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SUMMARY ANALYSIS 

The bill amends various statutory provisions relating to transportation. In summary, the bill: 

 Requires the Florida Transportation Commission to establish and adjust the salary of the Secretary of 
Transportation based on a market analysis of the salaries of comparatively skilled individuals. 

 Sets the minimum salary of the Secretary of Transportation at $180,000 per year. 

 Extends the length of time certain competitive solicitations required by the Department of 
Transportation (DOT) are exempt from public records requirements. 

 Authorizes construction vehicles and portable radar speed display units to display flashing blue lights 
under certain circumstances. 

 Authorizes the use of flashing lights on vehicles during periods of extreme low visibility under certain 
circumstances. 

 Clarifies qualification requirements for contractors desiring to bid on DOT contracts in excess of $50 
million. 

 Requires contractors seeking DOT certification as qualified to bid on certain projects to submit specified 
financial statements. 

 Revises liability provisions for DOT contractors under certain conditions. 

 Authorizes the Governor, instead of the Secretary of Transportation to suspend tolls in an emergency 
evacuation and requires suspended tolls to be reinstated when certain conditions are met. 

 
DOT may incur additional operating expenditures associated with salary adjustments. The Florida 
Transportation Commission will incur expenditures associated with conducting a market analysis to ascertain 
compensation levels for the Secretary of Transportation. There may be an impact to state and local 
government revenues due to the automatic reinstatement of tolls following an emergency evacuation. See 
Fiscal Analysis for details. 
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FULL ANALYSIS 

I.  SUBSTANTIVE ANALYSIS 
 
A. EFFECT OF PROPOSED CHANGES: 

DOT Executive Salaries 
 
Present Situation 
 
Department of Transportation 
The Department of Transportation (DOT) is created as a decentralized agency, consisting of seven 
geographic districts, the Florida Turnpike Enterprise, and the Florida Rail Enterprise.1 
 
DOT is headed by the Secretary of Transportation, who is appointed by the Governor from among 
three persons nominated by the Florida Transportation Commission (FTC), subject to Senate 
confirmation.2 The Secretary of Transportation must be a proven, effective administrator who by a 
combination of education and experience clearly possesses a broad knowledge of the administrative, 
financial, and technical aspects of the development, operation, and regulation of transportation systems 
and facilities or comparable systems and facilities.3 
 
The Secretary of Transportation may appoint up to three assistant secretaries who are directly 
responsible to the secretary, and who perform such duties as are assigned by the secretary. The 
secretary may delegate to any assistant secretary the authority to act in the absence of the secretary.4 
The Secretary of Transportation and DOT’s assistant secretaries are exempt from the Career Service 
System5 and must be compensated commensurate with their qualifications and competitive with 
compensation for comparable responsibility in the private sector.6 
 
Florida Transportation Commission 
The FTC is a nine-member citizen’s advisory board for DOT. While specifically prohibited from entering 
into DOT’s day to day operations, the FTC: 

 Reviews major transportation policy initiatives or revisions submitted by DOT. 

 Recommends transportation policy to the Governor and Legislature. 

 Serves as an oversight body for DOT. 

 Serves as an oversight body for statutorily-created transportation authorities. 7 
 

Secretary of Transportation Compensation 
Rule 60L-32.001, F.A.C., states that “upon appointment, an agency shall set an employee’s base rate 
of pay within the pay band for the broadband level to which appointed.” In the State Personnel System, 
most agency heads are in Pay Band 25, with a salary range of $68,135.86 - $318,327.74. While the 
broad-banding system is the State Personnel System’s official classification/compensation system, for 
planning and budgeting purposes the Legislature and the Office of Policy and Budget use the state’s 
former pay grade system. Under the former pay grade system, Pay Grade 95, which is associated with 
the most agency heads, including the Secretary of Transportation, has salary a range of $77,470.12 - 
$184,557.21.8 However, unless a specific salary is set by law or in the General Appropriations Act, the 
salaries of agency heads are determined by the appointing person or entity.9 
 

                                                           
1 Section 20.23(4)(a), F.S. 
2 Section 20.23(1)(a), F.S. 
3 Section 20.23(1)(b), F.S. 
4 Section 20.23(1)(d), F.S. 
5 Part III of Ch. 110, F.S. 
6 Section 20.23(1)(e), F.S. 
7 Section 20.23(2), F.S. FTC website, http://www.ftc.state.fl.us/aboutus.shtm (Last visited Jan. 22, 2020). 
8 Exceptions include the Chancellor of the Board of Governors, the Executive Director of the Department of Citrus, and the State 

Surgeon General. 
9 Email from Andrew Forst, Deputy Legislative Affairs Director, Department of Management Services, RE: HB 395-Transportation 

(Oct. 25, 2019). 
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The Secretary of Transportation’s current salary is $142,500 per year.10 
 

Effect of the Bill 
The bill requires that the Secretary of Transportation and any assistant secretaries be compensated 
commensurate with his or her qualification and competitive with compensation for persons with 
comparable responsibility in both other public sector organizations and the private sector. 
 
The bill requires the FTC to establish and adjust the Secretary of Transportation’s salary according to a 
market analysis focused on comparably skilled individuals in other public sector organizations11 and on 
comparably skilled individuals in the private sector. The market analysis must serve as a basis for 
ascertaining compensation levels required to retain the Secretary of Transportation in the position 
within DOT and to attract external individuals whose talents can fulfill DOT’s mission and effect change. 
This market analysis must be updated before the appointment of a new Secretary of Transportation. 
 
The bill also sets the minimum salary for the Secretary of Transportation at $180,000 per year. 
 
DOT Competitive Solicitations-Public Records Exemption 
 
Present Situation 

 
Public Records 
Article I, s. 24(a) of the State Constitution sets forth the state’s public policy regarding access to 
government records. This section guarantees every person a right to inspect or copy any public record 
of the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of government. The Legislature, however, may 
provide by general law, for the exemption of records from the requirements of Article I, section 24(a).12 
The general law must only contain such exemptions and state with specificity the public necessity 
justifying the exemption13 and must be no more broad than necessary to accomplish its purpose.14 
 
Public policy regarding access to government records is addressed further in the Florida Statutes. 
Section 119.07(1), F.S., guarantees every person a right to inspect and copy any state, county, or 
municipal record. Furthermore, the Open Government Sunset Review Act15 provides that a public 
record or public meeting exemption may be created or maintained only if it serves an identifiable public 
purpose. In addition, it may be no broader than is necessary to meet one of the following purposes: 

 Allow the state or its political subdivisions to effectively and efficiently administer a 
governmental program, which administration would be significantly impaired without the 
exemption. 

 Protect sensitive personal information that, if released, would be defamatory or would 
jeopardize an individual’s safety; however, only the identity of an individual may be exempted 
under this provision. 

 Protect trade or business secrets.16 
 
Section 119.071(1), F.S., provides general exemptions from the inspection or copying of public records, 
including an exemption for sealed bids, proposals, or replies received by an agency17 pursuant to a 

                                                           
10 Florida Has A Right to Know, State Employee’s Salaries: Available at: 

https://salaries.myflorida.com/?utf8=%E2%9C%93&by_name=Thibault&by_agency=FL+Dept+of+Transportation&by_class_code=

&min_salary=0&max_salary=317200 (Last visited Dec. 9, 2019). 
11 These public sector organizations, include, but are not limited to, expressway authorities, aviation authorities, and port authorities. 
12 Art. I, s. 24(c), Fla. Const. 
13 This portion of a public record exemption is commonly referred to as a “public necessity statement.” 
14 Art. I, s. 24(c), Fla. Const. 
15 Section 119.15, F.S. 
16 Section 119.15(6)(b), F.S. 
17 Section 119.011(2), F.S., defines the term “agency” as any state, county, district, authority, or municipal officer, department, 

division, board, bureau, commission, or other separate unit of government created or established by law including, for the purposes of 

this chapter, the Commission on Ethics, the Public Service Commission, and the Office of Public Counsel, and any other public or 

private agency, person, partnership, corporation, or business entity acting on behalf of any public agency. 
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competitive solicitation18 until such time as the agency provides notice of an intended decision or until 
30 days after opening the bids, proposals, or final replies, whichever is earlier.19 
 
DOT’s Competitive Solicitation Authority 
Section 337.11, F.S., authorizes DOT to enter into contracts for the construction and maintenance of all 
roads placed under its supervision. DOT may also enter into contracts for the construction and 
maintenance of various structures used in connection with such facilities.20 The statute provides 
requirements for contracts that DOT may enter into, including requirements for advertisement, the 
awarding of contracts, bid protests, design-build contracts, supplemental agreements, and certain 
required provisions in this contract. However, s. 337.11, F.S., does not contain a separate public 
records exemption for the documents required for competitive solicitations. 

 
Effect of the Bill 
The bill amends s. 119.071(1)(b)2., F.S., providing that DOT’s competitive solicitations under s. 337.11, 
F.S., are exempt from public records requirements until 90 days, instead of the current 30 days, after 
opening the bids, proposals, or final replies, whichever is earlier. 
 
Display of Blue Lights 
 
Present Situation 
Florida law prohibits blue lights on any vehicle or equipment, except police vehicles, and vehicles of the 
Department of Corrections or any county correctional agency when responding to emergencies.21 
 
Road or street maintenance equipment, road or street maintenance vehicles, road service vehicles, 
refuse collection vehicles, petroleum tankers, and mail carrier vehicles are authorized to display amber 
lights when in operation or a hazard exists.22 Additionally, road maintenance and construction 
equipment and vehicles may display flashing white lights or flashing white strobe lights when in 
operation and where a hazard exists.23 

 
Effect of the Bill 
The bill authorizes construction vehicles within a work zone on roadways with a posted speed limit of 
55 miles per hour or more to use flashing blue lights in conjunction with paving operations or where a 
hazard exists. 
 
The bill also authorizes portable radar speed display units in advance of a work zone on roadways with 
a posted speed limit of 55 miles per hour or more to show or display flashing red or blue lights when 
workers are present. 
 
Flashing Lights on Vehicles 
 
Present Situation 
Flashing lights are prohibited on vehicles except: 

 As a means of indicating a right or left turn, to change lanes, or to indicate that the vehicle is 
lawfully stopped or disabled upon the highway; 

 When a motorist intermittently flashes his or her vehicle’s headlamps at an oncoming vehicle 
notwithstanding the motorist’s intent for doing so; and 

 For various lamps authorized in statute, which may flash.24 
 

                                                           
18 Section 119.071(1)(b)1., F.S. defines the term “competitive solicitation” as a process of requesting and receiving sealed bids, 

proposals, or replies in accordance with the terms of a competitive process, regardless of the method of procurement. 
19 Section 119.071(1)(b)2., F.S. 
20 Section 337.11(1), F.S. 
21 Section 316.2397(2), F.S. 
22 Section 316.2397(4), F.S. 
23 Section 316.2397(5), F.S. 
24 Section 316.2397(2), F.S. 
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A violation is a noncriminal traffic infraction, punishable as a nonmoving violation. The statutory base 
fine is $30, but with additional fees and surcharges, the total fine is up to $108.25 
 
With the exception of funeral processions,26 Florida law does not expressly authorize the use of hazard 
lights in moving vehicles. The Florida Driver Handbook indicates you should not use your emergency 
flashers in instances of low visibility or rain, and may only be used when a vehicle is broken down or 
stopped on the side of the road.27 
 
Effect of the Bill 
The bill authorizes the use of flashing lights during periods of extreme low visibility on roadways with a 
posted speed limit of 55 hours or more. This provision effectively authorizes the use of hazard lights on 
moving vehicles under specified circumstances. 
 
DOT Application for Qualification 
 
Present Situation 
Any contractor desiring to bid for the performance of any construction contract in excess of $250,000 
which DOT proposes to let must first be certified by DOT as qualified pursuant to s. 337.14, F.S., and 
DOT’s rules.28, 29 
 
Any contractor who is not qualified and in good standing with DOT as of January 1, 2019, and desires 
to bid on contracts in excess of $50 million must have satisfactorily completed two projects, each in 
excess of $15 million, for DOT or for any other state department of transportation.30 
 
Each application for certification must be accompanied by the applying contractor’s latest annual 
financial statement, which must have been completed within the last 12 months. If the application or the 
annual financial statement shows the applying contractor’s financial condition more than four months 
prior to the date on which DOT receives the application, the applying contractor must also submit an 
interim financial statement and an updated application. The interim financial statement must cover the 
period from the end date of the annual statement and must show the financial condition of the applying 
contractor no more than four months prior to the date that DOT receives the interim financial statement. 
Each required annual or interim financial statement must be audited and accompanied by the opinion of 
a certified public accountant.31 
 
Effect of the Bill 
The bill provides that any contractor who desires to bid on contracts in excess of $50 million must, in 
addition to have successfully completed two projects, each in excess of $15 million for DOT or another 
state transportation department, must also first be certified by DOT as qualified. 
 
The bill requires each application for certification to be accompanied by audited, certified financial 
statements prepared in accordance with United States generally accepted accounting principles and 
United States generally accepted auditing standards by a certified public accountant licensed in this 
state or another state. The applying contractor’s audited, certified financial statements must be 
specifically for the applying contractor and must have been prepared within the immediately preceding 
12 months. DOT may not consider any financial information relating to the parent entity of the applying 
contractor, if any. DOT may not certify as qualified any applying contractor that fails to submit the 
required audited, certified financial statements. 

                                                           
25 Florida Association of Clerks and Comptrollers; 2019 Distribution Schedule of Court Related Filing Fees, Service Charges, Costs 

and Fines, including a Fee Schedule for Recording-Effective July 1, 2019. p. 21. Available at: 

https://cdn.ymaws.com/www.flclerks.com/resource/resmgr/advisories/advisories_2019/19bull053_Attach_1_2019_Dist.pdf (last 

visited Nov. 8, 2019). 
26 Section 316.1974(3)(c), F.S. 
27 Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, 2018 Florida Driver Handbook, available at: 

https://www3.flhsmv.gov/handbooks/englishdriverhandbook.pdf (last visited Oct. 30, 2019). 
28 DOT’s rules regarding qualifications to bid are contained in Ch. 14-22, F.A.C. 
29 Section 337.14(1), F.S. 
30 Id. 
31 Id. 
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If the application or the annual financial statement shows the applying contractor’s financial condition 
more than four months before the date on which DOT receives the application, the applying contractor 
must also submit interim audited, certified financial statements prepared in accordance with United 
States generally accepted accounting and auditing principles and standards. Financial statements must 
be prepared by a certified public accountant licensed in this state or another state. 

 
Limits of Liability 
 
Present Situation 
Under Florida law, a contractor who constructs, maintains, or repairs a transportation facility for DOT is 
not liable for personal injury, property damage, or death arising from the performance of the 
construction, maintenance, or repair if, at the time of the incident, the contractor was in compliance with 
contract documents material to the condition that was the proximate cause of the incident.32 
 
This limitation on liability does not apply when the proximate cause of the incident is a latent condition, 
defect, error, or omission that was created by the contractor and not a defect, error, or omission in the 
contract documents; or when the proximate cause of the personal injury, property damage, or death 
was the contractor’s failure to perform, update, or comply with the maintenance of the traffic safety plan 
as required by the contract documents.33 
 
DOT’s Contractor Past Performance Rating (CPPR) regime tracks various categories of a contractor’s 
performance during the course of a construction project, including the contractor’s conformance with 
contract documents.34, 35 This regime is not set forth in statute, but in DOT’s procedures. Categories 
tracked in DOT’s CPPR regime include: the number of performance deficiency letters issued; whether 
active progress is being made with sufficient labor, materials, and equipment; effectiveness in 
minimizing impacts to the traveling public; timely and complete submission of documents; timely 
completion of the project; success in mitigating costs and time overruns; conformance with contract 
documents; and the utilization of disadvantaged business enterprises.36 

 
Effect of the Bill 
The bill provides that in all incidents involving personal injury, property damage or death, a contractor 
who constructs, maintains, or repairs transportation facilities for DOT is not liable for personal injury, 
property damage, or death arising from the contractor’s performance if, at the time of the incident, the 
contractor was in compliance with contract documents material to the condition that was the proximate 
cause of the personal injury, property damage, or death. This limitation on liability applies when, at the 
time of the incident, the contractor is deemed in compliance with the contract and DOT’s CPPR 
indicates conformance with the contract documents. 
 
This change appears to limit a contractor’s liability for DOT projects if the contractor is deemed in 
compliance with the contract and DOT’s CPPR indicates conformance with the contract documents at 
the time of the incident. 
 
Suspension of Tolls 
 
Present Situation 
 
Payment of Tolls 
With limited exceptions, the payment of tolls is required for the use of toll facilities.37 One exception is 
that the Secretary of Transportation, or his or her designee, may suspend tolls when necessary to 

                                                           
32 Section 337.195(2), F.S. 
33 Section 337.195(2)(a), F.S. 
34 This regime is described in DOT Form 700-101-25, which is incorporated by reference into rule 14-22.003, F.A.C. 
35 Department of Transportation, Agency Analysis of 2019 House Bill 395 p. 3. 
36 DOT Form 700-010-25 (Copy on file with Transportation & Infrastructure Subcommittee). 
37 Section 338.155(1)(a), F.S. 
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assist in an emergency evacuation.38 However, there is no statutory guidance as to when the 
suspended toll must be reinstated. 
 
State Emergency Operations Center 
The Division of Emergency Management (DEM), within the Executive Office of the Governor, operates 
the State Emergency Operations Center (EOC) as the central clearinghouse for disaster-related 
information, and requests for deployment of assistance. The EOC has the following statewide levels 
activation: 

 Level 1-Full scale activation, the EOC is staffed with DEM personnel and all emergency support 
functions. 

 Level 2-Activation of State Emergency Response Team, all primary emergency support 
functions are notified and the EOC is staffed with DEM personnel and necessary emergency 
support functions. 

 Level 3-Monitoring Activation-This is a monitoring phase with the EOC staffed with State 
Warning Point Communications and DEM staff.39 

 
Effect of the Bill 
The bill transfers to the Governor, from the Secretary of Transportation, the authority to suspend tolls to 
assist in emergency evacuations. The bill requires tolls to be automatically reinstated when the county 
in which such tolls are collected resumes a Level 3 activation at the State Emergency Operations 
Center. The Governor may override the automatic reinstatement in extraordinary circumstances. 

 
B. SECTION DIRECTORY: 

Section 1 amends s. 20.23, F.S., relating to the Department of Transportation. 
 
Section 2 amends s. 119.071, F.S., providing general exemptions from the inspection or copying of 
public records. 
 
Section 3 amends s. 316.2397, F.S., providing that certain lights are prohibited. 
 
Section 4 amends s. 337.146, F.S., providing for applications for qualification and certificates of 
qualification. 
 
Section 5 amends s. 338.155, F.S., requiring the payment of tolls. 
 
Section 6 provides an effective date of July 1, 2020. 
 

II.  FISCAL ANALYSIS & ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
 

A. FISCAL IMPACT ON STATE GOVERNMENT: 
 
1. Revenues: 

Indeterminate. There may be a change in state toll revenues associated with provisions related to 
the automatic reinstatement of tolls. However, since the suspension of tolling is authorized during 
emergency evacuations, the impact on state revenues is indeterminate and cannot be quantified. 
 

2. Expenditures: 

Indeterminate. According to DOT, there will be an indeterminate increase in expenditures 
associated with minimum salary requirements for the Secretary of Transportation, which will require 
additional budget authority and salary rate. Additionally, the FTC will need additional budget 

                                                           
38 Section 338.155(1)(b), F.S. 
39 Florida Division of Emergency Management Website, EOC Activation Levels, https://www.floridadisaster.org/sert/eoc-activation-

levels/ (Last visited Oct. 25, 2019). 
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authority in order to conduct the required salary analysis, due to insufficient resources to redirect 
base budget from its other core mission tasks.40 
 

B. FISCAL IMPACT ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS: 
 
1. Revenues: 

Indeterminate. Local toll agencies may experience a change in toll revenues associated with 
provisions related to the automatic reinstatement of tolls. However, since the suspension of tolling is 
authorized during emergency evacuations, the impact on local government revenues is 
indeterminate and cannot be quantified. 
 

2. Expenditures: 

This bill does not appear to impact local government expenditures. 
 

C. DIRECT ECONOMIC IMPACT ON PRIVATE SECTOR: 

None. 
 

D. FISCAL COMMENTS: 

None. 
 

III.  COMMENTS 
 

A. CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES: 
 

 1. Applicability of Municipality/County Mandates Provision: 

Not applicable. This bill does not appear to require counties or municipalities to spend funds or take 
action requiring the expenditure of funds; reduce the authority that counties or municipalities have to 
raise revenues in the aggregate; or reduce the percentage of state tax shared with counties or 
municipalities. 
 

 2. Other: 

Public Records 
As previously stated, Article I, s. 24(a) of the State Constitution sets forth the state’s public policy 
regarding access to government records. This section guarantees every person a right to inspect or 
copy any public record of the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of government. The 
Legislature, however, may provide by general law, for the exemption of records from the 
requirements of Article I, section 24(a).41 The general law must only contain such exemptions and 
state with specificity the public necessity justifying the exemption42 and must be no more broad than 
necessary to accomplish its purpose.43 

 
Section 2 of the bill expands an existing public records exemption for certain documents related to 
competitive solicitations. Therefore, this provision must be in a separate bill and requires a 2/3 vote 
of each chamber of the Legislature for passage. 
 

B. RULE-MAKING AUTHORITY: 

DOT may need to amend Rule 14-22, F.A.C., regarding qualifications to bid on construction projects to 
incorporate changes made in the bill. 

 

                                                           
40 Department of Transportation, Agency Analysis of 2020 House Bill 395, p. 5, January 8, 2020. 
41 Art. I, s. 24(c), Fla. Const. 
42 This portion of a public record exemption is commonly referred to as a “public necessity statement.” 
43 Art. I, s. 24(c), Fla. Const. 
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C. DRAFTING ISSUES OR OTHER COMMENTS: 

Drafting Issues 
The requirement that the FTC establish and adjust the Secretary of Transportation’s salary is effective 
upon this act becoming law. However, the bill’s effective date only provides that the bill is effective July 
1, 2020; and does not make any provision for the other effective date. To incorporate this change into 
Florida Statutes, a direction to the Division of Law Revision may be needed and the effective date of 
the bill may need to be amended. 
 
Other Comments: Emergency Operations Center Activation Levels 
The bill contemplates that the state EOC’s activation levels are on a county level; however the state 
EOC operates its activation levels on a statewide basis. It is not clear how this will impact the toll 
reinstatement provisions of the bill. 

