed to the Florida 

37 Caribbean Charitable Foundation, Inc. Of this amount, up to 5 

38 percent may be used for administrative expenses, and the 

39 remainder shall be used as follows: 

40 a. Sixty percent shall be used for a college scholarship 

41 program. 

42 b. Fifteen percent shall be used to promote health and 

43 wellness among Florida residents of Caribbean descent. 

44 c. Twenty-five percent shall be used to promote awareness 

45 of Caribbean culture within the state. 

46 3. Twenty percent shall be distributed to the American 

47 Friends of Jamaica, Inc., a charitable, not-for-profit 

48 organization under s. 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code 

49 registered with the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

50 Services and incorporated in New York, for use as grants to 

51 promote social and community development among Florida 
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F L 0 R D A H 0 U S E 0 F REPRESENTATIVES 

HB 227 

52 residents. Of this amount, up to 5 percent may be used for 

53 administrative and marketing expenses. 

54 4. Ten percent shall be distributed to Haitian 

55 Neighborhood Center Sant La, Inc., to promote social and 

56 community development. Of this amount, up to 5 percent may be 

57 used for administrative expenses. 

58 5. Ten percent shall be distributed to Fanm Ayisyen Nan 

59 Miyami, Inc., to promote social and community development. Of 

60 this amount, up to 10 percent may be used for administrative 

61 expenses. 

62 6. Twenty percent shall be distributed to Greater 

63 Caribbean American Cultural Coalition, Inc., to promote 

2016 

64 awareness of Caribbean culture within the state. Of this amount, 

65 up to 5 percent may be used for administrative expenses. 

66 7. Five percent shall be distributed to Little Haiti 

67 Optimist Foundation, Inc., to promote awareness of Caribbean 

68 culture and youth development within the state. Of this amount, 

69 up to 5 percent may be used for administrative expenses. 

70 Section 3. This act shall take effect October 1, 2016. 
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HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STAFF ANALYSIS 

BILL#: HB 235 Parking for Disabled Veterans 
SPONSOR(S): Roberson 
TIED BILLS: IDEN./SIM. BILLS: SB 222 

REFERENCE 

1) Highway & Waterway Safety Subcommittee 

2) Transportation & Economic Development 
Appropriations Subcommittee 

3) Economic Affairs Committee 

ACTION 

SUMMARY ANALYSIS 

ANALYST 

Whittaker 

STAFF DIRECTOR or 
BUDGET/POLICY CHIEF 

Smith~ 

The bill clarifies that the exemption for a state, county, municipality, or any agency thereof to not charge a 
parking fee, only applies when the vehicle is transporting the person who has a disability and to whom the 
disabled parking permit or disabled license plate was issued. 

A provision is removed by the bill allowing an airport that owns, operates, or leases parking facilities, or any 
other parking facility, used for the purpose of air travel, to charge for parking a vehicle displaying a: 

• Disabled Veteran license plate; 
• Disabled Veteran license plate stamped with the international wheelchair symbol; or 
• Paralyzed Veterans of America license plate. 

The bill provides that the governing body of each publicly owned or publicly operated airport must grant free 
parking to a vehicle displaying a: 

• Disabled Veterans license plate; 
• Disabled Veteran license plate stamped with the international wheelchair symbol; or 
• Paralyzed Veterans of America license plate. 

The bill also adds vehicles displaying the Disabled Veteran license plate stamped with the international 
wheelchair symbol or the Paralyzed Veterans of America license plate to the list of vehicles that may not be 
charged for parking by a county, municipality, or any agency thereof, in a facility or lot that provides timed 
parking spaces outside of certain conditions. 

The bill has no fiscal impact on state funds. 

An effective date of July 1, 2016 is provided in the bill. 