IV.  AMENDMENTS/ COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE CHANGES 

None. 
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necessary to assist emergency evacuation; providing 26 

for automatic reinstatement of tolls; authorizing the 27 

Governor to override the automatic reinstatement in 28 

extraordinary circumstances; providing an effective 29 

date. 30 

 31 

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida: 32 

 33 

 Section 1.  Subsection (1) of section 20.23, Florida 34 

Statutes, is amended to read: 35 

 20.23  Department of Transportation.—There is created a 36 

Department of Transportation which shall be a decentralized 37 

agency. 38 

 (1)(a)  The head of the Department of Transportation is the 39 

Secretary of Transportation. The secretary shall be appointed by 40 

the Governor from among three persons nominated by the Florida 41 

Transportation Commission and shall be subject to confirmation 42 

by the Senate. The secretary shall serve at the pleasure of the 43 

Governor. 44 

 (b)  The secretary shall be a proven, effective 45 

administrator who, by a combination of education and experience, 46 

shall clearly possesses possess a broad knowledge of the 47 

administrative, financial, and technical aspects of the 48 

development, operation, and regulation of transportation systems 49 

and facilities or comparable systems and facilities. 50 
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 (c)  The secretary shall provide to the Florida 51 

Transportation Commission or its staff, such assistance, 52 

information, and documents as are requested by the commission or 53 

its staff to enable the commission to fulfill its duties and 54 

responsibilities. 55 

 (d)  The secretary may appoint up to three assistant 56 

secretaries who shall be directly responsible to the secretary 57 

and who shall perform such duties as are assigned by the 58 

secretary. The secretary shall designate to an assistant 59 

secretary the duties related to enhancing economic prosperity, 60 

including, but not limited to, the responsibility of liaison 61 

with the head of economic development in the Executive Office of 62 

the Governor. Such assistant secretary shall be directly 63 

responsible for providing the Executive Office of the Governor 64 

with investment opportunities and transportation projects that 65 

expand the state's role as a global hub for trade and investment 66 

and enhance the supply chain system in the state to process, 67 

assemble, and ship goods to markets throughout the eastern 68 

United States, Canada, the Caribbean, and Latin America. The 69 

secretary may delegate to any assistant secretary the authority 70 

to act in the absence of the secretary. 71 

 (a)(e)  The Any secretary appointed after July 5, 1989, and 72 

the assistant secretaries are shall be exempt from the 73 

provisions of part III of chapter 110 and shall receive 74 

compensation commensurate with their qualifications and 75 
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competitive with compensation for comparable responsibility in 76 

other public sector organizations and in the private sector. 77 

 (b)  Upon this act becoming a law, the Florida 78 

Transportation Commission shall establish and adjust the salary 79 

of the secretary according to a market analysis focused on 80 

comparably skilled individuals in other public sector 81 

organizations, including, but not limited to, expressway 82 

authorities, aviation authorities, and port authorities, and on 83 

comparably skilled individuals in the private sector. The market 84 

analysis shall serve as a basis for ascertaining compensation 85 

levels required to retain the secretary in the position within 86 

the department and to attract external individuals whose talents 87 

can fulfill the department's mission and effect change. Such 88 

market analysis shall be updated before the appointment of a new 89 

secretary. The salary of the secretary shall be a minimum of 90 

$180,000 per year. 91 

 Section 2.  Paragraph (b) of subsection (1) of section 92 

119.071, Florida Statutes, is amended to read: 93 

 119.071  General exemptions from inspection or copying of 94 

public records.— 95 

 (1)  AGENCY ADMINISTRATION.— 96 

 (b)1.  For purposes of this paragraph, "competitive 97 

solicitation" means the process of requesting and receiving 98 

sealed bids, proposals, or replies in accordance with the terms 99 

of a competitive process, regardless of the method of 100 
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procurement. 101 

 2.  Sealed bids, proposals, or replies received by an 102 

agency pursuant to a competitive solicitation are exempt from s. 103 

119.07(1) and s. 24(a), Art. I of the State Constitution until 104 

such time as the agency provides notice of an intended decision 105 

or until 30 days, or 90 days for a competitive solicitation 106 

under s. 337.11, after opening the bids, proposals, or final 107 

replies, whichever is earlier. 108 

 3.  If an agency rejects all bids, proposals, or replies 109 

submitted in response to a competitive solicitation and the 110 

agency concurrently provides notice of its intent to reissue the 111 

competitive solicitation, the rejected bids, proposals, or 112 

replies remain exempt from s. 119.07(1) and s. 24(a), Art. I of 113 

the State Constitution until such time as the agency provides 114 

notice of an intended decision concerning the reissued 115 

competitive solicitation or until the agency withdraws the 116 

reissued competitive solicitation. A bid, proposal, or reply is 117 

not exempt for longer than 12 months after the initial agency 118 

notice rejecting all bids, proposals, or replies. 119 

 Section 3.  Subsections (2) and (7) of section 316.2397, 120 

Florida Statutes, are amended to read: 121 

 316.2397  Certain lights prohibited; exceptions.— 122 

 (2)  It is expressly prohibited for any vehicle or 123 

equipment, except police vehicles, to show or display blue 124 

lights, except that: 125 
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 (a)  Police vehicles may show or display blue lights. 126 

 (b)  However, Vehicles owned, operated, or leased by the 127 

Department of Corrections or any county correctional agency may 128 

show or display blue lights when responding to emergencies. 129 

 (c)  Construction vehicles within a work zone on roadways 130 

with a posted speed limit of 55 miles per hour or more may show 131 

or display flashing blue lights in conjunction with paving 132 

operations or where a hazard exists. 133 

 (d)  Portable radar speed display units in advance of a 134 

work zone on roadways with a posted speed limit of 55 miles per 135 

hour or more may show or display flashing red and blue lights 136 

when workers are present. 137 

 (7)  Flashing lights are prohibited on vehicles except: 138 

 (a)  As a means of indicating a right or left turn, to 139 

change lanes, or to indicate that the vehicle is lawfully 140 

stopped or disabled upon the highway; 141 

 (b)  When a motorist intermittently flashes his or her 142 

vehicle's headlamps at an oncoming vehicle notwithstanding the 143 

motorist's intent for doing so; 144 

 (c)  During periods of extreme low visibility on roadways 145 

with a posted speed limit of 55 miles per hour or more; and 146 

 (d)(c)  For the lamps authorized under subsections (1), 147 

(2), (3), (4), (5), and (9), s. 316.2065, or s. 316.235(6) which 148 

may flash. 149 

 Section 4.  Subsection (1) of section 337.14, Florida 150 
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Statutes, is amended to read: 151 

 337.14  Application for qualification; certificate of 152 

qualification; restrictions; request for hearing.— 153 

 (1)  Any contractor desiring to bid for the performance of 154 

any construction contract in excess of $250,000 which the 155 

department proposes to let must first be certified by the 156 

department as qualified pursuant to this section and rules of 157 

the department. The rules of the department must address the 158 

qualification of contractors to bid on construction contracts in 159 

excess of $250,000 and must include requirements with respect to 160 

the equipment, past record, experience, financial resources, and 161 

organizational personnel of the applying contractor which are 162 

necessary to perform the specific class of work for which the 163 

contractor seeks certification. Any contractor who desires to 164 

bid on contracts in excess of $50 million and is not qualified 165 

and in good standing with the department as of January 1, 2019, 166 

must first be certified by the department as qualified and 167 

desires to bid on contracts in excess of $50 million must have 168 

satisfactorily completed two projects, each in excess of $15 169 

million, for the department or for any other state department of 170 

transportation. The department may limit the dollar amount of 171 

any contract upon which a contractor is qualified to bid or the 172 

aggregate total dollar volume of contracts such contractor is 173 

allowed to have under contract at any one time. Each applying 174 

contractor seeking qualification to bid on construction 175 
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contracts in excess of $250,000 shall furnish the department a 176 

statement under oath, on such forms as the department may 177 

prescribe, setting forth detailed information as required on the 178 

application. Each application for certification must be 179 

accompanied by audited, certified financial statements prepared 180 

in accordance with United States generally accepted accounting 181 

principles and United States generally accepted auditing 182 

standards by a certified public accountant licensed by this 183 

state or another state the latest annual financial statement of 184 

the applying contractor completed within the last 12 months. The 185 

audited, certified financial statements must be for the applying 186 

contractor specifically and must have been prepared within the 187 

immediately preceding 12 months. The department may not consider 188 

any financial information relating to the parent entity of the 189 

applying contractor, if any. The department shall not certify as 190 

qualified any applying contractor that fails to submit the 191 

audited, certified financial statements required by this 192 

subsection. If the application or the annual financial statement 193 

shows the financial condition of the applying contractor more 194 

than 4 months before prior to the date on which the application 195 

is received by the department, the applying contractor must also 196 

submit interim audited, certified financial statements prepared 197 

in accordance with United States generally accepted accounting 198 

principles and United States generally accepted auditing 199 

standards by a certified public accountant licensed by this 200 
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state or another state an interim financial statement and an 201 

updated application must be submitted. The interim financial 202 

statements statement must cover the period from the end date of 203 

the annual statement and must show the financial condition of 204 

the applying contractor no more than 4 months before prior to 205 

the date that the interim financial statements are statement is 206 

received by the department. However, upon the request of the 207 

applying contractor, an application and accompanying annual or 208 

interim financial statements statement received by the 209 

department within 15 days after either 4-month period under this 210 

subsection shall be considered timely. Each required annual or 211 

interim financial statement must be audited and accompanied by 212 

the opinion of a certified public accountant. An applying 213 

contractor desiring to bid exclusively for the performance of 214 

construction contracts with proposed budget estimates of less 215 

than $1 million may submit reviewed annual or reviewed interim 216 

financial statements prepared by a certified public accountant. 217 

The information required by this subsection is confidential and 218 

exempt from s. 119.07(1). The department shall act upon the 219 

application for qualification within 30 days after the 220 

department determines that the application is complete. The 221 

department may waive the requirements of this subsection for 222 

projects having a contract price of $500,000 or less if the 223 

department determines that the project is of a noncritical 224 

nature and the waiver will not endanger public health, safety, 225 
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or property. 226 

 Section 5.  Subsection (2) of section 337.195, Florida 227 

Statutes, is amended to read: 228 

 337.195  Limits on liability.— 229 

 (2)  In all cases involving personal injury, property 230 

damage, or death, a contractor who constructs, maintains, or 231 

repairs a highway, road, street, bridge, or other transportation 232 

facility for the Department of Transportation is not liable to a 233 

claimant for personal injury, property damage, or death arising 234 

from the performance of the construction, maintenance, or repair 235 

if, at the time of the personal injury, property damage, or 236 

death, the contractor was in compliance with contract documents 237 

material to the condition that was the proximate cause of the 238 

personal injury, property damage, or death. 239 

 (a)  The limitation on liability contained in this 240 

subsection applies when the contractor is deemed in compliance 241 

with the contract and the Department of Transportation 242 

Contractor's Past Performance Rating (CPPR) indicates 243 

conformance with the contract documents at the time of the 244 

personal injury, property damage, or death. 245 

 (b)(a)  The limitation on liability contained in this 246 

subsection does not apply when the proximate cause of the 247 

personal injury, property damage, or death is a latent 248 

condition, defect, error, or omission that was created by the 249 

contractor and not a defect, error, or omission in the contract 250 



   

 

HB 395  2020 

 

 

 

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions. 

hb0395-00 

Page 11 of 12 

F L O R I D A  H O U S E  O F  R E P R E S E N T A T I V E S 

 

 

 

documents; or when the proximate cause of the personal injury, 251 

property damage, or death was the contractor's failure to 252 

perform, update, or comply with the maintenance of the traffic 253 

safety plan as required by the contract documents. 254 

 (c)(b)  Nothing in This subsection does not relieve shall 255 

be interpreted or construed as relieving the contractor of any 256 

obligation to provide the Department of Transportation with 257 

written notice of any apparent error or omission in the contract 258 

documents. 259 

 (d)(c)  Nothing in This subsection does not shall be 260 

interpreted or construed to alter or affect any claim of the 261 

Department of Transportation against such contractor. 262 

 (e)(d)  This subsection does not affect any claim of any 263 

entity against such contractor, which claim is associated with 264 

such entity's facilities on or in Department of Transportation 265 

roads or other transportation facilities. 266 

 Section 6.  Paragraph (b) of subsection (1) of section 267 

338.155, Florida Statutes, is amended to read: 268 

 338.155  Payment of toll on toll facilities required; 269 

exemptions.— 270 

 (1) 271 

 (b)  The Governor secretary or the secretary's designee may 272 

suspend the payment of tolls on a toll facility when necessary 273 

to assist in emergency evacuation. Such tolls shall 274 

automatically be reinstated when the county in which such tolls 275 
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are collected resumes a Level 3 activation of the State 276 

Emergency Operations Center. The Governor may override the 277 

automatic reinstatement in extraordinary circumstances. 278 

 Section 7.  This act shall take effect July 1, 2020. 279 
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Committee/Subcommittee hearing bill:  Transportation & 1 

Infrastructure Subcommittee 2 

Representative Andrade offered the following: 3 

 4 

 Amendment (with title amendment) 5 

 Remove everything after the enacting clause and insert: 6 

 Section 1.  Subsection (2) and paragraph (b) of subsection 7 

(55) of section 316.003, Florida Statutes, are amended to read: 8 

 316.003  Definitions.—The following words and phrases, when 9 

used in this chapter, shall have the meanings respectively 10 

ascribed to them in this section, except where the context 11 

otherwise requires: 12 

 (2)  AUTOCYCLE.—A three-wheeled motorcycle that has two 13 

wheels in the front and one wheel in the back; is equipped with 14 

a roll cage or roll hoops, a seat belt for each occupant, 15 

antilock brakes meeting Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 16 



   

 COMMITTEE/SUBCOMMITTEE AMENDMENT 

Bill No. HB 395  (2020) 

Amendment No.  

263101 - h0395-Strike.docx 

 Published On: 1/27/2020 6:48:38 PM 

Page 2 of 20 

      

No. 112, a steering mechanism wheel, and seating that does not 17 

require the operator to straddle or sit astride it; and is 18 

manufactured in accordance with the applicable federal 19 

motorcycle safety standards in 49 C.F.R. part 571 by a 20 

manufacturer registered with the National Highway Traffic Safety 21 

Administration. 22 

 (55)  PERSONAL DELIVERY DEVICE.—An electrically powered 23 

device that: 24 

 (b)  Weighs less than 150 80 pounds, excluding cargo; 25 

 26 

A personal delivery device is not considered a vehicle unless 27 

expressly defined by law as a vehicle. A mobile carrier is not 28 

considered a personal delivery device. 29 

 Section 2.  Subsections (2) and (7) of section 316.2397, 30 

Florida Statutes, are amended to read: 31 

 316.2397  Certain lights prohibited; exceptions.— 32 

 (2)  It is expressly prohibited for any vehicle or 33 

equipment, except police vehicles, to show or display blue 34 

lights, except that: 35 

 (a)  Police vehicles may show or display blue lights. 36 

 (b)  However, Vehicles owned, operated, or leased by the 37 

Department of Corrections or any county correctional agency may 38 

show or display blue lights when responding to emergencies. 39 

 (c)  Portable radar speed display units in advance of a 40 

work zone area on roadways with a posted speed limit of 55 miles 41 
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per hour or more may show or display flashing red and blue 42 

lights when workers are present. 43 

 (7)  Flashing lights are prohibited on vehicles except: 44 

 (a)  As a means of indicating a right or left turn, to 45 

change lanes, or to indicate that the vehicle is lawfully 46 

stopped or disabled upon the highway; 47 

 (b)  When a motorist intermittently flashes his or her 48 

vehicle's headlamps at an oncoming vehicle notwithstanding the 49 

motorist's intent for doing so; 50 

 (c)  During periods of extreme low visibility on roadways 51 

with a posted speed limit of 55 miles per hour or more; and 52 

 (d)(c)  For the lamps authorized under subsections (1), 53 

(2), (3), (4), (5), and (9), s. 316.2065, or s. 316.235(6) which 54 

may flash. 55 

 Section 3.  Subsection (4) of section 316.520, Florida 56 

Statutes, is amended to read: 57 

 316.520  Loads on vehicles.— 58 

 (4)  The provision of subsection (2) requiring covering and 59 

securing the load with a close-fitting tarpaulin or other 60 

appropriate cover does not apply to vehicles carrying 61 

agricultural products locally from a harvest site or to or from 62 

a farm on roads where the posted speed limit is 65 miles per 63 

hour or less and the distance driven on public roads is less 64 

than 20 miles. 65 

 Section 4.  Paragraph (c) is added to subsection (4) of 66 
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section 322.12, Florida Statutes, to read: 67 

 322.12  Examination of applicants.— 68 

 (4)  The examination for an applicant for a commercial 69 

driver license shall include a test of the applicant's eyesight 70 

given by a driver license examiner designated by the department 71 

or by a licensed ophthalmologist, optometrist, or physician and 72 

a test of the applicant's hearing given by a driver license 73 

examiner or a licensed physician. The examination shall also 74 

include a test of the applicant's ability to read and understand 75 

highway signs regulating, warning, and directing traffic; his or 76 

her knowledge of the traffic laws of this state pertaining to 77 

the class of motor vehicle which he or she is applying to be 78 

licensed to operate, including laws regulating driving under the 79 

influence of alcohol or controlled substances, driving with an 80 

unlawful blood-alcohol level, and driving while intoxicated; his 81 

or her knowledge of the effects of alcohol and controlled 82 

substances and the dangers of driving a motor vehicle after 83 

having consumed alcohol or controlled substances; and his or her 84 

knowledge of any special skills, requirements, or precautions 85 

necessary for the safe operation of the class of vehicle which 86 

he or she is applying to be licensed to operate. In addition, 87 

the examination shall include an actual demonstration of the 88 

applicant's ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control 89 

in the safe operation of a motor vehicle or combination of 90 

vehicles of the type covered by the license classification which 91 
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the applicant is seeking, including an examination of the 92 

applicant's ability to perform an inspection of his or her 93 

vehicle. 94 

 (c)  Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, 95 

the department may waive skill test requirements for a 96 

commercial driver license contained in this subsection for 97 

persons with military commercial motor vehicle experience who 98 

qualify under 49 C.F.R. 383.77, while on active duty or within 99 

one year of honorable discharge from military service. 100 

 Section 5.  Section 324.031, Florida Statutes, is amended 101 

to read: 102 

 324.031  Manner of proving financial responsibility.—The 103 

owner or operator of a taxicab, limousine, jitney, or any other 104 

for-hire passenger transportation vehicle may prove financial 105 

responsibility by providing satisfactory evidence of holding a 106 

motor vehicle liability policy as defined in s. 324.021(8) or s. 107 

324.151, which policy is provided by an insurer authorized to do 108 

business in this state issued by an insurance carrier which is a 109 

member of the Florida Insurance Guaranty Association or an 110 

eligible non-admitted insurer that has a superior, excellent, 111 

exceptional, or equivalent financial strength rating by a rating 112 

agency acceptable to the Office of Insurance Regulation of the 113 

Financial Services Commission. The operator or owner of any 114 

other vehicle may prove his or her financial responsibility by: 115 
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 (1)  Furnishing satisfactory evidence of holding a motor 116 

vehicle liability policy as defined in ss. 324.021(8) and 117 

324.151; 118 

 (2)  Furnishing a certificate of self-insurance showing a 119 

deposit of cash in accordance with s. 324.161; or 120 

 (3)  Furnishing a certificate of self-insurance issued by 121 

the department in accordance with s. 324.171. 122 

 123 

Any person, including any firm, partnership, association, 124 

corporation, or other person, other than a natural person, 125 

electing to use the method of proof specified in subsection (2) 126 

shall furnish a certificate of deposit equal to the number of 127 

vehicles owned times $30,000, to a maximum of $120,000; in 128 

addition, any such person, other than a natural person, shall 129 

maintain insurance providing coverage in excess of limits of 130 

$10,000/20,000/10,000 or $30,000 combined single limits, and 131 

such excess insurance shall provide minimum limits of 132 

$125,000/250,000/50,000 or $300,000 combined single limits. 133 

These increased limits shall not affect the requirements for 134 

proving financial responsibility under s. 324.032(1). 135 

 Section 6.  Subsection (2) of section 324.032, Florida 136 

Statutes, is amended to read: 137 

 324.032  Manner of proving financial responsibility; for-138 

hire passenger transportation vehicles.—Notwithstanding the 139 

provisions of s. 324.031: 140 
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 (2)  An owner or a lessee who is required to maintain 141 

insurance under s. 324.021(9)(b) and who operates at least 150 142 

300 taxicabs, limousines, jitneys, or any other for-hire 143 

passenger transportation vehicles may provide financial 144 

responsibility by complying with the provisions of s. 324.171, 145 

such compliance to be demonstrated by maintaining at its 146 

principal place of business an audited financial statement, 147 

prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting 148 

principles, and providing to the department a certification 149 

issued by a certified public accountant that the applicant's net 150 

worth is at least equal to the requirements of s. 324.171 as 151 

determined by the Office of Insurance Regulation of the 152 

Financial Services Commission, including claims liabilities in 153 

an amount certified as adequate by a Fellow of the Casualty 154 

Actuarial Society. 155 

 156 

Upon request by the department, the applicant must provide the 157 

department at the applicant's principal place of business in 158 

this state access to the applicant's underlying financial 159 

information and financial statements that provide the basis of 160 

the certified public accountant's certification. The applicant 161 

shall reimburse the requesting department for all reasonable 162 

costs incurred by it in reviewing the supporting information. 163 

The maximum amount of self-insurance permissible under this 164 

subsection is $300,000 and must be stated on a per-occurrence 165 
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basis, and the applicant shall maintain adequate excess 166 

insurance issued by an authorized or eligible insurer licensed 167 

or approved by the Office of Insurance Regulation. All risks 168 

self-insured shall remain with the owner or lessee providing it, 169 

and the risks are not transferable to any other person, unless a 170 

policy complying with subsection (1) is obtained. 171 

 Section 7.  Subsection (1) of section 327.59, Florida 172 

Statutes, is amended and subsection (5) is added to that section 173 

to read: 174 

 327.59  Marina evacuations.— 175 

 (1)  Except as provided in this section After June 1, 1994, 176 

marinas may not adopt, maintain, or enforce policies pertaining 177 

to evacuation of vessels which require vessels to be removed 178 

from marinas following the issuance of a hurricane watch or 179 

warning, in order to ensure that protecting the lives and safety 180 

of vessel owners is placed before interests of protecting 181 

property. 182 

 (5)  Upon the issuance of a hurricane watch affecting the 183 

waters of marinas located in a deepwater seaport, vessels under 184 

500 gross tons may not remain in the waters of such marinas that 185 

have been deemed not suitable for refuge during a hurricane. 186 

Vessel owners shall promptly remove their vessels from the 187 

waterways upon issuance of an evacuation order by the deepwater 188 

seaport. In the event U.S. Coast Guard Captain of the Port sets 189 

the deepwater seaport condition to Yankee and a vessel owner has 190 



   

 COMMITTEE/SUBCOMMITTEE AMENDMENT 

Bill No. HB 395  (2020) 

Amendment No.  

263101 - h0395-Strike.docx 

 Published On: 1/27/2020 6:48:38 PM 

Page 9 of 20 

      

failed to remove a vessel from the waterway, the marina owner, 191 

operator, employee or agent, regardless of existing contractual 192 

provisions between the marina owner and vessel owner, shall 193 

remove the vessel, or cause it to be removed, if reasonable, 194 

from its slip and may charge the vessel owner a reasonable fee 195 

for any such services rendered. A marina owner, operator, 196 

employee or agent shall not be held liable for any damage 197 

incurred to a vessel from hurricanes and is held harmless as a 198 

result of such actions to remove the vessel from the waterways. 199 

Nothing in this section, may be construed to provide immunity to 200 

a marina owner, operator, employee or agent for any damage 201 

caused by intentional acts or negligence when removing a vessels 202 

as permitted under this section. After the hurricane watch has 203 

been issued, the owner or operator of any vessel that has not 204 

been removed from the waterway of the marina, pursuant to an 205 

order from the deepwater seaport, may be subject to the 206 

penalties under s. 313.22(3). 207 

 Section 8.  Subsection (1) of section 337.14, Florida 208 

Statutes, is amended to read: 209 

 337.14  Application for qualification; certificate of 210 

qualification; restrictions; request for hearing.— 211 

 (1)  Any contractor desiring to bid for the performance of 212 

any construction contract in excess of $250,000 which the 213 

department proposes to let must first be certified by the 214 

department as qualified pursuant to this section and rules of 215 
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the department. The rules of the department must address the 216 

qualification of contractors to bid on construction contracts in 217 

excess of $250,000 and must include requirements with respect to 218 

the equipment, past record, experience, financial resources, and 219 

organizational personnel of the applying contractor which are 220 

necessary to perform the specific class of work for which the 221 

contractor seeks certification. Any contractor who desires to 222 

bid on contracts in excess of $50 million and is not qualified 223 

and in good standing with the department as of January 1, 2019, 224 

must first be certified by the department as qualified and 225 

desires to bid on contracts in excess of $50 million must have 226 

satisfactorily completed two projects, each in excess of $15 227 

million, for the department or for any other state department of 228 

transportation. The department may limit the dollar amount of 229 

any contract upon which a contractor is qualified to bid or the 230 

aggregate total dollar volume of contracts such contractor is 231 

allowed to have under contract at any one time. Each applying 232 

contractor seeking qualification to bid on construction 233 

contracts in excess of $250,000 shall furnish the department a 234 

statement under oath, on such forms as the department may 235 

prescribe, setting forth detailed information as required on the 236 

application. Each application for certification must be 237 

accompanied by audited financial statements prepared in 238 

accordance with United States generally accepted accounting 239 

principles and United States generally accepted auditing 240 
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standards by a certified public accountant licensed by this 241 

state or another state the latest annual financial statement of 242 

the applying contractor completed within the last 12 months. The 243 

audited financial statements must be for the applying contractor 244 

specifically and must have been prepared within the immediately 245 

preceding 12 months. The department may not consider any 246 

financial information relating to the parent entity of the 247 

applying contractor, if any. The department shall not certify as 248 

qualified any applying contractor that fails to submit the 249 

audited financial statements required by this subsection. If the 250 

application or the annual financial statement shows the 251 

financial condition of the applying contractor more than 4 252 

months before prior to the date on which the application is 253 

received by the department, the applying contractor must also 254 

submit interim audited financial statements prepared in 255 

accordance with United States generally accepted accounting 256 

principles and United States generally accepted auditing 257 

standards by a certified public accountant licensed by this 258 

state or another state an interim financial statement and an 259 

updated application must be submitted. The interim financial 260 

statements statement must cover the period from the end date of 261 

the annual statement and must show the financial condition of 262 

the applying contractor no more than 4 months before prior to 263 

the date that the interim financial statements are statement is 264 

received by the department. However, upon the request of the 265 
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applying contractor, an application and accompanying annual or 266 

interim financial statements statement received by the 267 

department within 15 days after either 4-month period under this 268 

subsection shall be considered timely. Each required annual or 269 

interim financial statement must be audited and accompanied by 270 

the opinion of a certified public accountant. An applying 271 

contractor desiring to bid exclusively for the performance of 272 

construction contracts with proposed budget estimates of less 273 

than $1 million may submit reviewed annual or reviewed interim 274 

financial statements prepared by a certified public accountant. 275 

The information required by this subsection is confidential and 276 

exempt from s. 119.07(1). The department shall act upon the 277 

application for qualification within 30 days after the 278 

department determines that the application is complete. The 279 

department may waive the requirements of this subsection for 280 

projects having a contract price of $500,000 or less if the 281 

department determines that the project is of a noncritical 282 

nature and the waiver will not endanger public health, safety, 283 

or property. 284 

 Section 9.  Present paragraphs (b), (e) and (g), of 285 

subsection (1), subsection (2), paragraph (b) of subsection (7), 286 

and paragraph (a) of subsection (15) of Section 627.748, Florida 287 

Statutes, are amended and new subsection (15) is added to read: 288 

 627.748  Transportation network companies.— 289 

 (1)  DEFINITIONS.—As used in this section, the term: 290 
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 (b)  "Prearranged ride" means the provision of 291 

transportation by a TNC driver to a rider, beginning when a TNC 292 

driver accepts a ride requested by a rider through a digital 293 

network controlled by a transportation network company, 294 

continuing while the TNC driver transports the rider, and ending 295 

when the last rider exits from and is no longer occupying the 296 

TNC vehicle. The term does not include a taxicab, for-hire 297 

vehicle, or street hail service and does not include ridesharing 298 

as defined in s. 341.031, carpool as defined in s. 450.28, or 299 

any other type of service in which the driver receives a fee 300 

that does not exceed the driver's cost to provide the ride. 301 

 (e)  "Transportation network company" or "TNC" means an 302 

entity operating in this state pursuant to this section using a 303 

digital network to connect a rider to a TNC driver, who provides 304 

prearranged rides. A TNC is not deemed to own, control, operate, 305 

direct, or manage the TNC vehicles or TNC drivers that connect 306 

to its digital network, except where agreed to by written 307 

contract, and is not a taxicab association or for-hire vehicle 308 

owner. An individual, corporation, partnership, sole 309 

proprietorship, or other entity that arranges medical 310 

transportation for individuals qualifying for Medicaid or 311 

Medicare pursuant to a contract with the state or a managed care 312 

organization is not a TNC. This section does not prohibit a TNC 313 

from providing prearranged rides to individuals who qualify for 314 

Medicaid or Medicare if it meets the requirements of this 315 



   

 COMMITTEE/SUBCOMMITTEE AMENDMENT 

Bill No. HB 395  (2020) 

Amendment No.  

263101 - h0395-Strike.docx 

 Published On: 1/27/2020 6:48:38 PM 

Page 14 of 20 

      

section. 316 

 (g)  "Transportation network company vehicle" or "TNC 317 

vehicle" means a vehicle that is not a taxicab, jitney, or 318 

limousine, or for-hire vehicle as defined in s. 320.01(15) and 319 

that is: 320 

 1.  Used by a TNC driver to offer or provide a prearranged 321 

ride; and 322 

 2.  Owned, leased, or otherwise authorized to be used by 323 

the TNC driver. 324 

 325 

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a vehicle that is 326 

let or rented to another for consideration may be used as a TNC 327 

vehicle. 328 

 (2)  NOT OTHER CARRIERS.—A TNC or TNC driver is not a 329 

common carrier, contract carrier, or motor carrier and does not 330 

provide taxicab or for-hire vehicle service. In addition, a TNC 331 

driver is not required to register the vehicle that the TNC 332 

driver uses to provide prearranged rides as a commercial motor 333 

vehicle or a for-hire vehicle. 334 

 (7)  TRANSPORTATION NETWORK COMPANY AND TNC DRIVER 335 

INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS.— 336 

 (b)  The following automobile insurance requirements apply 337 

while a participating TNC driver is logged on to the digital 338 

network but is not engaged in a prearranged ride: 339 

 1.  Automobile insurance that provides: 340 
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 a.  A primary automobile liability coverage of at least 341 

$50,000 for death and bodily injury per person, $100,000 for 342 

death and bodily injury per incident, and $25,000 for property 343 

damage; 344 

 b.  Personal injury protection benefits that meet the 345 

minimum coverage amounts required under ss. 627.730-627.7405; 346 

and 347 

 c.  Uninsured and underinsured vehicle coverage as required 348 

by s. 627.727. 349 

 2.  The coverage requirements of this paragraph may be 350 

satisfied by any of the following: 351 

 a.  Automobile insurance maintained by the TNC driver or 352 

the TNC vehicle owner; 353 

 b.  Automobile insurance maintained by the TNC; or 354 

 c.  A combination of sub-subparagraphs a. and b. 355 

 (c)  The following automobile insurance requirements apply 356 

while a TNC driver is engaged in a prearranged ride: 357 

 1.  Automobile insurance that provides: 358 

 a.  A primary automobile liability coverage of at least $1 359 

million for death, bodily injury, and property damage; 360 

 b.  Personal injury protection benefits that meet the 361 

minimum coverage amounts required of a limousine under ss. 362 

627.730-627.7405; and 363 

 c.  Uninsured and underinsured vehicle coverage as required 364 

by s. 627.727. 365 
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 2.  The coverage requirements of this paragraph may be 366 

satisfied by any of the following: 367 

 a.  Automobile insurance maintained by the TNC driver or 368 

the TNC vehicle owner; 369 

 b.  Automobile insurance maintained by the TNC; or 370 

 c.  A combination of sub-subparagraphs a. and b. 371 

 (15)  DISABILITY ACCESSIBLE TRANSPORTATION NETWORK 372 

COMPANIES.- 373 

 (a)  As used in this subsection, the terms: 374 

 1.  "Disability accessible transportation network company" 375 

or "disability accessible TNC" means a company that: 376 

 a.  Meets the requirements of paragraph (b); and 377 

 b.  Notwithstanding other provisions of this section, uses 378 

a digital network to connect riders to drivers who operate 379 

disability accessible vehicles. 380 

 2.  "Disability accessible vehicle" means a for-hire 381 

vehicle as defined in s. 320.01(15), which meets or exceeds the 382 

requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act. 383 

 (b)  An entity may elect, upon written notification to the 384 

department, to be regulated as a disability accessible TNC. A 385 

disability accessible TNC must: 386 

 1.  Comply with all of the requirements of this section 387 

applicable to a TNC, including subsection (16), that do not 388 

conflict with subparagraph 2., or that prohibit the company from 389 

connecting riders to drivers who operate for-hire vehicles as 390 
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defined in s. 320.01(15), including disability accessible 391 

vehicles. 392 

 2.  Maintain insurance coverage required in this section 393 

when the disability accessible TNC driver is logged on to a 394 

digital network or while the disability accessible TNC driver is 395 

engaged in a prearranged ride. However, a prospective disability 396 

accessible TNC that satisfies minimum financial responsibility 397 

at the time of written notification to the department through 398 

compliance with s. 324.032(2) by using self-insurance may 399 

continue to use self-insurance to satisfy the requirements of 400 

this subparagraph. 401 

 (16)(15)  PREEMPTION.— 402 

 (a)  It is the intent of the Legislature to provide for 403 

uniformity of laws governing TNCs, TNC drivers, and TNC 404 

vehicles, and disability accessible TNCs, disability accessible 405 

TNC drivers, and disability accessible TNC vehicles throughout 406 

the state. TNCs, TNC drivers, and TNC vehicles, disability 407 

accessible TNCs, disability accessible TNC drivers, and 408 

disability accessible TNC vehicles are governed exclusively by 409 

state law, including in any locality or other jurisdiction that 410 

enacted a law or created rules governing TNCs, TNC drivers, or 411 

TNC vehicles, disability accessible TNCs, disability accessible 412 

TNC drivers, and disability accessible TNC vehicles before July 413 

1, 2017. A county, municipality, special district, airport 414 

authority, port authority, or other local governmental entity or 415 
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subdivision may not: 416 

 1.  Impose a tax on, or require a license for, a TNC, a TNC 417 

driver, or a TNC vehicle, disability accessible TNCs, disability 418 

accessible TNC drivers, or disability accessible TNC vehicles if 419 

such tax or license relates to providing prearranged rides; 420 

 2.  Subject a TNC, a TNC driver, or a TNC vehicle, 421 

disability accessible TNCs, disability accessible TNC drivers, 422 

or disability accessible TNC vehicles to any rate, entry, 423 

operation, or other requirement of the county, municipality, 424 

special district, airport authority, port authority, or other 425 

local governmental entity or subdivision; or 426 

 3.  Require a TNC or a TNC driver, a disability accessible 427 

TNC, or a disability accessible TNC driver to obtain a business 428 

license or any other type of similar authorization to operate 429 

within the local governmental entity's jurisdiction. 430 

 Section 10.  This act shall take effect July 1, 2020. 431 

 432 

 433 

----------------------------------------------------- 434 

T I T L E  A M E N D M E N T 435 

 Remove everything before the enacting clause and insert: 436 

An act relating to transportation; amending s. 316.003, F.S.; 437 

revising definitions; amending s. 316.2397, F.S.; authorizing 438 

certain vehicles to show or display certain lights under certain 439 

circumstances; amending s. 316.520, F.S.; removing the distance 440 
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limit of specified vehicles not being required to secure 441 

agricultural products; amending s. 322.12, F.S.; authorizing the 442 

Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to waive 443 

commercial motor vehicle testing requirements for specified 444 

persons if certain conditions are met; amending ss. 324.031 and 445 

324.032, F.S.; revising the manner of providing financial 446 

responsibility for owners, operators, or lessees of certain for-447 

hire passenger transportation vehicles; amending s. 327.59, 448 

F.S.; prohibiting vessels under a specified weight from 449 

remaining in certain marinas that have deemed unsuitable for 450 

refuge during a hurricane; authorizes removal of specified 451 

vessels under certain circumstances; provides limits of 452 

liability; provides for certain immunities; providing for 453 

penalties; amending s. 337.14, F.S.; requiring certain 454 

contractors to be certified by the department as qualified; 455 

revising the financial statements required to accompany an 456 

application for certification; prohibiting the department from 457 

considering certain financial information; requiring the 458 

contractor to submit interim financial statements under certain 459 

circumstances; providing requirements for such statements; 460 

amending s. 627.748, F.S.; revising and providing definitions; 461 

deleting for-hire vehicles from the list of vehicles not 462 

considered TNC carriers; revising automobile insurance 463 

requirements for TNCs and TNC drivers; authorizing entities to 464 

be regulated as disability accessible TNCS; providing 465 
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requirements; providing that disability accessible TNCs, 466 

disability accessible TNC drivers, and disability accessible TNC 467 

vehicles are governed by state law; providing an effective date. 468 
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SUMMARY ANALYSIS 

Upon request by a person diagnosed with a developmental disability, or by a parent or guardian of a child or 
ward who has a developmental disability, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) 
must issue an identification card exhibiting a capital “D” after payment of an additional $1 fee and proof of a 
developmental disability diagnosis. The $1 fee must be deposited into the Agency for Persons with Disabilities 
Operations and Maintenance Trust Fund.   
 
The bill authorizes an optional “D” designation on the driver license of a person who has been diagnosed with 
a developmental disability. The licensee, or his or her parent or legal guardian, must present DHSMV with 
sufficient proof that a licensed physician has diagnosed the licensee with a developmental disability. 
Additionally, a licensee, or his or her parent or legal guardian, may surrender his or her current driver license at 
any time to receive a replacement license with a “D” designation. 
 
House Bill 789 (2020), which this bill is linked to, provides for the payment of an additional $1 fee for a new or 
renewed driver license with a “D” designation on it or a payment of a $2 fee upon the surrender and 
replacement of a current driver license with a “D” designation on it. Both fees are to be deposited into the 
Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund. 
 
The bill will likely have a negative fiscal impact to DHSMV associated with programming costs. See Fiscal 
Analysis for additional details.   
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FULL ANALYSIS 

I.  SUBSTANTIVE ANALYSIS 
 
A. EFFECT OF PROPOSED CHANGES: 

Current Situation  
 
The term “developmental disability” is defined as, a disorder or syndrome that is attributable to 
intellectual disability, cerebral palsy, autism, spina bifida, Down syndrome, Phelan-McDermid 
syndrome, or Prader-Willi syndrome; that manifests before the age of 18; and that constitutes a 
substantial handicap that can reasonably be expected to continue indefinitely.1 
 
Any person who is 5 years of age or older, or any person who has a disability and who applies for a 
disabled parking permit (regardless of age), may be issued an identification card by the Department of 
Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) upon completion of an application and payment of an 
application fee.2 Upon request by a person diagnosed with a developmental disability, or by a parent or 
guardian of a child or ward who has a developmental disability, DHSMV must issue an identification 
card exhibiting a capital “D” after payment of an additional $1 fee and proof of a developmental 
disability diagnosis. The $1 fee must be deposited into the Agency for Persons with Disabilities 
Operations and Maintenance Trust Fund.3  As of January 2020, DHSMV had issued 1,295 identification 
cards with the “D” designation.4 
 
Upon successful completion of all required examinations and payment of the required fee, DHSMV 
must issue to every qualified applicant a driver license.5 Each driver license must exhibit the class of 
vehicle the licensee is authorized to operate as well as any applicable endorsements (such as a 
motorcycle endorsement) or restrictions (such as corrective lenses).6 There are also optional 
designations that can be exhibited on a driver license. The international symbol for the deaf and hard of 
hearing is an optional designation that can be exhibited on the driver license of a person who is deaf or 
hard of hearing. At the time of receiving a new or renewed driver license, the licensee will pay an 
additional $1 and provide sufficient proof to DHSMV that he or she is deaf or hard of hearing. 
Otherwise, upon the surrender of his or her driver license, a licensee may have the symbol added to his 
or her license for $2. Both fees will be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund.7 
 
Other optional designations that can be exhibited on a driver license are the word “Veteran”,8 and 
symbols representing lifetime freshwater fishing, saltwater fishing, hunting, and sportsman’s licenses as 
well as a lifetime boater safety identification card.9 
 
Effect of Proposed Changes 
 
The bill authorizes an optional “D” designation on the driver license of a person who has been 
diagnosed with a developmental disability. The licensee, or his or her parent or legal guardian, must 
present DHSMV with sufficient proof that a licensed physician has diagnosed the licensee with a 
qualifying developmental disability. Additionally, a licensee, or his or her parent or legal guardian, may 
surrender his or her current driver license at any time to receive a replacement license with a “D” 
designation. 
 

                                                 
1 Section 393.063, F.S. 
2 Section 322.051(1), F.S. 
3 Section 322.051(8)(e)1., F.S. 
4 Email from Kevin Jacobs, Deputy Legislative Affairs Director, Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, RE: HB 787, 

(January 16, 2020).  
5 Section 322.14(1)(a), F.S. 
6 Section 324.14(1)(b), F.S. 
7 Section 324.14(1)(c), F.S.  
8 Section 324.14(1)(d), F.S. 
9 Section 324.14(1)(e), F.S. 
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The bill could benefit law enforcement agencies by providing notification to officers that a person has a 
developmental disability. This knowledge could be helpful in the de-escalation of some scenarios 
involving law enforcement officers and individuals with developmental disabilities. 
 
House Bill 789 (2020), which this bill is linked to, provides for the payment of an additional $1 fee for a 
new or renewed driver license with a “D” designation on it or a payment of a $2 fee upon the surrender 
and replacement of a current driver license with a “D” designation on it. Both fees are to be deposited 
into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund. 
 

B. SECTION DIRECTORY: 

Section 1: Amends s.322.14, F.S., relating to licenses issued to drivers. 
 
Section 2: Provides an effective date of July 1, 2020. 
 

II.  FISCAL ANALYSIS & ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
 

A. FISCAL IMPACT ON STATE GOVERNMENT: 
 
1. Revenues: 

The linked bill, HB 789, authorizes DHSMV to charge a $1 or $2 fee for a “D” designation on a 
driver license. DHSMV will likely have an insignificant, but positive, fiscal impact to the Highway 
Safety Operating Trust Fund associated with the additional $1 or $2 collected for the developmental 
disability designation on driver licenses.10  
 

2. Expenditures: 

DHSMV estimates that the bill will have an indeterminate, significant negative impact to both the 
department’s operational resources and to the resources dedicated to Motorist Modernization 
Phase 1. Programming will be required in the Florida Driver License Information System to add the 
“D” designation to driver licenses and fee code changes to collect the $1 or $2 fee.11 
 

B. FISCAL IMPACT ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS: 
 
1. Revenues: 

The linked bill, HB 789, authorizes DHSMV to charge a $1 or $2 fee for a “D” designation on a 
driver license. Pursuant to s. 322.135(1)(c), F.S., tax collectors are required to charge a service fee 
of $6.25 per driver license service request per customer. This will have a positive but likely 
insignificant impact to the tax collectors.12 
 

2. Expenditures: 

The bill does not appear to impact local government expenditures.  
 

C. DIRECT ECONOMIC IMPACT ON PRIVATE SECTOR: 

Individuals diagnosed with a developmental disability may opt to pay $1 or $2 for a “D” designation on 
their driver license.  
 

D. FISCAL COMMENTS: 

None.  
 

                                                 
10 Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Agency Analysis of House Bill 787 & 789, p. 4 (January 23, 2020).  
11 Id.  
12 Id. at p. 3. 
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III.  COMMENTS 
 

A. CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES: 
 

 1. Applicability of Municipality/County Mandates Provision: 

Not applicable. This bill does not appear to require counties or municipalities to spend funds or take 
action requiring the expenditure of funds; reduce the authority that counties or municipalities have to 
raise revenues in the aggregate; or reduce the percentage of state tax shared with counties or 
municipalities. 
 

 2. Other: 

None. 
 

B. RULE-MAKING AUTHORITY: 

The bill does not provide a grant of rulemaking authority, nor does it require rulemaking. 
 

C. DRAFTING ISSUES OR OTHER COMMENTS: 

None. 
 

IV.  AMENDMENTS/ COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE CHANGES 
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A bill to be entitled 1 

An act relating to driver licenses; amending s. 2 

322.14, F.S.; authorizing a person with specified 3 

disabilities to have the capital letter "D" placed on 4 

his or her driver license under certain circumstances; 5 

providing requirements for the placement of such 6 

letter on a person's driver license; providing an 7 

effective date. 8 

 9 

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida: 10 

 11 

 Section 1.  Paragraph (f) is added to subsection (1) of 12 

section 322.14, Florida Statutes, to read: 13 

 322.14  Licenses issued to drivers.— 14 

 (1) 15 

 (f)1.  The capital letter "D" shall be exhibited on the 16 

driver license of a person who has a developmental disability, 17 

as defined in s. 393.063, if the person, or his or her parent or 18 

legal guardian, presents sufficient proof that the person has 19 

been diagnosed with a developmental disability by a physician 20 

licensed under chapter 458 as determined by the department. 21 

 2.  Until a person's driver license is next renewed, the 22 

person, or his or her parent or legal guardian, may have the 23 

capital letter "D" added to his or her license upon the 24 

surrender of his or her current license and presentation of 25 
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sufficient proof that the person has been diagnosed with a 26 

developmental disability by a physician licensed under chapter 27 

458 as determined by the department. If the applicant is not 28 

conducting any other transaction affecting the driver license, a 29 

replacement license may be issued with the capital letter "D" 30 

without payment of the fee required in s. 322.21(1)(e). 31 

 Section 2.  This act shall take effect July 1, 2020. 32 
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 COMMITTEE/SUBCOMMITTEE ACTION 

ADOPTED       (Y/N) 

ADOPTED AS AMENDED       (Y/N) 

ADOPTED W/O OBJECTION       (Y/N) 

FAILED TO ADOPT       (Y/N) 

WITHDRAWN       (Y/N) 

OTHER              

 

Committee/Subcommittee hearing bill:  Transportation & 1 

Infrastructure Subcommittee 2 

Representative Tomkow offered the following: 3 

 4 

 Amendment (with title amendment) 5 

 Remove lines 24-32 and insert: 6 

capital letter "D" added to or removed from his or her license 7 

upon the surrender of his or her current license and 8 

presentation of sufficient proof that the person has been 9 

diagnosed with a developmental disability by a physician 10 

licensed under chapter 458 or chapter 459 as determined by the 11 

department. If the applicant is not conducting any other 12 

transaction affecting the driver license, a replacement license 13 

may be issued with the capital letter "D" without payment of the 14 

fee required in s. 322.21(1)(e). 15 

 Section 2.  This act shall take effect October 1, 2020. 16 
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----------------------------------------------------- 17 

T I T L E  A M E N D M E N T 18 

 Remove lines 5-6 and insert: 19 

or removed from his or her driver license under certain 20 

circumstances; providing requirements for the placement or 21 

removal of such 22 
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SUMMARY ANALYSIS 

Upon request by a person diagnosed with a developmental disability, or by a parent or guardian of a child or 
ward who has a developmental disability, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) 
must issue an identification card exhibiting a capital “D” after payment of an additional $1 fee and proof of a 
developmental disability diagnosis. The $1 fee must be deposited into the Agency for Persons with Disabilities 
Operations and Maintenance Trust Fund.   
 
House Bill 787 (2020), which this bill is linked to, authorizes an optional “D” designation on the driver license of 
a person who has been diagnosed with a developmental disability. 
 
This bill provides for the payment of an additional $1 fee for a new or renewed driver license with a “D” 
designation or a payment of a $2 fee upon the surrender and replacement of a current driver license. Both fees 
are to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund. 
 
The bill will likely have a negative fiscal impact on DHSMV associated with programming costs. See Fiscal 
Analysis section for additional details.   
 
This bill authorizes a new state fee, requiring a two-thirds vote of the membership of the House. See 
Section III.A.2. of the analysis.  
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FULL ANALYSIS 

I.  SUBSTANTIVE ANALYSIS 
 
A. EFFECT OF PROPOSED CHANGES: 

Current Situation 
 
The Florida Constitution provides that no state tax or fee may be imposed, authorized, or raised by the 
Legislature except through legislation approved by two-thirds of the membership of each house of the 
Legislature.1 For purposes of this requirement, a “fee” is any charge or payment required by law, 
including any fee or charge for services and fees or costs for licenses and to “raise” a fee or tax means 
to:2 

 Increase or authorize an increase in the rate of a state tax or fee imposed on a percentage or 
per mill basis; 

 Increase or authorize an increase in the amount of a state tax or fee imposed on a flat or fixed 
amount basis; or 

 Decrease or eliminate a state tax or fee exemption or credit.  
 
A bill that imposes, authorizes, or raises any state fee or tax may only contain the fee or tax 
provision(s) and may not contain any other subject.3 
 
The constitutional provision does not authorize any state tax or fee to be imposed if it is otherwise 
prohibited by the constitution and does not apply to any tax or fee authorized or imposed by a county, 
municipality, school board, or special district.4 
 
House Bill 787 (2020), which this bill is linked to, authorizes an optional “D” designation on the driver 
license of a person who has been diagnosed with a developmental disability. 
 
Effect of Proposed Changes 
 
The bill provides for the payment of an additional $1 fee for a new or renewed driver license with a “D” 
designation or a payment of a $2 fee upon the surrender and replacement of a current driver license. 
Both fees are to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund. 
 

B. SECTION DIRECTORY: 

Section 1: Amends s.322.14, F.S., relating to licenses issued to drivers. 
 
Section 2: Provides that this act shall take effect on the same date that HB 787 or similar legislation 
takes effect, if such legislation is adopted in the same legislative session or an extension thereof and 
becomes law. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

II.  FISCAL ANALYSIS & ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
 

A. FISCAL IMPACT ON STATE GOVERNMENT: 
 

                                                 
1 Fla. Const. art. VII, s. 19(a)-(b). The amendment appeared on the 2018 ballot as Amendment 5. 
2 Fla. Const. art. VII, s. 19(d). 
3 Fla. Const. art. VII, s. 19(e). 
4 Fla. Const. art. VII s. 19(c). 
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1. Revenues: 

DHSMV will likely have an insignificant, but positive, fiscal impact to the Highway Safety Operating 
Trust Fund associated with the additional $1 or $2 collected for the developmental disability 
designation on driver licenses.5  
 

2. Expenditures: 

DHSMV estimates that the bill will have an indeterminate, negative impact to both the department’s 
operational resources and to the resources dedicated to Motorist Modernization Phase 1. 
Programming will be required in the Florida Driver License Information System to add the “D” 
designation to driver licenses and fee code changes to collect the $1 or $2 fee.6 
 

B. FISCAL IMPACT ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS: 
 
1. Revenues: 

Pursuant to s. 322.135(1)(c), F.S., tax collectors are required to charge a service fee of $6.25 per 
driver license service request per customer. As a result, the bill will have a positive but insignificant 
impact to tax collectors.7 
 

2. Expenditures: 

The bill does not appear to impact local government expenditures. 
 

C. DIRECT ECONOMIC IMPACT ON PRIVATE SECTOR: 

Individuals diagnosed with a developmental disability may opt to pay $1 or $2 for a “D” designation on 
their driver license. 
 

D. FISCAL COMMENTS: 

None. 
 

III.  COMMENTS 
 

A. CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES: 
 

 1. Applicability of Municipality/County Mandates Provision: 

Not applicable. This bill does not appear to require counties or municipalities to spend funds or take 
action requiring the expenditure of funds; reduce the authority that counties or municipalities have to 
raise revenues in the aggregate; or reduce the percentage of state tax shared with counties or 
municipalities. 
 

 2. Other: 

Article VII, s. 19 of the Florida Constitution requires the imposition, authorization, or raising of a state 
tax or fee be contained in a separate bill that contains no other subject and be approved by two-
thirds of the membership of each house of the Legislature. As such, the bill appears to implicate Art. 
VII, s. 19 of the Florida Constitution because the bill authorizes a $1 or $2 fee for an optional “D” 
designation on a driver license. 
 

B. RULE-MAKING AUTHORITY: 

The bill does not provide a grant of rulemaking authority, nor does it require rulemaking. 
 

                                                 
5 Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Agency Analysis of House Bill 787 & 789, p. 4 (January 23, 2020).  
6 Id.  
7 Id. at p. 3. 
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C. DRAFTING ISSUES OR OTHER COMMENTS: 

None. 
 

IV.  AMENDMENTS/ COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE CHANGES 
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A bill to be entitled 1 

An act relating to driver license fees; amending s. 2 

322.14, F.S.; providing fees for the placement of a 3 

specified letter on the driver license of a person who 4 

has a developmental disability; providing a contingent 5 

effective date. 6 

 7 

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida: 8 

 9 

 Section 1.  Paragraph (f) of subsection (1) of section 10 

322.14, Florida Statutes, as created by HB 787, is amended to 11 

read: 12 

 322.14  Licenses issued to drivers.— 13 

 (1) 14 

 (f)1.  The capital letter "D" shall be exhibited on the 15 

driver license of a person who has a developmental disability, 16 

as defined in s. 393.063, upon the payment of an additional $1 17 

fee for the license and if the person, or his or her parent or 18 

legal guardian, presents sufficient proof that the person has 19 

been diagnosed with a developmental disability by a physician 20 

licensed under chapter 458 as determined by the department. 21 

 2.  Until a person's driver license is next renewed, the 22 

person, or his or her parent or legal guardian, may have the 23 

capital letter "D" added to his or her license upon the 24 

surrender of his or her current license, payment of a $2 fee to 25 
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be deposited into the highway safety Operating Trust Fund, and 26 

presentation of sufficient proof that the person has been 27 

diagnosed with a developmental disability by a physician 28 

licensed under chapter 458 as determined by the department. If 29 

the applicant is not conducting any other transaction affecting 30 

the driver license, a replacement license may be issued with the 31 

capital letter "D" without payment of the fee required in s. 32 

322.21(1)(e). 33 

 Section 2.  This act shall take effect on the same date 34 

that HB 787 or similar legislation takes effect, if such 35 

legislation is adopted in the same legislative session or an 36 

extension thereof and becomes a law. 37 
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 COMMITTEE/SUBCOMMITTEE ACTION 

ADOPTED       (Y/N) 

ADOPTED AS AMENDED       (Y/N) 

ADOPTED W/O OBJECTION       (Y/N) 

FAILED TO ADOPT       (Y/N) 

WITHDRAWN       (Y/N) 

OTHER              

 

Committee/Subcommittee hearing bill:  Transportation & 1 

Infrastructure Subcommittee 2 

Representative Tomkow offered the following: 3 

 4 

 Amendment (with title amendment) 5 

 Remove lines 24-29 and insert: 6 

capital letter "D" added to or removed from his or her license 7 

upon the surrender of his or her current license, payment of a 8 

$2 fee to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust 9 

Fund, and presentation of sufficient proof that the person has 10 

been diagnosed with a developmental disability by a physician 11 

licensed under chapter 458 or chapter 459 as determined by the 12 

department. If 13 

 14 

 15 

 16 
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Bill No. HB 789  (2020) 

Amendment No.  
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----------------------------------------------------- 17 

T I T L E  A M E N D M E N T 18 

 Remove line 3 and insert: 19 

322.14, F.S.; providing fees for the placement or removal of a 20 
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HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STAFF ANALYSIS  
 

BILL #: HB 943     Electric Vehicle Charging Stations 
SPONSOR(S): Daley 
TIED BILLS:   IDEN./SIM. BILLS: SB 452 
 

REFERENCE ACTION ANALYST STAFF DIRECTOR or 

BUDGET/POLICY CHIEF 

1) Transportation & Infrastructure Subcommittee  Johnson Vickers 

2) Appropriations Committee    

3) State Affairs Committee    

SUMMARY ANALYSIS 

Under current law, the provision of electric vehicle charging to the public by a nonutility is not considered the 
retail sale of electricity, and is not subject to regulation as a public utility. Additionally, the Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services is required to adopt rules regarding electric vehicle charging stations, and 
is authorized, but not required, to post information on its website relating to alternative fueling stations 
(including electric vehicle charging stations) that are available for public use in this state. 
 