This document does not reflect the intent or official position of the bill sponsor or House of Representatives. 
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FULL ANALYSIS 

I. SUBSTANTIVE ANALYSIS 

A. EFFECT OF PROPOSED CHANGES: 

Present Situation 

Parking Fee Exemptions for the Disabled 
A state agency, county, municipality, or any agency thereof, may not charge a fee for parking on the 
public streets or highways or in any metered parking spaces if the vehicle displays any of the following 
disabled parking permits or disabled license plates: 

• out of state or out of country disabled license plate or disabled parking permit as recognized 
under s. 316.1958, F.S.; 

• disabled parking permit issued under s. 320.0848, F.S.; 
• Disabled Veteran license plate issued under s. 320.084, F.S.; 
• Disabled Veteran license plate stamped with the international wheelchair symbol issued under 

s. 320.0842, F.S.; 
• license plate stamped with the international wheelchair user symbol issued under s. 320.0843, 

F.S.; or 
• Paralyzed Veterans of America license plate issued under s. 320.0845, F.S. 

This only applies when the vehicle is transporting the person who has the disability and to whom the 
disabled parking permit or license plate was issued. 1 

When an on-street parking meter restricts the duration of time that a vehicle may be parked, a vehicle 
properly displaying a disabled parking permit is allowed a maximum of four hours at no charge. 
However, local governments may extend such time by local ordinance. 2 

The driver of a vehicle, as provided above, that is parked on the public streets or highways or in any 
metered parking space may not be penalized except in clearly defined: 

• bus loading zones; 
• fire zones; 
• access aisles adjacent to the parking spaces for persons who have disabilities; 
• areas posted as "No Parking" zones or as emergency vehicle zones; or 
• for parking in excess of the posted time limit_3 

A parking facility that restricts the number of consecutive days that a vehicle may be parked can 
impose the same restriction on a vehicle that displays a disabled parking permit.4 

Exceptions to Parking Fee Exemptions 
Several exceptions are provided in current law for when a parking fee may be charged to a vehicle 
displaying a disabled parking permit or a disabled license plate. 

A parking fee may be charged when a state, county, or municipal parking facility or lot is being used for 
an event at a convention center, cruise-port terminal, sports stadium, sports arena, coliseum, or 
auditorium.5 

A parking fee may be charged in a parking facility that leases a parking space for more than one week.6 

Is. 316.1964(1), F.S. 
2 s. 316.1964(5), F.S. 
3s. 316.1964(2), F.S. 
4 s. 316.1964(4), F.S. 
5 s. 316.1964(3), F.S. 
6 s. 316.1964(6), F.S. 
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A parking fee may be charged by an airport that owns, operates, or leases parking facilities, or any 
other parking facilities that are used for air travel to vehicles displaying: 

• a disabled parking permit; 
• an out of state or out of country disabled license plate or disabled parking permit; 
• a Disabled Veteran license plate; 
• a Disabled Veteran license plate stamped with the international wheelchair symbol; 
• a license plate stamped with the international wheelchair symbol; or 
• a Paralyzed Veterans of America license plate. 

However, the governing body of each publicly owned or publicly operated airport must grant free 
parking for a vehicle with specialized equipment, such as a ramp, lift, or foot or hand controls for 
utilization by a person who has a disability or whose vehicle displays the Florida Toll Exemption 
permit_? 

A parking fee may be charged by a county, municipality, or any agency thereof, to any vehicle that 
displays a disabled parking permit for parking in a facility, or lot that provides timed parking spaces. 
However, any vehicle with specialized equipment, such as ramps, lifts, or foot or hand controls, for use 
by a person who has a disability, vehicles displaying the Disabled Veteran "DV" license plate issued 
under s. 320.084, F.S., or a Florida Toll Exemption permit are exempt from any parking fees.8 

Disabled Veterans License Plate 
To become eligible for one free Disabled Veterans license plate displaying a "DV" designation, a 
veteran must have been a Florida resident for the preceding five years or has established a domicile in 
the state, and have been honorably discharged from the U.S. Armed Forces upon application, 
accompanied by proof that: 

• a vehicle was initially acquired through financial assistance by the U.S. Department of Veterans 
Affairs or its predecessor specifically for the purchase of an automobile; 

• the applicant has been determined by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs or the 
predecessor to have a service-connected 100% disability rating for compensation; or 

• the applicant has been determined to have a service-connected disability rating of 100% and is 
in receipt of disability retirement pay from any branch of the U.S. Armed Forces.9 

Currently, there are 41 ,435 active Disabled Veteran license plates in Florida. 10 