The bill requires the Department of Transportation, in coordination with other entities to, by July 1, 2020, 
develop and adopt a master plan for electric vehicle charging stations on the State Highway System. The bill 
provides goals and objectives for the master plan including identifying locations for charging stations, 
evaluating types of charging stations and the economic potential for charging stations, and identifying specific 
projects to meet the above goals. The Department of Transportation must then annually update its master 
plan. 
 
The bill has an indeterminate negative fiscal impact to state government associated with completing the master 
plan. See Fiscal Analysis for details. 
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FULL ANALYSIS 

I.  SUBSTANTIVE ANALYSIS 
 
A. EFFECT OF PROPOSED CHANGES: 

Present Situation 
 
Electric vehicles (EVs) offer a cleaner fuel source, and interest in EV use has been driven in part by 
their potential for reduction in greenhouse gas emissions. However, their relative high cost compared to 
conventional fuel-powered vehicles and their relative limited range have restricted the commercial 
viability of EVs.1 While advancements in EV-related technology are continuing, EV manufacturing is 
rising, and EV prices have been dropping, representatives in both the government and the private 
sector acknowledge that successful adoption of EV use is heavily dependent on the accessibility of 
charging stations.2 
 
Electric Vehicle Charging Equipment 
EV charging equipment is generally classified based on the rate at which the equipment charges the 
EV batteries. Charging times vary, depending on the depletion level of the battery, how much energy 
the battery holds, the type of battery, and the type of supply equipment. According to the Alternative 
Fuels Data Center (AFDC), charging times can range from less than 20 minutes to 20 hours or more, 
depending on the identified factors. Potential driving distance ranges from: 

 Two to five miles of range per one hour of charging for AC Level 1 supply equipment; 

 Ten to twenty miles per one hour of charging for AC Level 2 supply equipment; and 

 Sixty to eighty miles per twenty minutes of charging for DC fast charging supply equipment.3 

 
According to the AFDC, for most drivers, EV charging currently occurs at home or at fleet facilities.4  
 
Level 1 (home) charging cords come as standard equipment on new EVs, only require a standard 120-
volt outlet, and can add about 50 miles of range in an overnight charge. Level 1 charging is sufficient 
for low- and medium-range EV drivers with relatively low daily driving.5 
 
Level 2 (home and public) charging commonly requires a charging unit on a 240-volt circuit, with the 
charging rate dependent on the rate at which a vehicle can accept a charge and the maximum current 
available. An eight-hour charge adds about 180 miles of range with a typical 30-amp circuit. This 
method may require the purchase of a home charging unit and modifications to a home electric system, 
but charges from two to eight times faster than a Level 1, depending on the amperage and the vehicle. 
These chargers are most commonly found at public charging places like offices, grocery stores, and 
parking garages.6 
 
DC Fast Chargers (public charging) can typically add 50 to 90 miles in 30 minutes, depending on the 
charging station’s power capacity and the make of the EV. These chargers are best used for longer 
travel distances; vehicles used the major portion of a day, such as taxis; and for vehicles whose drivers 
have limited access to home charging.7 
 
Electric Vehicle Charging in Florida 

                                                 
1 See the Federal Highway Administration’s FHWA NHTS Brief, Electric Vehicle Feasibility, July 2016, pp. 1-2, available at 

https://nhts.ornl.gov/briefs/EVFeasibility20160701.pdf (last visited Jan. 6, 2020). 
2 Id. at p. 2. See also CBS Chicago, Electric Vehicle Sales on the Rise, But More Charging Stations Needed To Keep the Trend Going, 

September 19, 2019, available at https://chicago.cbslocal.com/2019/09/19/electric-vehicles-super-fast-charging-stations/ (last visited 

Jan. 6, 2020). 
3 See the AFDC’s website available at: https://www.afdc.energy.gov/vehicles/electric.html. (Last visited Jan. 6, 2020.) 
4 AFDC, Developing Infrastructure to Charge Electric Plug-In Vehicles, available at 

https://afdc.energy.gov/fuels/electricity_infrastructure.html (last visited Jan.6, 2020). 
5 UCSUSA, Electric Vehicle Charging, Types, Time, Cost and Savings, (March 2018) available at 

https://www.ucsusa.org/resources/electric-vehicle-charging-types-time-cost-and-savings (last visited Jan. 6, 2020). 
6 Id. 
7 Id. 
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Under Florida law, the provision of electric vehicle charging to the public by a nonutility is not 
considered the retail sale of electricity, and is not subject to regulation as a public utility.8 Additionally, 
the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (DACS) is required to adopt rules to provide 
definitions, methods of sale, labeling requirements, and price-posting requirements for electric vehicle 
charging stations to allow for consistency for consumers and the industry.9 

 
Section 377.815, F.S., authorizes, but does not require, DACS to post information on its website 
relating to alternative fueling stations (including electric vehicle charging stations) that are available for 
public use in this state. DACS’ website contains addresses by city and county for EV charging station 
locations in Florida. The website identifies 930 charging station locations by specific address.10 
 
Clean Cities Coalitions 
Established in 1993 as part of the U.S. Department of Energy's Vehicle Technologies Office, the Clean 
Cities Coalitions have funded hundreds of transportation projects nationwide in furtherance of their 
mission to foster the nation's economic, environmental, and energy security by working locally to 
advance affordable, domestic transportation fuels, energy efficient mobility systems, and other fuel-
saving technologies and practices.11 There are four Florida Clean Cities Coalitions: North Florida, 
Central Florida, Tampa, and Southeast Florida.12 
 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Office of Energy Electric Vehicle Roadmap 
DACS’ Office of Energy is currently working on an EV Roadmap with the goals of: 

 Identifying EV charging infrastructure impacts on the electric grid. 

 Identifying solutions for any negative impacts. 

 Locating areas that lack EV charging infrastructure. 

 Identifying best practices for siting EV charging stations. 

 Identifying technical or regulatory barriers to expansion of EV charging infrastructure.13 
 

Effect of the Bill 
 
The bill defines the term “master plan for electric vehicle charging station” or “master plan” as a 
comprehensive plan of the Department of Transportation (DOT) which describes current and future 
plans for the development of electric vehicle charging stations on the State Highway System (SHS).14 
 
The bill requires DOT to, by July 1, 2021, in coordination with DACS’ Office of Energy and the Clean 
Cities Coalitions or other appropriate public or private entities, develop and adopt a master plan for 
electric vehicle charging stations on the SHS. 
 
The master plan’s goals and objectives include, but are not limited to: 

 Identifying optimal locations on the SHS for the development of EV charging stations as a 
means of facilitating EV short-range and long-range travel and adequately serving as 
evacuation routes. 

 Identifying locations that would serve existing EVs or encourage the expansion of EV use. 

 Evaluating and comparing the types of EV charging stations available at present and in the 
future, including the technology and infrastructure incorporated in such stations, for the purpose 
of identifying any advantages to developing a particular type of station. 

                                                 
8 Section 366.94(1), F.S. 
9 Section 366.94(2), F.S. 
10 See the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services website, select Electricity, available at 

https://www.fdacs.gov/Energy/Florida-Energy-Clearinghouse/Transportation (last visited Jan. 6, 2020). 
11 Clean Cities Coalition, available at https://cleancities.energy.gov/, (last visited Jan. 10, 2020). 
12 Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Agency Analysis of 2020 Senate Bill 452, p.2. (Oct. 9, 2019) 
13 Id. 
14 Section 334.03(24), F.S., defines the term “State Highway System” as the interstate system and all other roads within the state 

which were under the jurisdiction of the state on June 10, 1995, and roads constructed by an agency of the state for the State Highway 

System, plus roads transferred to the state’s jurisdiction after that date by mutual consent with another governmental entity, but not 

including roads so transferred from the state’s jurisdiction. These facilities shall be facilities to which access is regulated. 
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 Evaluating the economic potential for EV charging stations and consider strategies to develop 
that potential, including methods for building partnerships with local governments, other state 
and federal entities, electric utilities, the business community, and the public in support of EV 
charging stations. 

 Identifying specific projects that will accomplish the above goals and objectives. 
 
After its adoption, DOT must annually, by July 1, update its master plan. 
 

B. SECTION DIRECTORY: 

Section 1 creates s. 339.287, F.S., relating to electric vehicle charging stations. 
 
Section 2 provides that the bill is effective upon becoming a law. 
 

II.  FISCAL ANALYSIS & ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
 

A. FISCAL IMPACT ON STATE GOVERNMENT: 
 
1. Revenues: 

The bill does not appear to impact state government revenues. 
 

2. Expenditures: 

The bill has an indeterminate negative fiscal impact to DOT associated with completing the master 
plan. DACS may incur a negative fiscal impact associated with assisting DOT in preparing its 
master plan. 
 

B. FISCAL IMPACT ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS: 
 
1. Revenues: 

The bill does not appear to impact local government revenues. 
 

2. Expenditures: 

The bill does not appear to impact local government expenditures. 
 

C. DIRECT ECONOMIC IMPACT ON PRIVATE SECTOR: 

None. 
 

D. FISCAL COMMENTS: 

None. 
 

III.  COMMENTS 
 

A. CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES: 
 

 1. Applicability of Municipality/County Mandates Provision: 

Not applicable. This bill does not appear to impact county or municipal governments. 
 

 2. Other: 

None. 
 

B. RULE-MAKING AUTHORITY: 

The bill does not provide a grant of rulemaking authority, nor does it require rulemaking. 
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C. DRAFTING ISSUES OR OTHER COMMENTS: 

None. 
 

IV.  AMENDMENTS/ COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE CHANGES 

None. 
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A bill to be entitled 1 

An act relating to electric vehicle charging stations; 2 

creating s. 339.287, F.S.; defining the term "master 3 

plan for electric vehicle charging stations" or 4 

"master plan"; requiring the Department of 5 

Transportation, in coordination with the Office of 6 

Energy within the Department of Agriculture and 7 

Consumer Services and the Florida Clean Cities 8 

Coalitions, or other appropriate entities, to develop 9 

and adopt by a specified date a master plan for 10 

electric vehicle charging stations on the state 11 

highway system; specifying goals and objectives of the 12 

master plan; requiring the master plan to be updated 13 

annually by a specified date; providing an effective 14 

date. 15 

 16 

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida: 17 

 18 

 Section 1.  Section 339.287, Florida Statutes, is created 19 

to read: 20 

 339.287  Electric vehicle charging stations; master plan 21 

requirements.— 22 

 (1)  As used in this section, the term "master plan for 23 

electric vehicle charging stations" or "master plan" means a 24 

comprehensive plan of the department which describes current and 25 
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future plans for the development of electric vehicle charging 26 

stations on the state highway system. 27 

 (2)  The department, in coordination with the Office of 28 

Energy within the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 29 

Services and the Florida Clean Cities Coalitions designated by 30 

the United States Department of Energy, or other appropriate 31 

public or private entities, shall develop and adopt a master 32 

plan for electric vehicle charging stations on the state highway 33 

system by July 1, 2021. 34 

 (3)  The goals and objectives of the master plan include, 35 

but are not limited to, all of the following: 36 

 (a)  Identify optimal locations on the state highway system 37 

for the development of electric vehicle charging stations as a 38 

means of facilitating electric vehicle short-range and long-39 

range travel and adequately serving evacuation routes in this 40 

state. 41 

 (b)  Identify locations that would serve existing electric 42 

vehicles or encourage the expansion of electric vehicle use in 43 

this state. 44 

 (c)  Evaluate and compare the types of electric vehicle 45 

charging stations available at present and in the future, 46 

including the technology and infrastructure incorporated in such 47 

stations, for the purpose of identifying any advantages to 48 

developing a particular type of station. 49 

 (d)  Evaluate the economic potential for electric vehicle 50 
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charging stations in this state and consider strategies to 51 

develop that potential, including, but not limited to, methods 52 

of building partnerships with local governments, other state and 53 

federal entities, electric utilities, the business community, 54 

and the public in support of electric vehicle charging stations. 55 

 (e)  Identify specific projects that will accomplish the 56 

goals and objectives of this section. 57 

 (4)  After its adoption, the master plan shall be updated 58 

annually by July 1. 59 

 Section 2.  This act shall take effect upon becoming a law. 60 
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SUMMARY ANALYSIS 

The bill defines electric bicycles (e-bikes) within a three-tiered classification system. Class 1 e-bikes are 
bicycles equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases to 
provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 20 mph. Class 2 e-bikes are bicycles equipped with a throttle-
actuated motor that may be used exclusively to propel the bicycle and that ceases to provide assistance when 
the e-bike reaches 20 mph. Class 3 e-bikes are bicycles equipped with a motor that provides assistance only 
when the rider is pedaling and that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 28 mph.  
 
Additionally, the bill creates regulations governing the operation of e-bikes. An e-bike or an operator of an e-
bike must be afforded all the rights and privileges, and be subject to all of the duties, of a bicycle or the 
operator of a bicycle. An e-bike is considered a vehicle to the same extent as a bicycle, and the bill authorizes 
an e-bike to operate where bicycles are allowed, including, but not limited to, streets, highways, roadways, 
shoulders, bicycle lanes, and bicycle or multiuse paths. However, following notice and a public hearing, a 
municipality, county, or agency of the state having jurisdiction over a bicycle or multiuse path may restrict or 
prohibit the operation of an e-bike on the path if the entity determines that such a restriction is necessary in the 
interest of public safety or to comply with other laws or legal obligations.  
 
The bill provides that an e-bike or an operator of an e-bike is not subject to the provisions of law relating to 
financial responsibility, driver or motor vehicle licenses, vehicle registration, title certificates, off-highway 
motorcycles, or off-highway vehicles.  
 
The bill requires that beginning January 1, 2021, manufacturers and distributors of e-bikes must apply a label 
that is permanently affixed in a prominent location to each e-bike. The label must contain the classification 
number, top assisted speed, and motor wattage of the e-bike. The bill prohibits a person from tampering with 
or modifying an e-bike in order to change the motor-powered speed capability or engagement of an e-bike, 
unless the label indicating the classification number required is replaced after such modification. 
 
The bill will likely have a negative but insignificant fiscal impact on state government revenues. See Fiscal 
Analysis for additional details.    
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FULL ANALYSIS 

I.  SUBSTANTIVE ANALYSIS 
 
A. EFFECT OF PROPOSED CHANGES: 

Current Situation  
 

 Bicycle Regulations  
Section 316.003, F.S, defines a “bicycle” as: 

 
Every vehicle propelled solely by human power, and every motorized bicycle 
propelled by a combination of human power and an electric helper motor capable 
of propelling the vehicle at a speed of not more than 20 miles per hour on level 
ground upon which any person may ride, having two tandem wheels, and including 
any device generally recognized as a bicycle though equipped with two front or 
two rear wheels. The term does not include such a vehicle with a seat height of no 
more than 25 inches from the ground when the seat is adjusted to its highest 
position or a scooter or similar device. A person under the age of 16 may not 
operate or ride upon a motorized bicycle.1 

 
Under state traffic control laws, bicyclists are considered vehicle operators and are generally required 
to obey the same rules of the road as other vehicle operators, including traffic signs, signals, and lane 
markings.2 Section 316.2065, F.S., governs the operation of bicycles in Florida and provides for a 
number of bicycle-specific regulations, including: 

 A bicycle rider or passenger who is under 16 years of age must wear a bicycle helmet.3 

 A person may not knowingly rent or lease any bicycle to be ridden by a child who is under the 
age of 16 years unless the child possesses a bicycle helmet or the lessor provides a bicycle 
helmet for the child to wear.4 

 Every bicycle in use between sunset and sunrise must be equipped with a lamp on the front 
exhibiting a white light visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front and a lamp and 
reflector on the rear each exhibiting a red light visible from a distance of 600 feet to the rear.5 

 A person operating a bicycle on a sidewalk, or across a roadway on a crosswalk, must yield the 
right-of-way to any pedestrian and must give an audible signal before overtaking and passing 
the pedestrian.6 

 
A person operating a bicycle on a roadway must ride in the bicycle lane, but if there is no bicycle lane, 
the bicycle operator must ride as close to the right-hand curb as practicable. However, a bicycle 
operator may move to the center of the lane when: 

 Overtaking and passing another bicycle or vehicle proceeding in the same direction; 

 Preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or driveway; or 

 Reasonably necessary to avoid any condition or potential conflict, including, but not limited to, a 
fixed or moving object, parked or moving vehicle, bicycle, pedestrian, animal, surface hazard, 
turn lane, or substandard-width lane,7 which makes it unsafe to continue along the right-hand 
curb or edge or within a bicycle lane.8 
 

                                                 
1 Section 316.003(4), F.S. 
2 Section 316.2065(1), F.S. 
3 Section 316.2065(3)(d), F.S. 
4 Section 316.2065(15)(a), F.S. 
5 Section 316.2065(7), F.S. 
6 Section 316.2065(10), F.S. 
7 A substandard width lane is any lane that is too narrow for a bicycle and another vehicle to travel safely side-by-side within the lane. 
8 Section 316.2065(5)(a), F.S. 
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Bicycle operators traveling on a one-way highway with two or more marked traffic lanes may ride as 
near to the left-hand curb as practicable9 and bicycle operators may not ride more than two abreast on 
a roadway.10 
 
Electric Bicycles 
In 2002, Congress amended the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) definition of electric 
bicycles (e-bikes).11 The law defines a low-speed e-bike as “A two- or three-wheeled vehicle with fully 
operable pedals and an electric motor of less than 750 watts (1 h.p.), whose maximum speed on a 
paved level surface, when powered solely by such a motor while ridden by an operator who weighs 170 
pounds, is less than 20 mph.” The federal law permits e-bikes to be powered by the motor alone (a 
“throttle-assist” e-bike), or by a combination of motor and human power (a “pedal-assist” e-bike).12 
 
Devices that meet the federal definition of an e-bike are regulated by the CPSC and must meet bicycle 
safety standards. However, federal law only applies to e-bikes’ product standards and safety, and only 
specifies the maximum speed that an e-bike can travel under motor power alone. It does not provide a 
maximum speed when the bicycle is being propelled by a combination of human and motor power. The 
law does distinguish e-bikes that can travel 20 mph or less under motor power alone from motorcycles, 
mopeds, and motor vehicles. The CPSC has clarified that the federal law does not prohibit e-bikes from 
traveling faster than 20 mph when using a combination of human and motor power.13 
 
While the federal government regulates the manufacturing and first sale of an e-bike, its operation on 
streets and bikeways remains within each state’s control. Therefore, many states have their own laws 
that categorize e-bikes with mopeds and other motorized vehicles, require licensure and registration, or 
do not enable them to be used on facilities such as bike lanes or multi-purpose trails.14 
 
According to a 2018 bicycle industry analysis, e-bike sales increased 83 percent between May 2017 
and May 2018, and e-bikes made up 10 percent of overall bike sales in the U.S. for that time period. E-
bikes cost on average $2,000 - $3,000, versus a $1,000 average investment for a mid-range traditional 
commuter bicycle.15 As of June 2019, 22 states define e-bikes with a three-class definition.16 
 
Representatives of the Florida Bicycle Association have expressed some concerns with the e-bike 
three-class definition. One concern is that the class 2 e-bike does not need pedal assist to engage and 
may be more similar to a motorized vehicle than a bicycle. Another concern is that the class 3 e-bike 
can reach speeds of 28 mph, which may be too fast to safely operate on sidewalks or multi-use paths.17 
 
Likewise, some environmental groups, mountain bikers, hunters, and anglers in other states have 
voiced opposition to the authorization of e-bikes on public trails. Their concerns relate to damage to the 
trails, overcrowding of the trails, and too much access to wildlife habitats.18 
 
 
 
Effect of Proposed Changes  
 

                                                 
9 Section 316.2065(5)(b), F.S. 
10 Section 316.2065(6), F.S. 
11 House Bill 727, available at https://www.congress.gov/bill/107th-congress/house-bill/727/text (last visited January 8, 2020).  
12 National Conference of State Legislatures, State Electric Bicycle Laws: A Legislative Primer (March 28, 2019), available at 

https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/state-electric-bicycle-laws-a-legislative-primer.aspx (last visited January 8, 2020).  
13 Id.  
14 Id.  
15 Id.  
16 People for Bikes, 22 States Now Follow the Three Class E-Bike System, Doubling Total in Six Months (July 19, 2019), available at 

https://peopleforbikes.org/blog/22-states-now-follow-the-three-class-ebike-system/ (last visited January 8, 2020).  
17 Email from Becky Afonso, Executive Director, Florida Bicycle Association, RE: E-bikes (November 11, 2019).  
18 See Kurt Repanshek, Dozens of Conservation Groups Oppose eBikes on Non-Motorized Trails, National Parks Traveler (August 7, 

2019), available at https://www.nationalparkstraveler.org/2019/08/dozens-conservation-groups-oppose-ebikes-non-motorized-trails 

(last visited January 8, 2020).  
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The bill removes the definition of “motorized bicycle” from within the definition of “bicycle” and creates a 
separate definition for “electric bicycle” to read: 
 

A bicycle or tricycle equipped with fully operable pedals, a seat or saddle for the 
use of the rider, and an electric motor of less than 750 watts which meets the 
requirements of one of the following three classifications: 
 
“Class 1 electric bicycle” means an electric bicycle equipped with a motor that 
provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling and that ceases to provide 
assistance when the electric bicycle reaches the speed of 20 miles per hour. 
 
“Class 2 electric bicycle” means an electric bicycle equipped with a motor that 
may be used exclusively to propel the electric bicycle and that ceases to provide 
assistance when the electric bicycle reaches the speed of 20 miles per hour. 
 
“Class 3 electric bicycle” means an electric bicycle equipped with a motor that 
provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling and that ceases to provide 
assistance when the electric bicycle reaches the speed of 28 miles per hour. 

 
Additionally, the bill creates regulations governing the operation of e-bikes and provides that an e-bike 
or an operator of an e-bike must be afforded all the rights and privileges, and be subject to all of the 
duties, of a bicycle or the operator of a bicycle. An e-bike is considered a vehicle to the same extent as 

a bicycle, and the bill authorizes an e-bike to operate where bicycles are allowed, including, but not 

limited to, streets, highways, roadways, shoulders, bicycle lanes, and bicycle or multiuse paths. 
However, following notice and a public hearing, a municipality, county, or agency of the state having 
jurisdiction over a bicycle or multiuse path may restrict or prohibit the operation of an e-bike on the path 
if the entity finds that such a restriction is necessary in the interest of public safety or to comply with 
other laws or legal obligations.  
 
The bill provides that an e-bike or an operator of an e-bike is not subject to the provisions of law 
relating to financial responsibility, driver or motor vehicle licenses, vehicle registration, title certificates, 
off-highway motorcycles, or off-highway vehicles. The bill requires that an e-bike must function so that 
the electric motor is disengaged or ceases to function when the rider stops pedaling or when the brakes 
are applied. 
 
The bill requires that beginning January 1, 2021, manufacturers and distributors of e-bikes must apply a 
label that is permanently affixed in a prominent location to each e-bike. The label must contain the 
classification number, top assisted speed, and motor wattage of the e-bike. The bill prohibits a person 
from tampering with or modifying an e-bike in order to change the motor-powered speed capability or 
engagement of an e-bike, unless the label indicating the classification number required is replaced after 
such modification. 
 
The bill removes the registration fee requirement for “motorized bicycles” and makes conforming 
changes to exclude “electric bicycle” from the definitions of “off-highway motorcycle”, “moped”, “motor 
vehicle”, “motorcycle”, and “motorized scooter”.   
 

B. SECTION DIRECTORY: 

Section 1: Amends s. 261.03, F.S., relating to definitions.  
 
Section 2: Amends s. 316.003, F.S., relating to definitions. 
 
Section 3: Amends s. 316.027, F.S., relating to crash involving death or personal injuries.  
 
Section 4: Amends s. 316.083, F.S., relating to overtaking and passing a vehicle.  
 
Section 5: Amends s. 316.1995, F.S., relating to driving upon sidewalk or bicycle path. 
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Section 6: Creates s. 316.20655, F.S., relating to electric bicycle regulations.  
 
Section 7: Amends s. 316.613, F.S., relating to child restraint requirements.  
 
Section 8: Amends s. 316.614, F.S., relating to safety belt usage.  
 
Section 9: Amends s. 320.01, F.S., relating to definitions, general.  
 
Section 10: Amends s. 322.01, F.S., relating to definitions.  
 
Section 11: Amends s. 324.021, F.S., relating to definitions, minimum insurance required.  
 
Section 12: Amends s. 403.717, F.S., relating to waste tire and lead-acid battery requirements. 
 
Section 13: Amends s. 681.102, F.S., relating to definitions. 
 
Section 14: Amends s. 320.08, F.S., relating to license taxes.  
 
Section 15: Amends s. 316.306, F.S., relating to school and work zones; prohibition on the use of a 
wireless communications device in a handheld manner.  
 
Section 16: Amends s. 655.960, F.S., relating to definitions.  
 
Section 17: Provides an effective date of July 1, 2020. 

II.  FISCAL ANALYSIS & ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
 

A. FISCAL IMPACT ON STATE GOVERNMENT: 
 
1. Revenues: 

The bill will likely have a negative but insignificant fiscal impact to the State Transportation Trust 
Fund and Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund. In FY 2018-19, $14,633 was collected by the 
Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for both moped and motorized bicycle 
registration fees.19 Because the data is collected and stored together, it is uncertain what percent of 
the $14,633 is associated with motorized bicycle registration fees. 
 

2. Expenditures: 

The bill will likely have no impact on state government expenditures.  
 

B. FISCAL IMPACT ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS: 
 
1. Revenues: 

The bill will likely have no impact on local government revenues. 
   
 

2. Expenditures: 

The bill will likely have no impact on local government expenditures.  
 

C. DIRECT ECONOMIC IMPACT ON PRIVATE SECTOR: 

The bill may increase the sale of e-bikes in this state.  
 

D. FISCAL COMMENTS: 

                                                 
19 E-mail from Kevin Jacobs, Deputy Legislative Affairs Director, Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, RE: HB 971 

(January 9, 2020).  
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None. 

III.  COMMENTS 
 

A. CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES: 
 

 1. Applicability of Municipality/County Mandates Provision: 

Not applicable. This bill does not appear to require counties or municipalities to spend funds or take 
action requiring the expenditure of funds; reduce the authority that counties or municipalities have to 
raise revenues in the aggregate; or reduce the percentage of state tax shared with counties or 
municipalities. 
 

 2. Other: 

None.  
 

B. RULE-MAKING AUTHORITY: 

The bill does not provide a grant of rulemaking authority, nor does it require rulemaking. 
 

C. DRAFTING ISSUES OR OTHER COMMENTS: 

None. 
 

IV.  AMENDMENTS/ COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE CHANGES 
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A bill to be entitled 1 

An act relating to electric bicycles; amending s. 2 

261.03, F.S.; revising the definition of the term 3 

"OHM" or "off-highway motorcycle"; amending s. 4 

316.003, F.S.; revising definitions relating to the 5 

Florida Uniform Traffic Control Law; defining the term 6 

"electric bicycle"; amending s. 316.027, F.S.; 7 

revising the definition of the term "vulnerable road 8 

user"; amending s. 316.083, F.S.; requiring the driver 9 

of a vehicle overtaking an electric bicycle to pass 10 

the electric bicycle at a certain distance; amending 11 

s. 316.1995, F.S.; expanding exceptions to a 12 

prohibition on persons driving certain vehicles on 13 

sidewalks and bicycle paths; creating s. 316.20655, 14 

F.S.; providing electric bicycle regulations; 15 

providing for rights and privileges of electric 16 

bicycles and operators of electric bicycles; providing 17 

that electric bicycles are vehicles to the same extent 18 

as bicycles; providing that electric bicycles and 19 

operators of electric bicycles are not subject to 20 

specified provisions; requiring manufacturers and 21 

distributers, beginning on a specified date, to apply 22 

a label containing certain information to each 23 

electric bicycle; prohibiting persons from tampering 24 

with or modifying electric bicycles for certain 25 
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purposes; providing an exception; requiring electric 26 

bicycles to comply with specified provisions of law; 27 

requiring electric bicycles to operate in a manner 28 

that meets certain requirements; authorizing operators 29 

to ride electric bicycles where bicycles are allowed; 30 

authorizing municipalities, counties, and agencies to 31 

regulate the use of electric bicycles on certain 32 

paths; amending ss. 316.613, 316.614, and 320.01, 33 

F.S.; revising the definition of the term "motor 34 

vehicle"; amending s. 322.01, F.S.; revising the 35 

definitions of the terms "motor vehicle" and 36 

"vehicle"; amending ss. 324.021, 403.717, and 681.102, 37 

F.S.; revising the definition of the term "motor 38 

vehicle"; amending s. 320.08, F.S.; conforming a 39 

provision to changes made by the act; amending ss. 40 

316.306 and 655.960, F.S.; conforming cross-41 

references; providing an effective date. 42 

 43 

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida: 44 

 45 

 Section 1.  Subsection (4) of section 261.03, Florida 46 

Statutes, is amended to read: 47 

 261.03  Definitions.—As used in this chapter, the term: 48 

 (4)  "OHM" or "off-highway motorcycle" means any motor 49 

vehicle used off the roads or highways of this state that has a 50 
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seat or saddle for the use of the rider and is designed to 51 

travel with not more than two wheels in contact with the ground, 52 

but excludes a tractor, an electric bicycle, or a moped. 53 

 Section 2.  Present subsections (22) through (104) of 54 

section 316.003, Florida Statutes, are redesignated as 55 

subsections (23) through (105), respectively, a new subsection 56 

(22) is added to that section, and subsection (4) and present 57 

subsections (41), (43), (44), (45), and (61) of that section are 58 

amended, to read: 59 

 316.003  Definitions.—The following words and phrases, when 60 

used in this chapter, shall have the meanings respectively 61 

ascribed to them in this section, except where the context 62 

otherwise requires: 63 

 (4)  BICYCLE.—Every vehicle propelled solely by human 64 

power, and every motorized bicycle propelled by a combination of 65 

human power and an electric helper motor capable of propelling 66 

the vehicle at a speed of not more than 20 miles per hour on 67 

level ground upon which any person may ride, having two tandem 68 

wheels, and including any device generally recognized as a 69 

bicycle though equipped with two front or two rear wheels. The 70 

term does not include such a vehicle with a seat height of no 71 

more than 25 inches from the ground when the seat is adjusted to 72 

its highest position or a scooter or similar device. A person 73 

under the age of 16 may not operate or ride upon a motorized 74 

bicycle. 75 



   

 

HB 971  2020 

 

 

 

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions. 

hb0971-00 

Page 4 of 23 

F L O R I D A  H O U S E  O F  R E P R E S E N T A T I V E S 

 

 

 

 (22)  ELECTRIC BICYCLE.—A bicycle or tricycle equipped with 76 

fully operable pedals, a seat or saddle for the use of the 77 

rider, and an electric motor of less than 750 watts which meets 78 

the requirements of one of the following three classifications: 79 

 (a)  "Class 1 electric bicycle" means an electric bicycle 80 

equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the 81 

rider is pedaling and that ceases to provide assistance when the 82 

electric bicycle reaches the speed of 20 miles per hour. 83 

 (b)  "Class 2 electric bicycle" means an electric bicycle 84 

equipped with a motor that may be used exclusively to propel the 85 

electric bicycle and that ceases to provide assistance when the 86 

electric bicycle reaches the speed of 20 miles per hour. 87 

 (c)  "Class 3 electric bicycle" means an electric bicycle 88 

equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the 89 

rider is pedaling and that ceases to provide assistance when the 90 

electric bicycle reaches the speed of 28 miles per hour. 91 

 (42)(41)  MOPED.—Any vehicle with pedals to permit 92 

propulsion by human power, having a seat or saddle for the use 93 

of the rider and designed to travel on not more than three 94 

wheels, with a motor rated not in excess of 2 brake horsepower 95 

and not capable of propelling the vehicle at a speed greater 96 

than 30 miles per hour on level ground and with a power-drive 97 

system that functions directly or automatically without 98 

clutching or shifting gears by the operator after the drive 99 

system is engaged. If an internal combustion engine is used, the 100 
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displacement may not exceed 50 cubic centimeters. The term does 101 

not include an electric bicycle. 102 

 (44)(43)  MOTOR VEHICLE.—Except when used in s. 316.1001, a 103 

self-propelled vehicle not operated upon rails or guideway, but 104 

not including any bicycle, electric bicycle, motorized scooter, 105 

electric personal assistive mobility device, mobile carrier, 106 

personal delivery device, swamp buggy, or moped. For purposes of 107 

s. 316.1001, "motor vehicle" has the same meaning as provided in 108 

s. 320.01(1)(a). 109 

 (45)(44)  MOTORCYCLE.—Any motor vehicle having a seat or 110 

saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel on not 111 

more than three wheels in contact with the ground. The term 112 

includes an autocycle, but does not include a tractor, a moped, 113 

an electric bicycle, or any vehicle in which the operator is 114 

enclosed by a cabin unless it meets the requirements set forth 115 

by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration for a 116 

motorcycle. 117 

 (46)(45)  MOTORIZED SCOOTER.—Any vehicle or micromobility 118 

device that is powered by a motor with or without a seat or 119 

saddle for the use of the rider, which is designed to travel on 120 

not more than three wheels, and which is not capable of 121 

propelling the vehicle at a speed greater than 20 miles per hour 122 

on level ground. The term does not include an electric bicycle. 123 

 (62)(61)  PRIVATE ROAD OR DRIVEWAY.—Except as otherwise 124 

provided in paragraph (84)(b) (83)(b), any privately owned way 125 
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or place used for vehicular travel by the owner and those having 126 

express or implied permission from the owner, but not by other 127 

persons. 128 

 Section 3.  Paragraph (b) of subsection (1) of section 129 

316.027, Florida Statutes, is amended to read: 130 

 316.027  Crash involving death or personal injuries.— 131 

 (1)  As used in this section, the term: 132 

 (b)  "Vulnerable road user" means: 133 

 1.  A pedestrian, including a person actually engaged in 134 

work upon a highway, or in work upon utility facilities along a 135 

highway, or engaged in the provision of emergency services 136 

within the right-of-way; 137 

 2.  A person operating a bicycle, an electric bicycle, a 138 

motorcycle, a scooter, or a moped lawfully on the roadway; 139 

 3.  A person riding an animal; or 140 

 4.  A person lawfully operating on a public right-of-way, 141 

crosswalk, or shoulder of the roadway: 142 

 a.  A farm tractor or similar vehicle designed primarily 143 

for farm use; 144 

 b.  A skateboard, roller skates, or in-line skates; 145 

 c.  A horse-drawn carriage; 146 

 d.  An electric personal assistive mobility device; or 147 

 e.  A wheelchair. 148 

 Section 4.  Subsection (1) of section 316.083, Florida 149 

Statutes, is amended to read: 150 
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 316.083  Overtaking and passing a vehicle.—The following 151 

rules shall govern the overtaking and passing of vehicles 152 

proceeding in the same direction, subject to those limitations, 153 

exceptions, and special rules hereinafter stated: 154 

 (1)  The driver of a vehicle overtaking another vehicle 155 

proceeding in the same direction shall give an appropriate 156 

signal as provided for in s. 316.156, shall pass to the left 157 

thereof at a safe distance, and shall not again drive to the 158 

right side of the roadway until safely clear of the overtaken 159 

vehicle. The driver of a vehicle overtaking a bicycle or other 160 

nonmotorized vehicle, or an electric bicycle, must pass the 161 

bicycle, or other nonmotorized vehicle, or electric bicycle at a 162 

safe distance of not less than 3 feet between the vehicle and 163 

the bicycle, or other nonmotorized vehicle, or electric bicycle. 164 

 Section 5.  Section 316.1995, Florida Statutes, is amended 165 

to read: 166 

 316.1995  Driving upon sidewalk or bicycle path.— 167 

 (1)  Except as provided in s. 316.008, s. 316.20655, s. 168 

316.212(8), or s. 316.2128, a person may not drive any vehicle 169 

other than by human power upon a bicycle path, sidewalk, or 170 

sidewalk area, except upon a permanent or duly authorized 171 

temporary driveway. 172 

 (2)  A violation of this section is a noncriminal traffic 173 

infraction, punishable as a moving violation as provided in 174 

chapter 318. 175 
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 (3)  This section does not apply to motorized wheelchairs. 176 

 Section 6.  Section 316.20655, Florida Statutes, is created 177 

to read: 178 

 316.20655  Electric bicycle regulations.— 179 

 (1)  Except as otherwise provided in this section, an 180 

electric bicycle or an operator of an electric bicycle shall be 181 

afforded all the rights and privileges, and be subject to all of 182 

the duties, of a bicycle or the operator of a bicycle, including 183 

s. 316.2065. An electric bicycle is a vehicle to the same extent 184 

as a bicycle. 185 

 (2)  An electric bicycle or an operator of an electric 186 

bicycle is not subject to the provisions of law relating to 187 

financial responsibility, driver or motor vehicle licenses, 188 

vehicle registration, title certificates, off-highway 189 

motorcycles, or off-highway vehicles. 190 

 (3)  Beginning on January 1, 2021, manufacturers and 191 

distributors of electric bicycles shall apply a label that is 192 

permanently affixed in a prominent location to each electric 193 

bicycle. The label must contain the classification number, top 194 

assisted speed, and motor wattage of the electric bicycle. 195 

 (4)  A person may not tamper with or modify an electric 196 

bicycle so as to change the motor-powered speed capability or 197 

engagement of an electric bicycle, unless the label indicating 198 

the classification number required in subsection (3) is replaced 199 

after such modification. 200 
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 (5)  An electric bicycle must comply with the equipment and 201 

manufacturing requirements for bicycles adopted by the United 202 

States Consumer Product Safety Commission under 16 C.F.R. part 203 

1512. 204 

 (6)  An electric bicycle must operate in a manner so that 205 

the electric motor is disengaged or ceases to function when the 206 

rider stops pedaling or when the brakes are applied. 207 

 (7)(a)  An operator may ride an electric bicycle where 208 

bicycles are allowed, including, but not limited to, streets, 209 

highways, roadways, shoulders, bicycle lanes, and bicycle or 210 

multiuse paths. 211 

 (b)  Following notice and a public hearing, a municipality, 212 

county, or agency of the state having jurisdiction over a 213 

bicycle or multiuse path may restrict or prohibit the operation 214 

of an electric bicycle on the path if the municipality, county, 215 

or agency finds that such a restriction is necessary in the 216 

interest of public safety or to comply with other laws or legal 217 

obligations. 218 

 Section 7.  Paragraph (e) of subsection (2) of section 219 

316.613, Florida Statutes, is amended to read: 220 

 316.613  Child restraint requirements.— 221 

 (2)  As used in this section, the term "motor vehicle" 222 

means a motor vehicle as defined in s. 316.003 that is operated 223 

on the roadways, streets, and highways of the state. The term 224 

does not include: 225 
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 (e)  A motorcycle, a moped, a or bicycle, or an electric 226 

bicycle. 227 

 Section 8.  Paragraph (a) of subsection (3) of section 228 

316.614, Florida Statutes, is amended to read: 229 

 316.614  Safety belt usage.— 230 

 (3)  As used in this section: 231 

 (a)  "Motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle as defined in s. 232 

316.003 which is operated on the roadways, streets, and highways 233 

of this state. The term does not include: 234 

 1.  A school bus. 235 

 2.  A bus used for the transportation of persons for 236 

compensation. 237 

 3.  A farm tractor or implement of husbandry. 238 

 4.  A truck having a gross vehicle weight rating of more 239 

than 26,000 pounds. 240 

 5.  A motorcycle, a moped, a or bicycle, or an electric 241 

bicycle. 242 

 Section 9.  Paragraph (a) of subsection (1) of section 243 

320.01, Florida Statutes, is amended to read: 244 

 320.01  Definitions, general.—As used in the Florida 245 

Statutes, except as otherwise provided, the term: 246 

 (1)  "Motor vehicle" means: 247 

 (a)  An automobile, motorcycle, truck, trailer, 248 

semitrailer, truck tractor and semitrailer combination, or any 249 

other vehicle operated on the roads of this state, used to 250 
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transport persons or property, and propelled by power other than 251 

muscular power, but the term does not include traction engines, 252 

road rollers, motorized scooters, micromobility devices, 253 

personal delivery devices and mobile carriers as defined in s. 254 

316.003, special mobile equipment as defined in s. 316.003, 255 

vehicles that run only upon a track, bicycles, electric 256 

bicycles, swamp buggies, or mopeds. 257 

 Section 10.  Subsections (27) and (44) of section 322.01, 258 

Florida Statutes, are amended to read: 259 

 322.01  Definitions.—As used in this chapter: 260 

 (27)  "Motor vehicle" means any self-propelled vehicle, 261 

including a motor vehicle combination, not operated upon rails 262 

or guideway, excluding vehicles moved solely by human power, 263 

motorized wheelchairs, and electric motorized bicycles as 264 

defined in s. 316.003. 265 

 (44)  "Vehicle" means every device in, upon, or by which 266 

any person or property is or may be transported or drawn upon a 267 

public highway or operated upon rails or guideway, except a 268 

bicycle, motorized wheelchair, or electric motorized bicycle. 269 

 Section 11.  Subsection (1) of section 324.021, Florida 270 

Statutes, is amended to read: 271 

 324.021  Definitions; minimum insurance required.—The 272 

following words and phrases when used in this chapter shall, for 273 

the purpose of this chapter, have the meanings respectively 274 

ascribed to them in this section, except in those instances 275 
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where the context clearly indicates a different meaning: 276 

 (1)  MOTOR VEHICLE.—Every self-propelled vehicle that is 277 

designed and required to be licensed for use upon a highway, 278 

including trailers and semitrailers designed for use with such 279 

vehicles, except traction engines, road rollers, farm tractors, 280 

power shovels, and well drillers, and every vehicle that is 281 

propelled by electric power obtained from overhead wires but not 282 

operated upon rails, but not including any personal delivery 283 

device or mobile carrier as defined in s. 316.003, bicycle, 284 

electric bicycle, or moped. However, the term "motor vehicle" 285 

does not include a motor vehicle as defined in s. 627.732(3) 286 

when the owner of such vehicle has complied with the 287 

requirements of ss. 627.730-627.7405, inclusive, unless the 288 

provisions of s. 324.051 apply; and, in such case, the 289 

applicable proof of insurance provisions of s. 320.02 apply. 290 

 Section 12.  Paragraph (b) of subsection (1) of section 291 

403.717, Florida Statutes, is amended to read: 292 

 403.717  Waste tire and lead-acid battery requirements.— 293 

 (1)  For purposes of this section and ss. 403.718 and 294 

403.7185: 295 

 (b)  "Motor vehicle" means an automobile, motorcycle, 296 

truck, trailer, semitrailer, truck tractor and semitrailer 297 

combination, or any other vehicle operated in this state, used 298 

to transport persons or property and propelled by power other 299 

than muscular power. The term does not include traction engines, 300 



   

 

HB 971  2020 

 

 

 

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions. 

hb0971-00 

Page 13 of 23 

F L O R I D A  H O U S E  O F  R E P R E S E N T A T I V E S 

 

 

 

road rollers, vehicles that run only upon a track, bicycles, 301 

electric bicycles, mopeds, or farm tractors and trailers. 302 

 Section 13.  Subsection (14) of section 681.102, Florida 303 

Statutes, is amended to read: 304 

 681.102  Definitions.—As used in this chapter, the term: 305 

 (14)  "Motor vehicle" means a new vehicle, propelled by 306 

power other than muscular power, which is sold in this state to 307 

transport persons or property, and includes a recreational 308 

vehicle or a vehicle used as a demonstrator or leased vehicle if 309 

a manufacturer's warranty was issued as a condition of sale, or 310 

the lessee is responsible for repairs, but does not include 311 

vehicles run only upon tracks, off-road vehicles, trucks over 312 

10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight, motorcycles, mopeds, 313 

electric bicycles, or the living facilities of recreational 314 

vehicles. "Living facilities of recreational vehicles" are those 315 

portions designed, used, or maintained primarily as living 316 

quarters and include, but are not limited to, the flooring, 317 

plumbing system and fixtures, roof air conditioner, furnace, 318 

generator, electrical systems other than automotive circuits, 319 

the side entrance door, exterior compartments, and windows other 320 

than the windshield and driver and front passenger windows. 321 

 Section 14.  Section 320.08, Florida Statutes, is amended 322 

to read: 323 

 320.08  License taxes.—Except as otherwise provided herein, 324 

there are hereby levied and imposed annual license taxes for the 325 



   

 

HB 971  2020 

 

 

 

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions. 

hb0971-00 

Page 14 of 23 

F L O R I D A  H O U S E  O F  R E P R E S E N T A T I V E S 

 

 

 

operation of motor vehicles, mopeds, motorized bicycles as 326 

defined in s. 316.003(4), tri-vehicles as defined in s. 316.003, 327 

and mobile homes as defined in s. 320.01, which shall be paid to 328 

and collected by the department or its agent upon the 329 

registration or renewal of registration of the following: 330 

 (1)  MOTORCYCLES AND MOPEDS.— 331 

 (a)  Any motorcycle: $10 flat. 332 

 (b)  Any moped: $5 flat. 333 

 (c)  Upon registration of a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle, 334 

or moped, in addition to the license taxes specified in this 335 

subsection, a nonrefundable motorcycle safety education fee in 336 

the amount of $2.50 shall be paid. The proceeds of such 337 

additional fee shall be deposited in the Highway Safety 338 

Operating Trust Fund to fund a motorcycle driver improvement 339 

program implemented pursuant to s. 322.025, the Florida 340 

Motorcycle Safety Education Program established in s. 322.0255, 341 

or the general operations of the department. 342 

 (d)  An ancient or antique motorcycle: $7.50 flat. 343 

 (2)  AUTOMOBILES OR TRI-VEHICLES FOR PRIVATE USE.— 344 

 (a)  An ancient or antique automobile, as defined in s. 345 

320.086, or a street rod, as defined in s. 320.0863: $7.50 flat. 346 

 (b)  Net weight of less than 2,500 pounds: $14.50 flat. 347 

 (c)  Net weight of 2,500 pounds or more, but less than 348 

3,500 pounds: $22.50 flat. 349 

 (d)  Net weight of 3,500 pounds or more: $32.50 flat. 350 
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 (3)  TRUCKS.— 351 

 (a)  Net weight of less than 2,000 pounds: $14.50 flat. 352 

 (b)  Net weight of 2,000 pounds or more, but not more than 353 

3,000 pounds: $22.50 flat. 354 

 (c)  Net weight more than 3,000 pounds, but not more than 355 

5,000 pounds: $32.50 flat. 356 

 (d)  A truck defined as a "goat," or other vehicle if used 357 

in the field by a farmer or in the woods for the purpose of 358 

harvesting a crop, including naval stores, during such 359 

harvesting operations, and which is not principally operated 360 

upon the roads of the state: $7.50 flat. The term "goat" means a 361 

motor vehicle designed, constructed, and used principally for 362 

the transportation of citrus fruit within citrus groves or for 363 

the transportation of crops on farms, and which can also be used 364 

for hauling associated equipment or supplies, including required 365 

sanitary equipment, and the towing of farm trailers. 366 

 (e)  An ancient or antique truck, as defined in s. 320.086: 367 

$7.50 flat. 368 

 (4)  HEAVY TRUCKS, TRUCK TRACTORS, FEES ACCORDING TO GROSS 369 

VEHICLE WEIGHT.— 370 

 (a)  Gross vehicle weight of 5,001 pounds or more, but less 371 

than 6,000 pounds: $60.75 flat. 372 

 (b)  Gross vehicle weight of 6,000 pounds or more, but less 373 

than 8,000 pounds: $87.75 flat. 374 

 (c)  Gross vehicle weight of 8,000 pounds or more, but less 375 
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than 10,000 pounds: $103 flat. 376 