Disabled Veterans License Plate with the International Wheelchair Symbol 
If a disabled veteran is eligible for the Disabled Veteran license plate and offers proof that, due to the 
service-connected disability, he or she permanently uses a wheelchair then that veteran is eligible for a 
free license plate that displays the international symbol of accessibility. This plate is similar in all 
respects to the Disabled Veteran license plate except the "DV" designation is replaced by the 
international symbol of accessibility. 11 

Currently, there are 11 ,509 active Disabled Veteran Wheelchair license plates in Florida.12 

Paralyzed Veterans of America License plate 
Anyone who owns or leases a vehicle that resides in Florida and is a member of the Paralyzed 
Veterans of America can apply for a Paralyzed Veterans of America license plate, by paying the 
appropriate fees along with proof of membership. 13 

7 s. 316.1964(7), F.S. 
8 s. 316.1964(8), F.S. 
9 s. 320.084(1), F.S. 
10 Email from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles on file with the House Highway and Water Safety 
Subcommittee (Oct. 9, 2015). 
11 s. 320.0842, F.S. 
12 DHSMV Email, supra note 10. 
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To become a member of the Paralyzed Veterans of America, an individual must: 
• be a citizen of the United States; 
• a veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces whose discharge was other than dishonorable; and 
• have suffered a spinal cord injury as a result of trauma or disease, which results in paralysis of 

more than one limb (the injury or disease onset could have occurred after discharge/retirement from 
military service }. 14 

Currently, there are 59 active Paralyzed Veterans of America license plates in Florida.15 

Effect of Proposed Changes 

The bill clarifies that the exemption for a state, county, municipality, or any agency thereof to not charge 
a parking fee, only applies when the vehicle is transporting the person who has a disability and to 
whom the disabled parking permit or disabled license plate was issued. 

The bill removes a provision that allows an airport that owns, operates, or leases parking facilities, or 
any other parking facility, used for the purpose of air travel, to charge for parking a vehicle displaying a: 
• Disabled Veteran license plate; 
• Disabled Veteran license plate stamped with the international wheelchair symbol; or 
• Paralyzed Veterans of America license plate. 

The bill provides that the governing body of each publicly owned or publicly operated airport must grant 
free parking to a vehicle displaying a: 
• Disabled Veterans license plate; 
• Disabled Veteran license plate stamped with the international wheelchair symbol; or 
• Paralyzed Veterans of America license plate. 

The bill also adds vehicles displaying the Disabled Veteran license plate stamped with the international 
wheelchair symbol or the Paralyzed Veterans of America license plate to the list of vehicles that may 
not be charged for parking by a county, municipality, or any agency thereof, in a facility or lot that 
provides timed parking spaces outside of certain conditions. 

B. SECTION DIRECTORY: 

Section 1: 

Section 2: 

Amends s. 316.1964, F.S., requiring the governing body of each publicly owned or 
publicly operated airport to grant free parking to any vehicle displaying specified license 
plates for disabled veterans; clarifying that such license plates, rather than "DV" license 
plates, are exempt from certain parking fees charged by a county, municipality, or an 
agency thereof; making technical changes. 

Provides an effective date of July 1, 2016. 

II. FISCAL ANALYSIS & ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

A. FISCAL IMPACT ON STATE GOVERNMENT: 

13 s. 320.0845, F.S. 
14 Paralyzed Veterans of America, Membership Information, 
http:/ /www.pva.org/site/c.ajiRK9NJLcJ2E/b.6305541/k.57F9/Membership _Information.htm (last visited October 9, 20 15) 
15 DHSMV Email, supra note 10. 
STORAGE NAME: h0235.HWSS.DOCX PAGE: 4 
DATE: 10/13/2015 



1. Revenues: 

None 

2. Expenditures: 

None 

B. FISCAL IMPACT ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS: 

1. Revenues: 

The bill could have a negative but indeterminate fiscal impact on local governments. 