 (d)  Gross vehicle weight of 10,000 pounds or more, but 377 

less than 15,000 pounds: $118 flat. 378 

 (e)  Gross vehicle weight of 15,000 pounds or more, but 379 

less than 20,000 pounds: $177 flat. 380 

 (f)  Gross vehicle weight of 20,000 pounds or more, but 381 

less than 26,001 pounds: $251 flat. 382 

 (g)  Gross vehicle weight of 26,001 pounds or more, but 383 

less than 35,000: $324 flat. 384 

 (h)  Gross vehicle weight of 35,000 pounds or more, but 385 

less than 44,000 pounds: $405 flat. 386 

 (i)  Gross vehicle weight of 44,000 pounds or more, but 387 

less than 55,000 pounds: $773 flat. 388 

 (j)  Gross vehicle weight of 55,000 pounds or more, but 389 

less than 62,000 pounds: $916 flat. 390 

 (k)  Gross vehicle weight of 62,000 pounds or more, but 391 

less than 72,000 pounds: $1,080 flat. 392 

 (l)  Gross vehicle weight of 72,000 pounds or more: $1,322 393 

flat. 394 

 (m)  Notwithstanding the declared gross vehicle weight, a 395 

truck tractor used within the state or within a 150-mile radius 396 

of its home address is eligible for a license plate for a fee of 397 

$324 flat if: 398 

 1.  The truck tractor is used exclusively for hauling 399 

forestry products; or 400 
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 2.  The truck tractor is used primarily for the hauling of 401 

forestry products, and is also used for the hauling of 402 

associated forestry harvesting equipment used by the owner of 403 

the truck tractor. 404 

 (n)  A truck tractor or heavy truck, not operated as a for-405 

hire vehicle and which is engaged exclusively in transporting 406 

raw, unprocessed, and nonmanufactured agricultural or 407 

horticultural products within the state or within a 150-mile 408 

radius of its home address is eligible for a restricted license 409 

plate for a fee of: 410 

 1.  If such vehicle's declared gross vehicle weight is less 411 

than 44,000 pounds, $87.75 flat. 412 

 2.  If such vehicle's declared gross vehicle weight is 413 

44,000 pounds or more and such vehicle only transports from the 414 

point of production to the point of primary manufacture; to the 415 

point of assembling the same; or to a shipping point of a rail, 416 

water, or motor transportation company, $324 flat. 417 

 418 

Such not-for-hire truck tractors and heavy trucks used 419 

exclusively in transporting raw, unprocessed, and 420 

nonmanufactured agricultural or horticultural products may be 421 

incidentally used to haul farm implements and fertilizers 422 

delivered direct to the growers. The department may require any 423 

documentation deemed necessary to determine eligibility before 424 

issuance of this license plate. For the purpose of this 425 
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paragraph, "not-for-hire" means the owner of the motor vehicle 426 

must also be the owner of the raw, unprocessed, and 427 

nonmanufactured agricultural or horticultural product, or the 428 

user of the farm implements and fertilizer being delivered. 429 

 (5)  SEMITRAILERS, FEES ACCORDING TO GROSS VEHICLE WEIGHT; 430 

SCHOOL BUSES; SPECIAL PURPOSE VEHICLES.— 431 

 (a)1.  A semitrailer drawn by a GVW truck tractor by means 432 

of a fifth-wheel arrangement: $13.50 flat per registration year 433 

or any part thereof. 434 

 2.  A semitrailer drawn by a GVW truck tractor by means of 435 

a fifth-wheel arrangement: $68 flat per permanent registration. 436 

 (b)  A motor vehicle equipped with machinery and designed 437 

for the exclusive purpose of well drilling, excavation, 438 

construction, spraying, or similar activity, and which is not 439 

designed or used to transport loads other than the machinery 440 

described above over public roads: $44 flat. 441 

 (c)  A school bus used exclusively to transport pupils to 442 

and from school or school or church activities or functions 443 

within their own county: $41 flat. 444 

 (d)  A wrecker, as defined in s. 320.01, which is used to 445 

tow a vessel as defined in s. 327.02, a disabled, abandoned, 446 

stolen-recovered, or impounded motor vehicle as defined in s. 447 

320.01, or a replacement motor vehicle as defined in s. 320.01: 448 

$41 flat. 449 

 (e)  A wrecker that is used to tow any nondisabled motor 450 
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vehicle, a vessel, or any other cargo unless used as defined in 451 

paragraph (d), as follows: 452 

 1.  Gross vehicle weight of 10,000 pounds or more, but less 453 

than 15,000 pounds: $118 flat. 454 

 2.  Gross vehicle weight of 15,000 pounds or more, but less 455 

than 20,000 pounds: $177 flat. 456 

 3.  Gross vehicle weight of 20,000 pounds or more, but less 457 

than 26,000 pounds: $251 flat. 458 

 4.  Gross vehicle weight of 26,000 pounds or more, but less 459 

than 35,000 pounds: $324 flat. 460 

 5.  Gross vehicle weight of 35,000 pounds or more, but less 461 

than 44,000 pounds: $405 flat. 462 

 6.  Gross vehicle weight of 44,000 pounds or more, but less 463 

than 55,000 pounds: $772 flat. 464 

 7.  Gross vehicle weight of 55,000 pounds or more, but less 465 

than 62,000 pounds: $915 flat. 466 

 8.  Gross vehicle weight of 62,000 pounds or more, but less 467 

than 72,000 pounds: $1,080 flat. 468 

 9.  Gross vehicle weight of 72,000 pounds or more: $1,322 469 

flat. 470 

 (f)  A hearse or ambulance: $40.50 flat. 471 

 (6)  MOTOR VEHICLES FOR HIRE.— 472 

 (a)  Under nine passengers: $17 flat plus $1.50 per cwt. 473 

 (b)  Nine passengers and over: $17 flat plus $2 per cwt. 474 

 (7)  TRAILERS FOR PRIVATE USE.— 475 
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 (a)  Any trailer weighing 500 pounds or less: $6.75 flat 476 

per year or any part thereof. 477 

 (b)  Net weight over 500 pounds: $3.50 flat plus $1 per 478 

cwt. 479 

 (8)  TRAILERS FOR HIRE.— 480 

 (a)  Net weight under 2,000 pounds: $3.50 flat plus $1.50 481 

per cwt. 482 

 (b)  Net weight 2,000 pounds or more: $13.50 flat plus 483 

$1.50 per cwt. 484 

 (9)  RECREATIONAL VEHICLE-TYPE UNITS.— 485 

 (a)  A travel trailer or fifth-wheel trailer, as defined by 486 

s. 320.01(1)(b), that does not exceed 35 feet in length: $27 487 

flat. 488 

 (b)  A camping trailer, as defined by s. 320.01(1)(b)2.: 489 

$13.50 flat. 490 

 (c)  A motor home, as defined by s. 320.01(1)(b)4.: 491 

 1.  Net weight of less than 4,500 pounds: $27 flat. 492 

 2.  Net weight of 4,500 pounds or more: $47.25 flat. 493 

 (d)  A truck camper as defined by s. 320.01(1)(b)3.: 494 

 1.  Net weight of less than 4,500 pounds: $27 flat. 495 

 2.  Net weight of 4,500 pounds or more: $47.25 flat. 496 

 (e)  A private motor coach as defined by s. 320.01(1)(b)5.: 497 

 1.  Net weight of less than 4,500 pounds: $27 flat. 498 

 2.  Net weight of 4,500 pounds or more: $47.25 flat. 499 

 (10)  PARK TRAILERS; TRAVEL TRAILERS; FIFTH-WHEEL TRAILERS; 500 
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35 FEET TO 40 FEET.— 501 

 (a)  Park trailers.—Any park trailer, as defined in s. 502 

320.01(1)(b)7.: $25 flat. 503 

 (b)  Travel trailers or fifth-wheel trailers.—A travel 504 

trailer or fifth-wheel trailer, as defined in s. 320.01(1)(b), 505 

that exceeds 35 feet: $25 flat. 506 

 (11)  MOBILE HOMES.— 507 

 (a)  A mobile home not exceeding 35 feet in length: $20 508 

flat. 509 

 (b)  A mobile home over 35 feet in length, but not 510 

exceeding 40 feet: $25 flat. 511 

 (c)  A mobile home over 40 feet in length, but not 512 

exceeding 45 feet: $30 flat. 513 

 (d)  A mobile home over 45 feet in length, but not 514 

exceeding 50 feet: $35 flat. 515 

 (e)  A mobile home over 50 feet in length, but not 516 

exceeding 55 feet: $40 flat. 517 

 (f)  A mobile home over 55 feet in length, but not 518 

exceeding 60 feet: $45 flat. 519 

 (g)  A mobile home over 60 feet in length, but not 520 

exceeding 65 feet: $50 flat. 521 

 (h)  A mobile home over 65 feet in length: $80 flat. 522 

 (12)  DEALER AND MANUFACTURER LICENSE PLATES.—A franchised 523 

motor vehicle dealer, independent motor vehicle dealer, marine 524 

boat trailer dealer, or mobile home dealer and manufacturer 525 
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license plate: $17 flat. 526 

 (13)  EXEMPT OR OFFICIAL LICENSE PLATES.—Any exempt or 527 

official license plate: $4 flat, except that the registration or 528 

renewal of a registration of a marine boat trailer exempt under 529 

s. 320.102 is not subject to any license tax. 530 

 (14)  LOCALLY OPERATED MOTOR VEHICLES FOR HIRE.—A motor 531 

vehicle for hire operated wholly within a city or within 25 532 

miles thereof: $17 flat plus $2 per cwt. 533 

 (15)  TRANSPORTER.—Any transporter license plate issued to 534 

a transporter pursuant to s. 320.133: $101.25 flat. 535 

 Section 15.  Paragraph (a) of subsection (3) of section 536 

316.306, Florida Statutes, is amended to read: 537 

 316.306  School and work zones; prohibition on the use of a 538 

wireless communications device in a handheld manner.— 539 

 (3)(a)1.  A person may not operate a motor vehicle while 540 

using a wireless communications device in a handheld manner in a 541 

designated school crossing, school zone, or work zone area as 542 

defined in s. 316.003(105) s. 316.003(104). This subparagraph 543 

shall only be applicable to work zone areas if construction 544 

personnel are present or are operating equipment on the road or 545 

immediately adjacent to the work zone area. For the purposes of 546 

this paragraph, a motor vehicle that is stationary is not being 547 

operated and is not subject to the prohibition in this 548 

paragraph. 549 

 2.a.  During the period from October 1, 2019, through 550 
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December 31, 2019, a law enforcement officer may stop motor 551 

vehicles to issue verbal or written warnings to persons who are 552 

in violation of subparagraph 1. for the purposes of informing 553 

and educating such persons of this section. This sub-554 

subparagraph shall stand repealed on October 1, 2020. 555 

 b.  Effective January 1, 2020, a law enforcement officer 556 

may stop motor vehicles and issue citations to persons who are 557 

driving while using a wireless communications device in a 558 

handheld manner in violation of subparagraph 1. 559 

 Section 16.  Subsection (1) of section 655.960, Florida 560 

Statutes, is amended to read: 561 

 655.960  Definitions; ss. 655.960-655.965.—As used in this 562 

section and ss. 655.961-655.965, unless the context otherwise 563 

requires: 564 

 (1)  "Access area" means any paved walkway or sidewalk 565 

which is within 50 feet of any automated teller machine. The 566 

term does not include any street or highway open to the use of 567 

the public, as defined in s. 316.003(84)(a) or (b) s. 568 

316.003(83)(a) or (b), including any adjacent sidewalk, as 569 

defined in s. 316.003. 570 

 Section 17.  This act shall take effect July 1, 2020. 571 
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Committee/Subcommittee hearing bill:  Transportation & 1 

Infrastructure Subcommittee 2 

Representative Grant, M. offered the following: 3 

 4 

 Amendment (with title amendment) 5 

 Remove lines 71-185 and insert: 6 

term does not include such a vehicle with a seat height of no 7 

more than 25 inches from the ground when the seat is adjusted to 8 

its highest position or a scooter or similar device. A person 9 

under the age of 16 may not operate or ride upon a motorized 10 

bicycle. 11 

 (22)  ELECTRIC BICYCLE.—A bicycle or tricycle equipped with 12 

fully operable pedals, a seat or saddle for the use of the 13 

rider, and an electric motor of less than 750 watts which meets 14 

the requirements of one of the following three classifications: 15 

 (a)  "Class 1 electric bicycle" means an electric bicycle 16 
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equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the 17 

rider is pedaling and that ceases to provide assistance when the 18 

electric bicycle reaches the speed of 20 miles per hour. 19 

 (b)  "Class 2 electric bicycle" means an electric bicycle 20 

equipped with a motor that may be used exclusively to propel the 21 

electric bicycle and that ceases to provide assistance when the 22 

electric bicycle reaches the speed of 20 miles per hour. 23 

 (c)  "Class 3 electric bicycle" means an electric bicycle 24 

equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the 25 

rider is pedaling and that ceases to provide assistance when the 26 

electric bicycle reaches the speed of 28 miles per hour. 27 

 (42)(41)  MOPED.—Any vehicle with pedals to permit 28 

propulsion by human power, having a seat or saddle for the use 29 

of the rider and designed to travel on not more than three 30 

wheels, with a motor rated not in excess of 2 brake horsepower 31 

and not capable of propelling the vehicle at a speed greater 32 

than 30 miles per hour on level ground and with a power-drive 33 

system that functions directly or automatically without 34 

clutching or shifting gears by the operator after the drive 35 

system is engaged. If an internal combustion engine is used, the 36 

displacement may not exceed 50 cubic centimeters. The term does 37 

not include an electric bicycle. 38 

 (44)(43)  MOTOR VEHICLE.—Except when used in s. 316.1001, a 39 

self-propelled vehicle not operated upon rails or guideway, but 40 

not including any bicycle, electric bicycle, motorized scooter, 41 
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electric personal assistive mobility device, mobile carrier, 42 

personal delivery device, swamp buggy, or moped. For purposes of 43 

s. 316.1001, "motor vehicle" has the same meaning as provided in 44 

s. 320.01(1)(a). 45 

 (45)(44)  MOTORCYCLE.—Any motor vehicle having a seat or 46 

saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel on not 47 

more than three wheels in contact with the ground. The term 48 

includes an autocycle, but does not include a tractor, a moped, 49 

an electric bicycle, or any vehicle in which the operator is 50 

enclosed by a cabin unless it meets the requirements set forth 51 

by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration for a 52 

motorcycle. 53 

 (46)(45)  MOTORIZED SCOOTER.—Any vehicle or micromobility 54 

device that is powered by a motor with or without a seat or 55 

saddle for the use of the rider, which is designed to travel on 56 

not more than three wheels, and which is not capable of 57 

propelling the vehicle at a speed greater than 20 miles per hour 58 

on level ground. The term does not include an electric bicycle. 59 

 (62)(61)  PRIVATE ROAD OR DRIVEWAY.—Except as otherwise 60 

provided in paragraph (84)(b) (83)(b), any privately owned way 61 

or place used for vehicular travel by the owner and those having 62 

express or implied permission from the owner, but not by other 63 

persons. 64 

 Section 3.  Paragraph (a) of subsection (7) of section 65 

316.008, Florida Statutes, is amended to read: 66 
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   316.008  Powers of local authorities.— 67 

 (7)(a)  A county or municipality may enact an ordinance to 68 

permit, control, or regulate the operation of vehicles, golf 69 

carts, mopeds, motorized scooters, electric bicycles, and 70 

electric personal assistive mobility devices on sidewalks or 71 

sidewalk areas when such use is permissible under federal law. 72 

The ordinance must restrict such vehicles or devices to a 73 

maximum speed of 15 miles per hour in such areas.     74 

 Section 4.  Paragraph (b) of subsection (1) of section 75 

316.027, Florida Statutes, is amended to read: 76 

 316.027  Crash involving death or personal injuries.— 77 

 (1)  As used in this section, the term: 78 

 (b)  "Vulnerable road user" means: 79 

 1.  A pedestrian, including a person actually engaged in 80 

work upon a highway, or in work upon utility facilities along a 81 

highway, or engaged in the provision of emergency services 82 

within the right-of-way; 83 

 2.  A person operating a bicycle, an electric bicycle, a 84 

motorcycle, a scooter, or a moped lawfully on the roadway; 85 

 3.  A person riding an animal; or 86 

 4.  A person lawfully operating on a public right-of-way, 87 

crosswalk, or shoulder of the roadway: 88 

 a.  A farm tractor or similar vehicle designed primarily 89 

for farm use; 90 

 b.  A skateboard, roller skates, or in-line skates; 91 
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 c.  A horse-drawn carriage; 92 

 d.  An electric personal assistive mobility device; or 93 

 e.  A wheelchair. 94 

 Section 5.  Subsection (1) of section 316.083, Florida 95 

Statutes, is amended to read: 96 

 316.083  Overtaking and passing a vehicle.—The following 97 

rules shall govern the overtaking and passing of vehicles 98 

proceeding in the same direction, subject to those limitations, 99 

exceptions, and special rules hereinafter stated: 100 

 (1)  The driver of a vehicle overtaking another vehicle 101 

proceeding in the same direction shall give an appropriate 102 

signal as provided for in s. 316.156, shall pass to the left 103 

thereof at a safe distance, and shall not again drive to the 104 

right side of the roadway until safely clear of the overtaken 105 

vehicle. The driver of a vehicle overtaking a bicycle or other 106 

nonmotorized vehicle, or an electric bicycle, must pass the 107 

bicycle, or other nonmotorized vehicle, or electric bicycle at a 108 

safe distance of not less than 3 feet between the vehicle and 109 

the bicycle, or other nonmotorized vehicle, or electric bicycle. 110 

 Section 6.  Section 316.1995, Florida Statutes, is amended 111 

to read: 112 

 316.1995  Driving upon sidewalk or bicycle path.— 113 

 (1)  Except as provided in s. 316.008, s. 316.20655, s. 114 

316.212(8), or s. 316.2128, a person may not drive any vehicle 115 

other than by human power upon a bicycle path, sidewalk, or 116 
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sidewalk area, except upon a permanent or duly authorized 117 

temporary driveway. 118 

 (2)  A violation of this section is a noncriminal traffic 119 

infraction, punishable as a moving violation as provided in 120 

chapter 318. 121 

 (3)  This section does not apply to motorized wheelchairs. 122 

 Section 7.  Paragraph (d) of subsection (2) of section 123 

316.2065, Florida Statutes, is amended to read: 124 

 316.2065  Bicycle regulations.— 125 

 (3) 126 

 (d)  A bicycle rider or passenger who is under 16 years of 127 

age must wear a bicycle helmet that is properly fitted and is 128 

fastened securely upon the passenger's head by a strap and that 129 

meets the federal safety standard for bicycle helmets, final 130 

rule, 16 C.F.R. part 1203. A helmet purchased before October 1, 131 

2012, which meets the standards of the American National 132 

Standards Institute (ANSI Z 90.4 Bicycle Helmet Standards), the 133 

standards of the Snell Memorial Foundation (1984 Standard for 134 

Protective Headgear for Use in Bicycling), or any other 135 

nationally recognized standards for bicycle helmets adopted by 136 

the department may continue to be worn by a bicycle rider or 137 

passenger until January 1, 2016. As used in this subsection, the 138 

term "passenger" includes a child who is riding in a trailer or 139 

semitrailer attached to a bicycle.  140 

 Section 8.  Section 316.20655, Florida Statutes, is created 141 
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to read: 142 

 316.20655  Electric bicycle regulations.— 143 

 (1)  Except as otherwise provided in this section, an 144 

electric bicycle or an operator of an electric bicycle shall be 145 

afforded all the rights and privileges, and be subject to all of 146 

the duties, of a bicycle or the operator of a bicycle, including 147 

s. 316.2065. An electric bicycle is a vehicle to the same extent 148 

as a bicycle. However, this section may not be construed to 149 

prevent a local government, through the exercise of its powers 150 

under s.316.008, from adopting an ordinance governing the 151 

operation of electric bicycles on streets, highways, sidewalks, 152 

and sidewalk areas under the local government's jurisdiction. 153 

 154 

----------------------------------------------------- 155 

T I T L E  A M E N D M E N T 156 

 Remove lines 7-14 and insert: 157 

"electric bicycle"; amending s. 316.008, F.S.; authorizing local 158 

authorities to regulate the operation of electric bicycles; 159 

amending s. 316.027, F.S.; revising the definition of the term 160 

"vulnerable road user"; amending s. 316.083, F.S.; requiring the 161 

driver of a vehicle overtaking an electric bicycle to pass the 162 

electric bicycle at a certain distance; amending s. 316.1995, 163 

F.S.; expanding exceptions to a prohibition on persons driving 164 

certain vehicles on sidewalks and bicycle paths; amending s. 165 
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316.2065, F.S.; removing outdated standards for bicycle helmets; 166 

creating s. 316.20655, 167 
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SUMMARY ANALYSIS 

A transportation network company (TNC) is an entity that uses a digital network to connect a rider to a TNC 
driver, who provides prearranged rides. With certain exceptions, a “for-hire vehicle” means any motor vehicle 
used for transporting persons or goods for compensation, or let or rented to another for consideration. There 
are different regulatory and insurance requirements in place for TNCs and for-hire vehicles. 
 
The bill defines “luxury ground transportation network company” to mean a company that uses its digital 
network to connect riders exclusively to drivers who operate for-hire vehicles, including limousines and luxury 
sedans. The bill requires luxury ground TNCs to comply with all of the requirements applicable to a TNC, and 
requires maintenance of specific insurance coverage at all times. 
 
The bill defines “transportation network company digital advertising device” to mean a device no larger than 20 
inches tall and 54 inches long that is fixed to the roof of a TNC vehicle and that displays advertisements on a 
digital screen only while the TNC vehicle is turned on. The bill provides additional requirements for the use and 
display of a TNC digital advertising device.  
 
The bill provides that a luxury ground TNC is not considered a for-hire vehicle and that the regulation of luxury 
ground TNCs, luxury ground TNC drivers, and luxury ground TNC vehicles is preempted to the state. 
 
The bill may have a fiscal impact on the Department of Financial Services. To the extent that local 
governments currently collect revenue from regulation of digital advertising on vehicles, or fees from regulation 
of limousines and luxury sedans, that revenue will be negatively impacted. See Fiscal Analysis section for 
details.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FULL ANALYSIS 
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I.  SUBSTANTIVE ANALYSIS 
 
A. EFFECT OF PROPOSED CHANGES: 

Current Situation 
 
Transportation Network Companies 
In 2017, the Legislature established a regulatory framework for transportation network companies 
(TNCs).1 The law defines a “TNC” as an entity operating in this state that uses a digital network to 
connect a rider2 to a TNC driver, who provides prearranged rides. A TNC is not deemed to own, 
control, operate, direct, or manage the TNC vehicles or TNC drivers that connect to its digital network, 
except where agreed to by written contract, and is not a taxicab association or for-hire vehicle owner. 
The term does not include entities arranging nonemergency medical transportation for individuals who 
qualify for Medicaid or Medicare pursuant to a contract with the state or a managed care organization. 
 
A “TNC vehicle” is defined as a vehicle that is used by a TNC driver to offer or provide a prearranged 
ride and that is owned, leased, or otherwise authorized to be used by the TNC driver. A vehicle that is 
let or rented to another for consideration may be used as a TNC vehicle. The law specifies that a 
taxicab, jitney, limousine, or for-hire vehicle is not a TNC vehicle.  
 
A “prearranged ride” is defined as the provision of transportation by a TNC driver to a rider, beginning 
when a TNC driver accepts a ride requested by a rider through a digital network3 controlled by a TNC, 
continuing while the TNC driver transports the requesting rider, and ending when the last requesting 
rider departs from the TNC vehicle. The term does not include a taxicab, for-hire vehicle, or street hail4 
service and does not include ridesharing,5 carpool,6 or any other type of service in which the driver 
receives a fee that does not exceed the driver's cost to provide the ride. 

 
A “TNC driver” is defined as an individual who receives connections to potential riders and related 
services from a TNC and in return for compensation, uses a TNC vehicle to offer or provide a 
prearranged ride to a rider upon connection through a digital network. The law specifies that a TNC or 
TNC driver is not a common carrier, contract carrier, or motor carrier and does not provide taxicab or 
for-hire vehicle service. The law provides that a TNC driver is not required to register a TNC vehicle as 
a commercial motor vehicle or a for-hire vehicle. It requires the TNC's digital network to display the 
TNC driver’s photograph and the TNC vehicle’s license plate number before the rider enters the TNC 
vehicle. 
 
If a fare is collected from a rider, the law requires the TNC to disclose the fare or fare calculation 
method on its website or within the online-enabled technology application service before beginning the 
prearranged ride. If the fare is not disclosed, the rider must have the option to receive an estimated fare 
before beginning the prearranged ride. In addition, a TNC is required to transmit to the rider an 

                                                 
1 Section 627.748, F.S. 
2 “Rider” means an individual who uses a digital network to connect with a TNC driver in order to obtain a prearranged ride in the 

TNC driver’s TNC vehicle between points chosen by the rider. 
3 The term “digital network” means any online-enabled technology application service, website, or system offered or used by a TNC 

that enables the prearrangement of riders with TNC drivers. 
4 The term “street hail” means an immediate arrangement on a street with a driver by a person using any method other than a digital 

network to seek immediate transportation. 
5 Section 341.031(9)(a), F.S., defines “ridesharing” as an “arrangement between persons with a common destination, or destinations, 

within the same proximity, to share the use of a motor vehicle on a recurring basis for round-trip transportation to and from their place 

of employment or other common destination. For purposes of ridesharing, employment shall be deemed to commence when an 

employee arrives at the employer's place of employment to report for work and shall be deemed to terminate when the employee 

leaves the employer's place of employment, excluding areas not under the control of the employer. However, an employee shall be 

deemed to be within the course of employment when the employee is engaged in the performance of duties assigned or directed by the 

employer, or acting in the furtherance of the business of the employer, irrespective of location.” 
6 Section 450.28(3), F.S., defines “carpool” as “an arrangement made by the workers using one worker's own vehicle for 

transportation to and from work and for which the driver or owner of the vehicle is not paid by any third person other than the 

members of the carpool.” 
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electronic receipt within a reasonable period of time after the completion of a ride. The receipt must list 
the origin and destination of the ride, total time and distance of the ride, and total fare paid. 
 
A TNC is required to designate and maintain an agent for service of process in this state.7 

 
A TNC or TNC driver is not a common carrier, contract carrier, or motor carrier and does not provide 
taxicab or for-hire vehicle service. As a result, a TNC driver is not required to register the TNC vehicle 
as a commercial motor vehicle or a for-hire vehicle.8 
 
While a TNC driver is logged on to the digital network but is not engaged in a prearranged ride, the 
TNC or TNC driver must have automobile insurance that provides:9 

 Primary automobile liability coverage of at least $50,000 for death and bodily injury per person, 
$100,000 for death and bodily injury per incident, and $25,000 for property damage; and 

 Personal injury protection benefits that meet the minimum coverage amounts required under the 

Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law.10 

 
When a TNC driver is engaged in a prearranged ride, the automobile insurance must provide:11 

 Primary automobile liability coverage of at least $1 million for death, bodily injury, and property 
damage; and 

 Personal injury protection benefits that meet the minimum coverage amounts required of a 
limousine under the Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law. 

 
The coverage requirements may be satisfied by automobile insurance maintained by the TNC driver, an 
automobile insurance policy maintained by the TNC, or a combination of automobile insurance policies 
maintained by the TNC driver and the TNC.12 
 
The law preempts to the state the regulation of TNCs and specifies that a county, municipality, special 
district, airport authority, port authority, or other local governmental entity or subdivision may not: 

 Impose a tax on or require a license for a TNC, TNC driver, or TNC vehicle if such tax or license 
relates to providing prearranged rides; 

 Subject a TNC, TNC driver, or TNC vehicle to any rate, entry, operation, or other requirement of 
the county, municipality, special district, airport authority, port authority, or other local 
governmental entity or subdivision; or 

 Require a TNC or TNC driver to obtain a business license or any other type of similar 
authorization to operate within the local governmental entity's jurisdiction.13 

 
For-Hire Vehicles 
With certain exceptions, offering for lease or rent any motor vehicle in the State of Florida qualifies the 
vehicle as a “for-hire vehicle.” A “for-hire vehicle” is a motor vehicle used for transporting persons or 
goods for compensation. When goods or passengers are transported for compensation in a motor 
vehicle outside a municipal corporation of this state, or when goods are transported in a motor vehicle 
not owned by the person owning the goods, such transportation is considered “for hire”. The carriage of 
goods and other personal property in a motor vehicle by a corporation or association for its 
stockholders, shareholders, and members, cooperative or otherwise, is transportation “for hire”.14  
 
Florida law provides specific financial responsibility requirements to for-hire vehicles. For-hire vehicles, 
such as taxis and limousines must maintain a motor vehicle liability policy with minimum limits of 
$125,000 per person for bodily injury, $250,000 per incident for bodily injury, and $50,000 for property 

                                                 
7 Section 48.091, F.S., requires any corporation doing business in the state to have a registered agent and registered office in the state. 
8 Section 627.748(2), F.S. 
9 Section 627.748(7)(b), F.S. 
10 Sections 627.730-627.7405, F.S. The amount of insurance required is $10,000 for emergency medical disability, $2,500 non-

emergency medical, and $5,000 for death. 
11 Section 627.748(7)(c), F.S. 
12 Section 627.748(7)(b) & (c), F.S. 
13 Section 627.748(15), F.S. 
14 Section 320.01(15)(a), F.S. 
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damage.15 The owner or operator of a for-hire vehicle may also prove financial responsibility by 
providing satisfactory evidence of holding a motor vehicle liability policy issued by an insurance carrier, 
which is a member of the Florida Insurance Guaranty Association, or by providing a certificate of self-
insurance.16 
 
Digital Advertising Device 
Certain companies allow taxi and TNC drivers to generate revenue through digital advertising via a 
digital smart screen on top of the taxi or TNC vehicle. The digital screen allows advertisers to run 
targeted, geofenced campaigns.17 There are currently digital advertising screens in use on vehicles in 
New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, and Dallas.18 
 
Digital advertising screens are installed on the roofs of motor vehicles owned or operated by individuals 
who commit to drive a minimum number of hours per week in certain urban markets. Drivers with digital 
advertising screens report earning an average of $300 a month, depending on how many hours are 
driven.19 One startup company reported that over a 12-month period its ads were responsible for 430 
million impressions a month, with over 650,000 hours of content played over 40,000 square miles of 
coverage. This company also reserves ten percent of unsold ad inventory for nonprofits and local 
government, such as Amber Alerts.  
 
Prohibition Against Certain Lights 
Section 316.2397, F.S., provides that a person may not drive any vehicle or equipment upon any 
highway in this state with any lamp or device thereon showing or displaying a red, red and white, or 
blue light visible from directly in front of the vehicle, except for certain exceptions, such as fire 
department vehicles and road maintenance equipment. This section expressly prohibits any vehicle or 
equipment, except police vehicles, from showing or displaying blue lights, except for Department of 
Corrections vehicles or county correctional agency vehicles when responding to emergencies. Flashing 
lights are prohibited on vehicles except: 

 As a means of indicating a right or left turn, to change lanes, or to indicate that the vehicle is 
lawfully stopped or disabled upon the highway; 

 When a motorist intermittently flashes his or her vehicle’s headlamps at an oncoming vehicle 
notwithstanding the motorist’s intent for doing so; and 

 Flashing lamps authorized for bicycle riders and deceleration lighting systems on buses. 
 
Proposed Changes  
 
The bill defines a “luxury ground transportation network company” or “luxury ground TNC”, to mean a 
company that uses its digital network to connect riders exclusively to drivers who operate for-hire 
vehicles as defined in s. 320.01(15), F.S., including limousines and luxury sedans and excluding 
taxicabs. The entity may elect, upon written notification to the Department of Financial Services (DFS), 
to be regulated as a luxury ground TNC. A luxury ground TNC must comply with all of the requirements 
of s. 627.748 that are applicable to a TNC, including the preemption requirements, but is not required to 
comply with any requirements that prohibit the company from connecting riders to drivers who operate 
for-hire vehicles. At all times a luxury ground TNC must maintain insurance coverage at the levels at 
least equal to the greater of those required in s. 627.748, F.S., and those required of for-hire vehicles, 
regardless of whether the driver is operating as a for-hire vehicle driver or luxury ground TNC driver. 
However, a prospective luxury ground TNC that satisfies minimum financial responsibility requirements 
at the time of written notification to DFS by using self-insurance may continue to use self-insurance to 
satisfy the insurance requirements for a luxury ground TNC. 
 

                                                 
15 Section 324.032(1), F.S. 
16 Section 324.031, F.S. 
17 Anthony Ha, Rideshare Advertising Startup Firefly Launches with $21.5M in Funding, Techcrunch.com (December 6, 2018), 

available at https://techcrunch.com/2018/12/06/firefly-launch/ (last visited January 22, 2020).  
18 See Firefly.com, available at https://fireflyon.com/ (last visited January 22, 2020).  
19 Sarah Holder, Car-Mounted Ads Take a New Direction: Data Collection, Citylab.com (November 20, 2019), available at 

https://www.citylab.com/transportation/2019/11/firefly-digital-advertising-driver-pay-uber-lyft-cars-data/602077/ (last visited January 

22, 2020).  
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A luxury ground transportation network company is not considered a for-hire vehicle for purposes of 
Ch. 627, F.S. In order for the bill’s definition of “luxury ground transportation network company” to be 
compatible with current law, the bill makes conforming changes to the definitions of “prearranged ride”, 
“transportation network company’, and “transportation network company vehicle”, by removing 
references to “for-hire vehicle”, “for-hire vehicle owner”, and “limousine”. Additionally, the reference to 
“for-hire vehicle” is removed from the provision of law that states that a TNC or TNC driver is not 
considered a common carrier and does not have to register a TNC vehicle as a commercial motor 
vehicle or vehicle for-hire.  
 
Lastly, the bill preempts to the state the regulation of luxury ground TNCs, luxury ground TNC drivers, 
and luxury ground TNC vehicles. 
 
The bill also defines a “transportation network company digital advertising device” or “TNC digital 
advertising device” to mean a device no larger than 20 inches tall and 54 inches long that is fixed to the 
roof of a TNC vehicle and that displays advertisements on a digital screen only while the TNC vehicle is 
turned on. 
 
The bill provides the following requirements for a TNC digital advertising device: 

 A TNC driver may contract with an individual or company to install a TNC digital advertising 
device on a TNC vehicle. 

 A TNC digital advertising device must be enabled with wireless Internet access and equipped 
with GPS. 

 A TNC digital advertising device may not display advertisements when the TNC vehicle is 
parked or turned off. 

 A TNC digital advertising device must follow the lighting requirements of s. 316.2397, F.S. 

 No portion of the TNC digital advertising device may extend beyond the front or rear windshield 
of the vehicle, nor may it impact the TNC driver's vision. 

 A TNC digital advertising device must display advertisements only on the sides of the device 
and not to the front or rear of the vehicle. Identification of the provider does not constitute 
advertising. 

 A TNC digital advertising device must meet the requirements of the MIL-STD-810G standard,20 
as determined through independent safety and durability testing under the review of a licensed 
professional engineer, before being installed on a TNC vehicle. 

 A TNC digital advertising device may not display advertisements for illegal products or services 
or advertisements that include nudity, violent images, or disparaging or false advertisements. 

 An individual or company operating a TNC digital advertisement device shall allocate 10 percent 
of all advertisement inventory for government, not-for-profit, or charitable organizations at no 
cost. 

 For the purposes of chapter 627, F.S., a TNC advertising device shall be deemed part of a TNC 
vehicle. 

 
 As a result of the inclusion of a TNC digital advertising device as part of a TNC vehicle, the regulation 
 of a TNC digital advertising device is preempted to the state.  

 
 

B. SECTION DIRECTORY: 

Section 1: Amends s. 627.748, F.S., relating to transportation network companies. 
 
Section 2: Provides that the act will take effect upon becoming a law.  
 

II.  FISCAL ANALYSIS & ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
 

                                                 
20 MIL-STD-810G is a U.S. military specification that guarantees a level of durability for a piece of technology. Specifically, it means 

the equipment has gone through a series of 29 tests, including shock tests, vibration tests, and more. 
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A. FISCAL IMPACT ON STATE GOVERNMENT: 
 
1. Revenues: 

The bill will likely have no impact on state government revenues.  
 

2. Expenditures: 

The bill may have a fiscal impact on DFS, but the impact is unknown at this time.  
 

B. FISCAL IMPACT ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS: 
 
1. Revenues: 

The bill preempts to the state the regulation of luxury ground TNCs and TNC digital advertising 
devices. To the extent municipalities, counties, and other governmental entities are imposing fees 
on luxury ground TNCs and TNC digital advertising devices, they will experience an indeterminate 
fiscal impact.  
 

2. Expenditures: 

The bill will likely have no impact on local government expenditures. 
 

C. DIRECT ECONOMIC IMPACT ON PRIVATE SECTOR: 

The bill authorizes the use of TNC digital advertising devices thus enabling TNC drivers to install the 
devices and earn additional monthly revenue. 
 

D. FISCAL COMMENTS: 

None. 

III.  COMMENTS 
 

A. CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES: 
 

 1. Applicability of Municipality/County Mandates Provision: 

The county/municipality mandates provision of Art. VII, s. 18 of the Florida Constitution may apply 
because this bill reduces the ability of a county or municipality to raise revenue; however, an 
exception may apply since the bill is expected to have an insignificant fiscal impact. 
 

 2. Other: 

None. 
 

B. RULE-MAKING AUTHORITY: 

The bill does not provide a grant of rulemaking authority, nor does it require rulemaking. 
 
 

C. DRAFTING ISSUES OR OTHER COMMENTS: 

None. 

 

IV.  AMENDMENTS/ COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE CHANGES 
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A bill to be entitled 1 

An act relating to transportation network companies; 2 

amending s. 627.748, F.S.; revising and providing 3 

definitions; deleting for-hire vehicles from the list 4 

of vehicles that are not considered TNC carriers or 5 

are not exempt from certain registration; authorizing 6 

TNC drivers to contract for installment of TNC digital 7 

advertising devices; providing requirements for such 8 

devices; requiring operators of such devices to 9 

allocate a specified percentage of advertisement 10 

inventory to certain organizations; providing 11 

construction; authorizing entities to be regulated as 12 

luxury ground TNCs; providing requirements; providing 13 

that luxury ground TNCs, luxury ground TNC drivers, 14 

and luxury ground TNC vehicles are governed by state 15 

law; providing an effective date. 16 

 17 

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida: 18 

 19 

 Section 1.  Paragraph (f) of subsection (1), subsections 20 

(11) through (14), and subsection (15) of section 627.748, 21 

Florida Statutes, are redesignated as paragraph (g) of 22 

subsection (1), subsections (12) through (15), and subsection 23 

(17), respectively, paragraphs (b) and (e) and present paragraph 24 

(g) of subsection (1), subsection (2), and paragraph (a) of 25 



   

 

HB 1039  2020 

 

 

 

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions. 

hb1039-00 

Page 2 of 7 

F L O R I D A  H O U S E  O F  R E P R E S E N T A T I V E S 

 

 

 

present subsection (15) are amended, and a new subsection (11) 26 

and subsection (16) are added to that section, to read: 27 

 627.748  Transportation network companies.— 28 

 (1)  DEFINITIONS.—As used in this section, the term: 29 

 (b)  "Prearranged ride" means the provision of 30 

transportation by a TNC driver to a rider, beginning when a TNC 31 

driver accepts a ride requested by a rider through a digital 32 

network controlled by a transportation network company, 33 

continuing while the TNC driver transports the rider, and ending 34 

when the last rider exits from and is no longer occupying the 35 

TNC vehicle. The term does not include a taxicab, for-hire 36 

vehicle, or street hail service and does not include ridesharing 37 

as defined in s. 341.031, carpool as defined in s. 450.28, or 38 

any other type of service in which the driver receives a fee 39 

that does not exceed the driver's cost to provide the ride. 40 

 (e)  "Transportation network company" or "TNC" means an 41 

entity operating in this state pursuant to this section using a 42 

digital network to connect a rider to a TNC driver, who provides 43 

prearranged rides. A TNC is not deemed to own, control, operate, 44 

direct, or manage the TNC vehicles or TNC drivers that connect 45 

to its digital network, except where agreed to by written 46 

contract, and is not a taxicab association or for-hire vehicle 47 

owner. An individual, corporation, partnership, sole 48 

proprietorship, or other entity that arranges medical 49 

transportation for individuals qualifying for Medicaid or 50 



   

 

HB 1039  2020 

 

 

 

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions. 

hb1039-00 

Page 3 of 7 

F L O R I D A  H O U S E  O F  R E P R E S E N T A T I V E S 

 

 

 

Medicare pursuant to a contract with the state or a managed care 51 

organization is not a TNC. This section does not prohibit a TNC 52 

from providing prearranged rides to individuals who qualify for 53 

Medicaid or Medicare if it meets the requirements of this 54 

section. 55 

 (f)  "Transportation network company digital advertising 56 

device" or "TNC digital advertising device" means a device no 57 

larger than 20 inches tall and 54 inches long that is fixed to 58 

the roof of a TNC vehicle and that displays advertisements on a 59 

digital screen only while the TNC vehicle is turned on. 60 

 (h)(g)  "Transportation network company vehicle" or "TNC 61 

vehicle" means a vehicle that is not a taxicab or, jitney, 62 

limousine, or for-hire vehicle as defined in s. 320.01(15) and 63 

that is: 64 

 1.  Used by a TNC driver to offer or provide a prearranged 65 

ride; and 66 

 2.  Owned, leased, or otherwise authorized to be used by 67 

the TNC driver. 68 

 69 

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a vehicle that is 70 

let or rented to another for consideration may be used as a TNC 71 

vehicle. 72 

 (2)  NOT OTHER CARRIERS.—A TNC or TNC driver is not a 73 

common carrier, contract carrier, or motor carrier and does not 74 

provide taxicab or for-hire vehicle service. In addition, a TNC 75 
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driver is not required to register the vehicle that the TNC 76 

driver uses to provide prearranged rides as a commercial motor 77 

vehicle or a for-hire vehicle. 78 

 (11)  TRANSPORTATION NETWORK COMPANY DIGITAL ADVERTISING 79 

DEVICE.— 80 

 (a)  A TNC driver may contract with an individual or 81 

company to install a TNC digital advertising device on a TNC 82 

vehicle. 83 

 (b)  A TNC digital advertising device must be enabled with 84 

wireless Internet access and equipped with GPS. 85 

 (c)  A TNC digital advertising device may not display 86 

advertisements when the TNC vehicle is parked or turned off. 87 

 (d)  A TNC digital advertising device must follow the 88 

lighting requirements of s. 316.2397. 89 

 (e)  No portion of the TNC digital advertising device may 90 

extend beyond the front or rear windshield of the vehicle, nor 91 

may it impact the TNC driver's vision. 92 

 (f)  A TNC digital advertising device must display 93 

advertisements only on the sides of the device and not to the 94 

front or rear of the vehicle. Identification of the provider 95 

does not constitute advertising under this paragraph. 96 

 (g)  A TNC digital advertising device must meet the 97 

requirements of the MIL-STD-810G standard, as determined through 98 

independent safety and durability testing under the review of a 99 

licensed professional engineer, before being installed on a TNC 100 
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vehicle. 101 

 (h)  A TNC digital advertising device may not display 102 

advertisements for illegal products or services or 103 

advertisements that include nudity, violent images, or 104 

disparaging or false advertisements. 105 

 (i)  An individual or company operating a TNC digital 106 

advertisement device shall allocate 10 percent of all 107 

advertisement inventory for government, not-for-profit, or 108 

charitable organizations at no cost. 109 

 (j)  For the purposes of this chapter, a TNC advertising 110 

device shall be deemed part of a TNC vehicle. 111 

 (16)  LUXURY GROUND TRANSPORTATION NETWORK COMPANIES.— 112 

 (a)  As used in this subsection, the term "luxury ground 113 

transportation network company" or "luxury ground TNC" means a 114 

company that: 115 

 1.  Meets the requirements of paragraph (b). 116 

 2.  Notwithstanding other provisions of this section, uses 117 

its digital network to connect riders exclusively to drivers who 118 

operate for-hire vehicles as defined in s. 320.01(15), including 119 

limousines and luxury sedans and excluding taxicabs. 120 

 (b)  An entity may elect, upon written notification to the 121 

department, to be regulated as a luxury ground TNC. A luxury 122 

ground TNC must: 123 

 1.  Comply with all of the requirements of this section 124 

applicable to a TNC, including subsection (17), that do not 125 
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conflict with subparagraph 2. or that prohibit the company from 126 

connecting riders to drivers who operate for-hire vehicles as 127 

defined in 320.01(15), including limousines and luxury sedans 128 

and excluding taxicabs. 129 

 2.  Maintain at all times insurance coverage at the levels 130 

at least equal to the greater of those required in this section 131 

and those required of for-hire vehicles, regardless of whether 132 

the driver is operating as a for-hire vehicle driver or luxury 133 

ground TNC driver. However, a prospective luxury ground TNC that 134 

satisfies minimum financial responsibility at the time of 135 

written notification to the department through compliance with 136 

s. 324.032(2) by using self-insurance may continue to use self-137 

insurance to satisfy the requirements of this subparagraph. 138 

 (17)(15)  PREEMPTION.— 139 

 (a)  It is the intent of the Legislature to provide for 140 

uniformity of laws governing TNCs, TNC drivers, and TNC 141 

vehicles, luxury ground TNCs, luxury ground TNC drivers, and 142 

luxury ground TNC vehicles throughout the state. TNCs, TNC 143 

drivers, and TNC vehicles, luxury ground TNCs, luxury ground TNC 144 

drivers, and luxury ground TNC vehicles are governed exclusively 145 

by state law, including in any locality or other jurisdiction 146 

that enacted a law or created rules governing TNCs, TNC drivers, 147 

or TNC vehicles, luxury ground TNCs, luxury ground TNC drivers, 148 

or luxury ground TNC vehicles before July 1, 2017. A county, 149 

municipality, special district, airport authority, port 150 
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authority, or other local governmental entity or subdivision may 151 

not: 152 

 1.  Impose a tax on, or require a license for, a TNC, a TNC 153 

driver, or a TNC vehicle, a luxury ground TNC, a luxury ground 154 

TNC driver, or a luxury ground TNC vehicle if such tax or 155 

license relates to providing prearranged rides; 156 

 2.  Subject a TNC, a TNC driver, or a TNC vehicle, a luxury 157 

ground TNC, a luxury ground TNC driver, or a luxury ground TNC 158 

vehicle to any rate, entry, operation, or other requirement of 159 

the county, municipality, special district, airport authority, 160 

port authority, or other local governmental entity or 161 

subdivision; or 162 

 3.  Require a TNC, or a TNC driver, a luxury ground TNC, or 163 

a luxury ground TNC driver to obtain a business license or any 164 

other type of similar authorization to operate within the local 165 

governmental entity's jurisdiction. 166 

 Section 2.  This act shall take effect upon becoming a law. 167 
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Committee/Subcommittee hearing bill:  Transportation & 1 

Infrastructure Subcommittee 2 

Representative Rommel offered the following: 3 

 4 

 Amendment (with directory and title amendments) 5 

 Remove lines 79-134 and insert: 6 

 (7)  TRANSPORTATION NETWORK COMPANY AND TNC DRIVER 7 

INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS.— 8 

 (b)  The following automobile insurance requirements apply 9 

while a participating TNC driver is logged on to the digital 10 

network but is not engaged in a prearranged ride: 11 

 1.  Automobile insurance that provides: 12 

 a.  A primary automobile liability coverage of at least 13 

$50,000 for death and bodily injury per person, $100,000 for 14 

death and bodily injury per incident, and $25,000 for property 15 

damage; 16 
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 b.  Personal injury protection benefits that meet the 17 

minimum coverage amounts required under ss. 627.730-627.7405; 18 

and 19 

 c.  Uninsured and underinsured vehicle coverage as required 20 

by s. 627.727. 21 

 2.  The coverage requirements of this paragraph may be 22 

satisfied by any of the following: 23 

 a.  Automobile insurance maintained by the TNC driver or 24 

the TNC vehicle owner; 25 

 b.  Automobile insurance maintained by the TNC; or 26 

 c.  A combination of sub-subparagraphs a. and b. 27 

 (c)  The following automobile insurance requirements apply 28 

while a TNC driver is engaged in a prearranged ride: 29 

 1.  Automobile insurance that provides: 30 

 a.  A primary automobile liability coverage of at least $1 31 

million for death, bodily injury, and property damage; 32 

 b.  Personal injury protection benefits that meet the 33 

minimum coverage amounts required of a limousine under ss. 34 

627.730-627.7405; and 35 

 c.  Uninsured and underinsured vehicle coverage as required 36 

by s. 627.727. 37 

 2.  The coverage requirements of this paragraph may be 38 

satisfied by any of the following: 39 

 a.  Automobile insurance maintained by the TNC driver or 40 

the TNC vehicle owner; 41 
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 b.  Automobile insurance maintained by the TNC; or 42 

 c.  A combination of sub-subparagraphs a. and b. 43 

 (11)  TRANSPORTATION NETWORK COMPANY DIGITAL ADVERTISING 44 

DEVICE.— 45 

 (a)  A TNC driver or his or her designee may contract with 46 

a company to install a TNC digital advertising device on a TNC 47 

vehicle. 48 

 (b)  A TNC digital advertising device may be enabled with 49 

cellular or WiFi-enabled data transmission and equipped with 50 

GPS. 51 

 (c)  A TNC digital advertising device may display 52 

advertisements only when the TNC vehicle is turned on. 53 

 (d)  A TNC digital advertising device must follow the 54 

lighting requirements of s. 316.2397. 55 

 (e)  No portion of the TNC digital advertising device may 56 

extend beyond the front or rear windshield of the vehicle, nor 57 

may it impact the TNC driver's vision. 58 

 (f)  A TNC digital advertising device must display 59 

advertisements only to the sides of the vehicle and not to the 60 

front or rear of the vehicle. Identification of the provider 61 

does not constitute advertising under this paragraph. 62 

 (g)  A TNC digital advertising device must, at a minimum, 63 

meet the requirements of the MIL-STD-810G standard or other 64 

reasonable environmental and safety industry standard before 65 

being installed on a TNC vehicle. 66 
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 (h)  A TNC digital advertising device may not display 67 

advertisements for illegal products or services or 68 

advertisements that include nudity or violent images. All 69 

advertisements displayed on a TNC digital advertising device are 70 

subject to the Florida Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act. 71 

 (i)1.  A TNC driver is immune from liability for the 72 

display of an advertisement that violates this section or the 73 

Florida Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act unless the TNC 74 

driver is the advertiser. 75 

 2.  The owner or operator of a TNC digital advertising 76 

device that displays an advertisement that is in violation of 77 

this section or the Florida Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices 78 

Act is immune from liability under this section and the Florida 79 

Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act for the violation if 80 

the advertisement was displayed in good faith and without actual 81 

knowledge of the violation, unless the advertiser is the same 82 

person as the owner or operator. 83 

 (j)  For the purposes of this chapter, a TNC advertising 84 

device shall be deemed part of a TNC vehicle. 85 

 (16)  LUXURY GROUND TRANSPORTATION NETWORK COMPANIES.— 86 

 (a)  As used in this subsection, the term "luxury ground 87 

transportation network company" or "luxury ground TNC" means a 88 

company that: 89 

 1.  Meets the requirements of paragraph (b). 90 
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 2.  Notwithstanding other provisions of this section, uses 91 

a digital network to connect riders exclusively to drivers who 92 

operate for-hire vehicles as defined in s. 320.01(15), including 93 

limousines and luxury sedans and excluding taxicabs. 94 

 (b)  An entity may elect, upon written notification to the 95 

department, to be regulated as a luxury ground TNC. A luxury 96 

ground TNC must: 97 

 1.  Comply with all of the requirements of this section 98 

applicable to a TNC, including subsection (17), that do not 99 

conflict with subparagraph 2. or that do not prohibit the 100 

company from connecting riders to drivers who operate for-hire 101 

vehicles as defined in 320.01(15), including limousines and 102 

luxury sedans and excluding taxicabs. 103 

 2.  Maintain insurance coverage required in this section 104 

when the luxury ground TNC driver is logged on to a digital 105 

network or while the luxury ground TNC driver is engaged in a 106 

prearranged ride. However, a prospective luxury ground TNC that 107 

 108 

----------------------------------------------------- 109 

D I R E C T O R Y  A M E N D M E N T 110 

 Remove line 25 and insert: 111 

(g) of subsection (1), subsection (2), paragraphs (b) and (c) of 112 

subsection (7), and paragraph (a) of 113 

 114 

----------------------------------------------------- 115 



   

 COMMITTEE/SUBCOMMITTEE AMENDMENT 

Bill No. HB 1039  (2020) 

Amendment No.  

742833 - h1039-line79.docx 

 Published On: 1/27/2020 6:36:23 PM 

Page 6 of 6 

      

T I T L E  A M E N D M E N T 116 

 Remove lines 6-11 and insert: 117 

are not exempt from certain registration; revising 118 

automobile insurance coverage requirements for TNCs 119 

and TNC drivers; authorizing TNC drivers to contract 120 

for installment of TNC digital advertising devices; 121 

providing requirements for such devices; providing 122 

that TNC drivers and owners and operators of TNC 123 

digital advertising devices are immune from specified 124 

liabilities under certain circumstances; providing 125 
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SUMMARY ANALYSIS 

 
In order for a person to knowingly offer for sale, sell, or exchange any vehicle that has been licensed, 
registered, or used as a taxicab, police vehicle, or short-term-lease vehicle, the Department of Highway Safety 
and Motor Vehicles must stamp, in a conspicuous place on the certificate of title of the vehicle, or its duplicate, 
words stating the nature of the previous use of the vehicle.   
 
While most law enforcement agencies have adopted policies relating to the removal of police markings before 
selling their vehicles to the public, there are no statutory requirements for the removal of police markings. 
 