2. Expenditures: 

None 

C. DIRECT ECONOMIC IMPACT ON PRIVATE SECTOR: 

A vehicle displaying a disabled veterans license plate, disabled veteran license plate stamped with the 
international wheelchair symbol, or Paralyzed Veterans of America license plate may not be charged 
for parking in an airport facility and may not be charged a fee for parking in a county or municipality 
parking facility or lot that provides timed parking spaces outside of certain conditions. 

D. FISCAL COMMENTS: 

None 

Ill. COMMENTS 

A. CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES: 

1. Applicability of Municipality/County Mandates Provision: 

The bill does not require a municipality or county to expend funds or to take any action requiring the 
expenditure of funds. The bill does not reduce the authority that municipalities or counties have to raise 
revenues in the aggregate. The bill does not require a reduction of the percentage of state tax shared 
with municipalities or counties. 

2. Other: 

None 

B. RULE-MAKING AUTHORITY: 

None 

C. DRAFTING ISSUES OR OTHER COMMENTS: 

None 

IV. AMENDMENTS/ COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE CHANGES 
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F L 0 R D A H 0 U S E 0 F R E P R E S E N T A T I V E S 

HB 235 2016 

1 A bill to be entitled 

2 An act relating to parking for disabled veterans; 

3 amending s. 316.1964, F.S.; requiring the governing 

4 body of each publicly owned or publicly operated 

5 airport to grant free parking to any vehicle 

6 displaying specified license plates for disabled 

7 veterans; clarifying that such license plates, rather 

8 than "DV" license plates, are exempt from certain 

9 parking fees charged by a county, municipality, or an 

10 agency thereof; making technical changes; providing an 

11 effective date. 

12 

13 Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida: 

14 

15 Section 1. Subsections ( 1) , ( 7) , and ( 8) of section 

16 316.1964, Florida Statutes, are amended to read: 

17 316.1964 Exemption of vehicles transporting certain 

18 persons who have disabilities from payment of parking fees and 

19 penalties.-

20 (1) A state agency, county, municipality, or any agency 

21 thereof, may not exact any fee for parking on the public streets 

22 or highways or in any metered parking space from the driver of a 

2 3 vehicle that displays_:_ 

24 ~ A disabled parking permit or a license plate issued 

25 under s. 316.1958 or s. 320.0848; or 

26 ~ A license plate issued under s. 320.084, s. 320.0842, 
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F L 0 R D A H 0 U S E 0 F R E P R E S E N T A T I V E S 

HB 235 

27 s. 320.0843, or s. 320.0845. 

28 

29 Such exemptions apply only if the vehicle is transporting the 

30 person who has a disability and to whom the disabled parking 

31 permit or license plate was issued. 

32 (7) An airport that owns, operates, or leases parking 

33 facilities, or any other parking facilities that are used for 

2016 

34 the purpose of air travel, may charge for parking vehicles that 

35 display a disabled parking permit or license tag issued under s. 

36 316.1958, s. 320.084, s. 320.0842, s. 320.0843, s. 320.0845, or 

37 s. 320.0848. However, the governing body of each publicly owned 

38 or publicly operated airport must grant free parking to a any 

39 vehicle: 

40 (a) Displaying a license plate for disabled veterans 

41 issued under s. 320.084, s. 320.0842, or s. 320.0845; 

42 JQl With specialized equipment, such as ramps, lifts, or 

43 

44 

45 

46 

47 

48 

49 

50 

foot or hand controls, er for use utilization by a person who 

has a disability~ or 

~ vvhose vehicle is Displaying the Florida Toll Exemption 

permit. 

(8) Notwithstanding subsection (1), a county, 

municipality, or any agency thereof may charge for parking in a 

facility or lot that provides timed parking spaces any vehicle 

that displays a disabled parking permit, except for a vehicle: 

51 ffiat 

52 J...§l_ any vehicle With specialized equipment, such as ramps, 
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HB 235 

53 lifts, or foot or hand controls, for use by a person who has a 

54 disability~7 

55 (b) or any vehiele that is Displaying a the "DV" license 

56 plate for disabled veterans issued under s. 320.084~ 

57 320.0842, or s. 320.0845; or 

58 (c) Displaying the Florida Toll Exemption permit~ 

59 oreHtpt froHt any parking fees. 

60 Section 2. This act shall take effect July 1, 2016. 
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