The bill requires that before a person knowingly sells, exchanges, or transfers a police vehicle, a person must 
remove any police markings from the vehicle and certify in writing to the purchaser, customer, or transferee the 
fact that the vehicle has had the police markings removed. 
 
The bill defines the term “police markings” to mean decals, stickers, or other markings attached or applied to a 
police vehicle. 
 
The bill will have an indeterminate but likely insignificant fiscal impact to state and local government 
expenditures.  
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FULL ANALYSIS 

I.  SUBSTANTIVE ANALYSIS 
 
A. EFFECT OF PROPOSED CHANGES: 

Current Situation  
 
Once police vehicles reach a certain age or mile limit, many law enforcement agencies find it more cost 
effective to purchase new vehicles than continue to utilize older vehicles.1 Law enforcement agencies 
sometimes transition older vehicles to become administrative or training vehicles,2 or in many cases, 
they sell them.3 When Florida Highway Patrol decommissions its vehicles, it removes all emergency 
vehicle equipment and decals, and then paints over the tan portion of the marked vehicle using a 
protective enamel black paint that cannot be removed.4 While most law enforcement agencies have 
adopted policies relating to the removal of police markings before selling their vehicles to the public, 
there are no statutory requirements for the removal of police markings.  
 
In order for a person to knowingly offer for sale, sell, or exchange any vehicle that has been licensed, 
registered, or used as a taxicab, police vehicle,5 or short-term-lease vehicle, DHSMV must stamp, in a 
conspicuous place on the certificate of title of the vehicle, or its duplicate, words stating the nature of 
the previous use of the vehicle.6 A person (including any officer, agent, or employee of a person) who 
knowingly sells, exchanges, or offers to sell or exchange a taxicab, police vehicle, or short-term-lease 
vehicle contrary to the law specified above commits a misdemeanor of the second degree.7 
 
It is a first-degree misdemeanor for a person to falsely mislead or cause another person to believe that 
a vehicle is an official vehicle of a law enforcement or first responder agency.8 It is also a first-degree 
misdemeanor for any person to replicate a sheriff or sheriff deputy vehicle by using the color 
combination forest green and white or replicate an FHP vehicle by using the color combination black 
and tan in the same or similar color combination as law enforcement.9  
 
Effect of Proposed Changes  
 
The bill requires that before a person knowingly sells, exchanges, or transfers a police vehicle, a 
person must remove any police markings from the vehicle and certify in writing to the purchaser, 
customer, or transferee the fact that the vehicle has had the police markings removed. 
 
The bill defines the term “police markings” to mean decals, stickers, or other markings attached or 
applied to a police vehicle.  
 
 
 
 

B. SECTION DIRECTORY: 

                                                 
1 Tom Kanewske, What to do With Old Police Vehicles?, Officer.com,  (February 15, 2017), available at https://www.officer.com/on-

the-street/vehicles-equipment/article/12291284/what-to-do-with-old-police-vehicles (last visited January 20, 2020).  
2 Id.  
3 Thi Dao, How to Remarket Patrol Vehicles, Policemag.com (February 7, 2018), available at 

https://www.policemag.com/342406/how-to-remarket-patrol-vehicles (last visited January 20, 2020).  
4 Email from Kevin Jacobs, Deputy Legislative Affairs Director, Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, RE: HB 1281 

(January 21, 2020). 
5 Section 319.14(1)(c)1., F.S., defines the term “police vehicle” to mean a motor vehicle owned or leased by the state or a county or 

municipality and used in law enforcement. 
6 Section 319.14(1)(a), F.S. 
7 Section 319.14(5), F.S. 
8 Section 843.085(2)&(5), F.S. 
9 Sections 30.46 and 321.03, F.S. 
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Section 1: Amends s. 319.14, F.S., relating to sale of motor vehicles registered or used as taxicabs, 
police vehicles, lease vehicles, rebuilt vehicles, nonconforming vehicles, custom vehicles, or street rod 
vehicles; conversion of low-speed vehicles. 
 
Section 2: Provides an effective date of July 1, 2020.  
 

II.  FISCAL ANALYSIS & ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
 

A. FISCAL IMPACT ON STATE GOVERNMENT: 
 
1. Revenues: 

The bill does not appear to impact state government revenues. 
 

2. Expenditures: 

The bill may increase expenditures of state law enforcement agencies that are not currently 
removing police markings from police vehicles. However, the impact is indeterminate and likely 
insignificant, as most law enforcement agencies have already adopted policies relating to the 
removal of police markings before selling their vehicles. 
 

B. FISCAL IMPACT ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS: 
 
1. Revenues: 

The bill does not appear to impact local government revenues. 
 

2. Expenditures: 

The bill may increase expenditures of local law enforcement agencies that are not currently 
removing police markings from police vehicles. However, the impact is indeterminate and likely 
insignificant, as most law enforcement agencies have already adopted policies relating to the 
removal of police markings before selling their vehicles. 
 

C. DIRECT ECONOMIC IMPACT ON PRIVATE SECTOR: 

None. 
 

D. FISCAL COMMENTS: 

None. 

III.  COMMENTS 
 

A. CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES: 
 

 1. Applicability of Municipality/County Mandates Provision: 

The county/municipality mandates provision of Art. VII, s. 18 of the Florida Constitution may apply 
because this bill may increase the expenditures of a county or municipality; however, an exception 
may apply since the bill is expected to have an insignificant fiscal impact.  
 

 2. Other: 

None. 
 
 

B. RULE-MAKING AUTHORITY: 

The bill does not provide a grant of rulemaking authority, nor does it require rulemaking. 
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C. DRAFTING ISSUES OR OTHER COMMENTS: 

Oher Comments: Law Enforcement Concerns 
Law enforcement representatives have expressed concerns with the vagueness of the definition of 
terms “police markings” and “other markings” and requested clarification on the intent of the written 
certification. Additionally, law enforcement representatives requested that there be an exception to the 
removal of police markings when the sale or transfer of the police vehicle is from one law enforcement 
agency to another.  

IV.  AMENDMENTS/ COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE CHANGES 
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A bill to be entitled 1 

An act relating to police vehicles; amending s. 2 

319.14, F.S.; prohibiting a person from knowingly 3 

selling, exchanging, or transferring a police vehicle 4 

without removing any police markings from the vehicle 5 

and certifying that the police markings have been 6 

removed; defining the term "police markings"; 7 

providing an effective date. 8 

 9 

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida: 10 

 11 

 Section 1.  Present subsections (5) through (10) of section 12 

319.14, Florida Statutes, are redesignated as subsections (6) 13 

through (11), respectively, a new subsection (5) is added to 14 

that section, and present subsection (5) of that section is 15 

republished, to read: 16 

 319.14  Sale of motor vehicles registered or used as 17 

taxicabs, police vehicles, lease vehicles, rebuilt vehicles, 18 

nonconforming vehicles, custom vehicles, or street rod vehicles; 19 

conversion of low-speed vehicles.— 20 

 (5)  A person may not knowingly sell, exchange, or transfer 21 

a police vehicle without, before consummating the sale, 22 

exchange, or transfer, removing any police markings from the 23 

vehicle and certifying in writing to the purchaser, customer, or 24 

transferee the fact that the vehicle has had the police markings 25 
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removed. For purposes of this subsection, the term "police 26 

markings" means decals, stickers, or other markings attached or 27 

applied to a police vehicle. 28 

 (6)(5)  A person who knowingly sells, exchanges, or offers 29 

to sell or exchange a motor vehicle or mobile home contrary to 30 

this section or any officer, agent, or employee of a person who 31 

knowingly authorizes, directs, aids in, or consents to the sale, 32 

exchange, or offer to sell or exchange a motor vehicle or mobile 33 

home contrary to this section commits a misdemeanor of the 34 

second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 35 

775.083. 36 

 Section 2.  This act shall take effect July 1, 2020. 37 
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Committee/Subcommittee hearing bill:  Transportation & 1 

Infrastructure Subcommittee 2 

Representative McGhee offered the following: 3 

 4 

 Amendment (with title amendment) 5 

 Remove lines 24-28 and insert: 6 

vehicle and providing an official letter of notification from 7 

the agency to the purchaser, customer, or transferee confirming 8 

the fact that the vehicle has had the police markings removed. 9 

For purposes of this subsection, the term "police markings" 10 

means decals, stickers, distinctive paint schemes, or other 11 

markings attached or applied to a police vehicle that identify 12 

the vehicle as a police vehicle. Sales, exchanges, or transfers 13 

of police vehicles between law enforcement agencies are exempt 14 

from the requirements of this subsection. 15 

 16 
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 17 

----------------------------------------------------- 18 

T I T L E  A M E N D M E N T 19 

 Remove line 6 and insert: 20 

and confirming that the police markings have been 21 
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SUMMARY ANALYSIS 

Florida law provides the driver of a vehicle must stop for a pedestrian who is walking in the crosswalk at the 
instruction of a traffic control signal or where signage indicates the driver must stop. If there are no traffic 
control signals or signage in place at a crosswalk, the driver of a vehicle must yield to a pedestrian who is on 
the half of the roadway on which the vehicle is traveling. If traffic control signals are in operation, pedestrians 
may not cross at any place except in a marked crosswalk. If there is no crosswalk, pedestrians crossing a 
roadway must yield to vehicles.   
 
The Department of Transportation and local governments utilize various types of signals to indicate when 
pedestrians may safely cross midblock crosswalks (crosswalks that are not at an intersection). Two types of 
signals commonly used are a rectangular rapid flash beacon and a pedestrian hybrid beacon. The rectangular 
rapid flash beacon consists of two rapidly and alternately flashing yellow rectangular LED lights that function as 
a warning beacon. Pedestrians press the call button to activate the flashing lights, but should wait for motorists 
to clear the intersection before they cross. The pedestrian hybrid beacon consists of three signal sections with 
a circular yellow signal indication centered below two horizontally aligned circular red signal indications. The 
pedestrian hybrid beacon is not illuminated until a pedestrian activates it and triggers the warning flashing 
yellow lens on the major street. After a set amount of time, the indication changes to a solid yellow light to 
inform drivers to prepare to stop. The beacon then displays a dual solid red light to drivers and a walking 
person symbol to pedestrians on the crosswalk.   
 
The bill requires that by October 1, 2024, an entity with jurisdiction over a public highway, street, or road must 
install pedestrian hybrid beacons at any midblock crosswalk or must remove the midblock crosswalk in its 
entirety. As of October 1, 2024, midblock crosswalks will no longer be authorized to use rectangular rapid flash 
beacons. The state, county, city, or municipality with jurisdiction over the roadway with the midblock crosswalk 
will be responsible for the cost. 
 
The bill will likely have a significant fiscal impact to state and local governments. See Fiscal Analysis for 
details. 
 
This bill may be a county or municipality mandate requiring a two-thirds vote of the membership of the 
House. See Section III.A.1 of the analysis.   
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FULL ANALYSIS 

I.  SUBSTANTIVE ANALYSIS 
 
A. EFFECT OF PROPOSED CHANGES: 

Current Situation  
 
Unless directed otherwise by a law enforcement officer, pedestrians are required to obey the 
instructions of official traffic control devices that are specifically applicable to pedestrians.1 If a sidewalk 
is provided, and no circumstances prevent a pedestrian’s use of the sidewalk, a pedestrian is prohibited 
from walking on a roadway that is paved for vehicular traffic.2 If a sidewalk is not provided, a 
pedestrian, when practicable, must walk only on the shoulder on the left side of the roadway in relation 
to the pedestrian’s direction of travel, facing traffic that may approach from the opposite direction.3 
 
The driver of a vehicle must stop for a pedestrian who is walking in the crosswalk at the instruction of a 
traffic control signal or where signage indicates the driver to stop. If there are no traffic control signals 
or signage in place at a crosswalk, the driver of a vehicle must yield to a pedestrian who is on the half 
of the roadway on which the vehicle is traveling.4 If traffic control signals are in operation, pedestrians 
cannot cross at any place except in a marked crosswalk.5 If there are no crosswalks, pedestrians 
crossing a roadway must yield to vehicles.6  
 
When pedestrian traffic control signals or signage is installed, such indicators must conform to the 
requirements of the most recent Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (MUTCD).7 The MUTCD 
defines the standards used by road managers nationwide to install and maintain traffic control devices 
on all public streets, highways, bikeways, and private roads open to public travel. The Federal Highway 
Administration (FHWA) publishes the MUTCD.8 
 
The Florida Department of Transportation (DOT) and local governments utilize various types of signals 
to indicate when pedestrians may safely cross midblock crosswalks.9 Two types of signals commonly 
used by DOT and local governments are a rectangular rapid flash beacon (RRFB) and a pedestrian 
hybrid beacon.10 The RRFB consists of two rapidly and alternately flashing yellow rectangular LED 
lights that function as a warning beacon.11 Pedestrians press the call button to activate the flashing 
lights, but should wait for motorists to clear the intersection before they cross.12 The pedestrian hybrid 
beacon consists of three signal sections with a circular yellow signal indication centered below two 
horizontally aligned circular red signal indications.13 The pedestrian hybrid beacon is not illuminated 
until a pedestrian activates it and triggers the warning flashing yellow lens facing the street.14 After a set 
amount of time, the indication changes to a solid yellow light to inform drivers to prepare to stop.15 The 
beacon then displays a dual solid red light to drivers on the street and a walking person symbol to 
pedestrians on the crosswalk.16 At the conclusion of the walk phase, the beacon displays an alternating 

                                                 
1 Section 316.130(1), F.S. 
2 Section 316.130(3), F.S. 
3 Section 316.130(4), F.S. 
4 Section 316.130(7), F.S. 
5 Section 316.130(11), F.S. 
6 Section 316.130(10), F.S. 
7 Section 316.0755, F.S. 
8 US Department of Transportation, Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Streets and Highways (MUTCD), (updated 

December 11, 2019), available at https://mutcd.fhwa.dot.gov/ (last visited January 23, 2020).   
9 Florida Department of Transportation, Pedestrian Facilities, available at https://www.fdot.gov/roadway/bikeped/bikepedpf.shtm 

(last visited January 23, 2020).  
10 Id. 
11 Id. 
12 Id.  
13 US Department of Transportation, Safety Effectiveness of the HAWK Pedestrian Crossing Treatment (July 2010), available at 

https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/publications/research/safety/10045/index.cfm (last visited January 23, 2020).  
14 Id.  
15 Id.  
16 Id.  
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flashing red light, and pedestrians are shown an upraised hand symbol with a countdown display 
informing them of the time remaining to cross the street.17 
 
In July 2008, the MUTCD was updated to provide interim approval via a memorandum18 to RRFBs for 
optional use in limited circumstances. The interim approval allows RRFBs usage as a warning beacon 
to supplement standard pedestrian crossing warning signs and markings at either a pedestrian or 
school crossing.19 The cost is approximately $10,000 to $15,000 for purchase and installation of two 
RRFB units (one on either side of a street).20 The FHWA will grant interim approval for the optional use 
of the RRFB as a warning beacon in addition to standard pedestrian crossing or school crossing signs 
at crosswalks to any jurisdiction that submits a written request to the Office of Transportation 
Operations.21 A state may request interim approval for all jurisdictions in that state.22 
 
As of October 2019, DOT reported at least 219 midblock crosswalks with RRFBs on the state highway 
system.23 It is unknown how many midblock crosswalks are in use statewide.24  
 
The process for installing a pedestrian hybrid beacon is set out in the MUTCD.25 A pedestrian hybrid 
beacon may be considered for installation to facilitate pedestrian crossings at a location that does not 
meet the requirements of a traffic signal need study,26 or at a location that meets the requirements of a 
traffic signal need study, but a decision is made not to install a traffic control signal.27 If certain traffic 
and pedestrian patterns exist,28 the need for a pedestrian hybrid beacon should be considered based 
on an engineering study of major-street volumes, speeds, widths, and gaps in conjunction with 
pedestrian volumes, walking speeds, and delay.29 The results of the engineering study will determine 
the necessity of the pedestrian hybrid beacon.30 If installed, the pedestrian hybrid beacon must be used 
in conjunction with signs and pavement markings to warn and control traffic at locations where 
pedestrians enter or cross a street or highway.31 A pedestrian hybrid beacon can only be installed at a 
marked crosswalk.32 When an engineering study finds that installation of a pedestrian hybrid beacon is 
justified, then at least two pedestrian hybrid beacon lights must be installed for each approach of the 
major street; a stop line must be installed for each approach to the crosswalk; and a pedestrian signal 
light must be installed at each end of the marked crosswalk.33 DOT reports that the conversion of five 
RRFBs to pedestrian hybrid beacons at midblock crosswalks in Destin cost $1,035,661.34 
 
Pedestrians who cross the street at midblock crosswalks are likely more susceptible to injury from 
contact with a motor vehicle than crosswalks at an intersection. As a result, many local and state 
governments are utilizing RRFBs to alert motor vehicle drivers that a pedestrian is crossing at a 
midblock crosswalk. However, some drivers do not stop at the crosswalk when the yellow lights are 

                                                 
17 Id.  
18 See Memorandum of Interim Approval for Optional Use of Rectangular Rapid Flashing Beacons (IA-11) (July 16, 2008), available 

at https://mutcd.fhwa.dot.gov/resources/interim_approval/ia11/fhwamemo.htm (last visited January 23, 2020).  
19 US Department of Transportation, Rectangular Rapid Flash Beacon (RRFB), available at 

https://safety.fhwa.dot.gov/intersection/conventional/unsignalized/tech_sum/fhwasa09009/ (last visited January 23, 2020). 
20 Id.  
21 Memorandum of Interim Approval for Optional Use of Rectangular Rapid Flashing Beacons (IA-11), supra, at FN 18. 
22 Id.  
23 Email from Amanda Marsh, Legislative Specialist, Department of Transportation, RE: Midblock crosswalks, (October 18, 2019).  
24 Id.  
25 US Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration, Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Streets and 

Highways (2009 edition), Chapter 4F. Pedestrian Hybrid Beacons, p. 509 - 512, available at 

https://mutcd.fhwa.dot.gov/pdfs/2009/mutcd2009edition.pdf (last visited January 23, 2020).  
26 See MUTCD Chapter 4C. 
27 Id. at p. 509.  
28 Such as gaps in traffic that are not adequate to permit pedestrians to cross, or if the speed for vehicles approaching on the major 

street is too high to permit pedestrians to cross, or if pedestrian delay is excessive. 
29 Id.  
30 Id.  
31 Id.  
32 Id.  
33 Id.  
34 Email from Amanda Marsh, Legislative Specialist, Department of Transportation, RE: Midblock crosswalks, (October 22, 2019). 
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flashing, and pedestrians are left in a vulnerable position in the middle of the road. This occurrence has 
led to multiple injuries and deaths across the state, especially at locations near college campuses and 
along beaches.  
 
        Injury or Death to Non-Motorists at Midblock Crossings35 

Injury Level 2017 2018 2019 

Midblock - Marked Crosswalk 263 262 247 

Pedestrian 164 157 157 

Fatal (within 30 days) 12 6 5 

Incapacitating 30 22 16 

Non-incapacitating  61 57 78 

Possible  56 65 50 

None  5 7 8 

Bicyclist 99 105 90 

Fatal (within 30 days) 0 2 0 

Incapacitating 15 12 9 

Non-incapacitating  33 44 40 

Possible  45 39 36 

None  6 8 5 

As of 01/24/2020.  2019 statistics is preliminary and may change. 

 
Proposed Changes 
 
The bill creates s. 316.0756, F.S., and requires that by October 1, 2024, an entity with jurisdiction over 
a public highway, street, or road must install pedestrian hybrid beacons at any midblock crosswalk or 
must remove the midblock crosswalk in its entirety. As of October 1, 2024, midblock crosswalks will no 
longer be authorized to use RRFBs. The state, county, city, or municipality with jurisdiction over the 
roadway with the midblock crosswalk will be responsible for the cost. 
 

B. SECTION DIRECTORY: 

Section 1: Creates s. 316.0756, F.S., relating to traffic control signal devices and pedestrian control 
signals at crosswalks other than at intersections.  
 
Section 2: Provides an effective date of July 1, 2020. 

II.  FISCAL ANALYSIS & ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
 

A. FISCAL IMPACT ON STATE GOVERNMENT: 
 
1. Revenues: 

The bill will likely have no impact on state government revenues. 
 

2. Expenditures: 

The fiscal impact to DOT is indeterminate, but is likely significant. 
 

B. FISCAL IMPACT ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS: 
 
1. Revenues: 

                                                 
35 Email from Kevin Jacobs, Deputy Legislative Affairs Director, Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, RE: 

non/motorists/midblock crosswalk stats, (January 24, 2020).  
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The bill will likely have no impact on local government revenues.  
 

2. Expenditures: 

The fiscal impact to cities and counties is indeterminate, but is likely significant.  
 

C. DIRECT ECONOMIC IMPACT ON PRIVATE SECTOR: 

The bill will likely have no fiscal impact on the private sector.  
 

D. FISCAL COMMENTS: 

None. 
 

III.  COMMENTS 
 

A. CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES: 
 

 1. Applicability of Municipality/County Mandates Provision: 

The county/municipality mandates provision of Art. VII, section 18, of the Florida Constitution may 
apply because this bill requires cities/counties to install specified traffic and pedestrian signals on 
roadways. This bill does not appear to qualify under any exemption or exception. If the bill does 
qualify as a mandate, the law must fulfill an important state interest and final passage must be 
approved by two-thirds of the membership of each house of the Legislature. 
  

 2. Other: 

None. 
 

B. RULE-MAKING AUTHORITY: 

The bill does not provide a grant of rulemaking authority, nor does it require rulemaking. 
 

C. DRAFTING ISSUES OR OTHER COMMENTS: 

None.  

IV.  AMENDMENTS/ COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE CHANGES 
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A bill to be entitled 1 

An act relating to traffic and pedestrian safety; 2 

creating s. 316.0756, F.S.; requiring a pedestrian 3 

crosswalk on a public highway, street, or road which 4 

is located at any point other than at an intersection 5 

with another public highway, street, or road to be 6 

controlled by traffic control signal devices and 7 

pedestrian control signals that conform to specified 8 

requirements; providing coordination requirements for 9 

such devices and signals; requiring, by a specified 10 

date, the entity with jurisdiction over a public 11 

highway, street, or road with a certain pedestrian 12 

crosswalk to ensure that the crosswalk is controlled 13 

by coordinated traffic control signal devices and 14 

pedestrian control signals; authorizing such entity to 15 

alternatively remove any such crosswalk; providing an 16 

effective date. 17 

 18 

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida: 19 

 20 

 Section 1.  Section 316.0756, Florida Statutes, is created 21 

to read: 22 

 316.0756  Traffic control signal devices and pedestrian 23 

control signals at crosswalks other than at intersections.— 24 

 (1)  Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, a pedestrian 25 
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crosswalk on a public highway, street, or road which is located 26 

at any point other than at an intersection with another public 27 

highway, street, or road must be controlled by coordinated 28 

traffic control signal devices and pedestrian control signals 29 

that conform to the requirements of the most recent Manual on 30 

Uniform Traffic Control Devices and other applicable Department 31 

of Transportation specifications. Traffic control signal devices 32 

and pedestrian control signals at crosswalk locations described 33 

in this section must be coordinated according to all of the 34 

following requirements: 35 

 (a)  Vehicular traffic approaching the crosswalk is 36 

required to come to a complete stop before pedestrians are 37 

permitted to enter the crosswalk. 38 

 (b)  Traffic control signal devices at intersections 39 

adjacent to the crosswalk are taken into consideration as 40 

provided in the most recent Manual on Uniform Traffic Control 41 

Devices and other applicable Department of Transportation 42 

specifications. 43 

 (2)  By October 1, 2024, the entity with jurisdiction over 44 

a public highway, street, or road with a crosswalk described in 45 

subsection (1) which is in existence on July 1, 2020, shall 46 

ensure that such crosswalk is controlled by coordinated traffic 47 

control signal devices and pedestrian control signals as 48 

required under subsection (1). The entity with jurisdiction may 49 

alternatively remove any such existing crosswalk. 50 
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 Section 2.  This act shall take effect July 1, 2020. 51 
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 COMMITTEE/SUBCOMMITTEE ACTION 

ADOPTED       (Y/N) 

ADOPTED AS AMENDED       (Y/N) 

ADOPTED W/O OBJECTION       (Y/N) 

FAILED TO ADOPT       (Y/N) 

WITHDRAWN       (Y/N) 

OTHER              

 

Committee/Subcommittee hearing bill:  Transportation & 1 

Infrastructure Subcommittee 2 

Representative Fine offered the following: 3 

 4 

 Amendment (with title amendment) 5 

 Remove lines 30-50 and insert: 6 

that conform to the requirements of Chapters 4D and 4E of the 7 

most recent Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices and other 8 

applicable Department of Transportation specifications. Traffic 9 

control signal devices and pedestrian control signals at 10 

crosswalk locations described in this section must be 11 

coordinated according to all of the following requirements: 12 

 (a)  Vehicular traffic approaching the crosswalk is 13 

required to come to a complete stop before pedestrians are 14 

permitted to enter the crosswalk. 15 

 (b)  Traffic control signal devices at intersections 16 
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adjacent to the crosswalk are taken into consideration as 17 

provided in the most recent Manual on Uniform Traffic Control 18 

Devices and other applicable Department of Transportation 19 

specifications. 20 

 (2)  By October 1, 2024, the entity with jurisdiction over 21 

a public highway, street, or road with a crosswalk described in 22 

subsection (1) which is in existence on July 1, 2020, shall 23 

ensure that such crosswalk is controlled by coordinated traffic 24 

control signal devices and pedestrian control signals as 25 

required under subsection (1). The entity with jurisdiction may 26 

alternatively remove any such existing crosswalk. 27 

 Section 2.  The Legislature finds and declares that this 28 

act fulfills an important state interest. 29 

 30 

----------------------------------------------------- 31 

T I T L E  A M E N D M E N T 32 

 Remove line 16 and insert: 33 

alternatively remove any such crosswalk; providing a declaration 34 

of important state interest; providing an 35 

  36 

 37 
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